Chevron Left
Back to Getting and Cleaning Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting and Cleaning Data by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
7,801 ratings
1,273 reviews

About the Course

Before you can work with data you have to get some. This course will cover the basic ways that data can be obtained. The course will cover obtaining data from the web, from APIs, from databases and from colleagues in various formats. It will also cover the basics of data cleaning and how to make data “tidy”. Tidy data dramatically speed downstream data analysis tasks. The course will also cover the components of a complete data set including raw data, processing instructions, codebooks, and processed data. The course will cover the basics needed for collecting, cleaning, and sharing data....

Top reviews

HS
May 2, 2020

This course provides an introduction of some important concepts and tools on a very important aspect of data science: cleaning and organizing data before any analysis. A must for any data scientist.

BE
Oct 25, 2016

This course is really a challenging and compulsory for any one who wants to be a data scientist or working in any sort of data. It teaches you how to make very palatable data-set fro ma messy data.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,232 Reviews for Getting and Cleaning Data

By 현 허

Mar 3, 2018

I really really loved this course. Some of courses before were outdated because there are lots of changes in packages or others. However, materials in this course were not changed that much.

By Vyasraj V

Nov 26, 2017

A lot of insight and practical knowledge of cleaning data that is available in many places in the Internet. I loved this course and it took me 2 tries to pass the peer graded assignment. ;)

By Anna M D C

Jan 2, 2019

It was pretty hard for someone like me who has a weakness in programming but it provided sufficient exposure and tasks for me to learn within my capabilities. I did enjoy its challenges.

By Edwin R V C

Mar 7, 2016

Excellent course. It helps to complement the knowledge of data analysis. The project was quite interesting and illustrative, especially considering that they were real experimental data.

By Vincent B

Nov 5, 2017

Very good course! It is a topic which is very often underestimated and we all need to learn to get more productive on this, as most of the time is spend on it in the "real world".

Thanks

By Gianmarco P

May 3, 2020

Very well done. Clear example and balanced explanation. Big advantage if you spend more time looking at the suggested readings. I found usefullpeer- review thanks to other students.

By Balaji P

Feb 4, 2018

The course is an excellent introduction to the dplyr package and string manipulation in r. I thought the assignment at the end of the course was a little vague and hard to understand

By B S

Nov 14, 2017

Great course if you are working with R. I learned how to load data in R and various handy features (plyr, dplyr, lubridate packages) to clean data before starting the data analysis.

By BOUZENNOUNE Z E

Mar 3, 2018

Amazing, you get to see almost every aspect of data science.

It is true that you won't get deeepeeeer, but this course allow you to not fear any kind of data science. That's amazing.

By Andrew B

Oct 16, 2017

This course is very enlightening. The techniques demonstrated in this course are critical for gathering raw data from various sources and turning it into useful data for analysis.

By Kelly S

May 22, 2019

I really liked this course and believe that my work, although seemingly noob-ish, will get much better as I see others works from the peer review and examples noted in the lessons.

By Sudhin B

Mar 17, 2018

So knowledgeable and interesting course. I have learned much about data cleaning and getting from different sources. Finally thanks to coursera team for giving us the opportunity.

By Charles K

Feb 6, 2016

This is a very well put together course. It teaches the basics of data cleansing and how to setup data for modeling--by far the most foundational technical aspect of data analysis.

By Alexander R

Sep 22, 2018

How to get a clean the data is a very important knowledge for the future data scientist and data analyst. For me this course was very important I very recommend take this course.

By Eugene K

Jan 7, 2018

Great course on tidy data. Very useful in understanding how to use different types of data (csv, XML, API) and how to manipulate the data so that you can perform analyses on it.

By Mohammad A

Jun 16, 2018

Excellent course, and quizzes and lecture were very teaching. But some materials needs to be updated up to date , like subsetting columns in data.table the slides were absolute.

By João F

Oct 17, 2017

Great ready-to-use skills for common tasks of a Data Scientist. Lays the foundations for further self-development in the topics taught. Heavy on R. Very challenging assignments.

By Amsalu B B

May 23, 2020

This specific course is good but when it comes to the assignments, it's more confused than the course work and the description of the assignment is unclear too, at least to me.

By Jonathan D B

Feb 1, 2016

really thorough class... come prepared to learn and be patient as your going to get your hands pretty dirty reading data, cleaning it and manipulating the result sets with R

By Luis E B P

Jan 8, 2019

I think this course is really good, the instructors give you a lot of tools to handle data bases! I would recomend this course to any person that wants to learn about this.

By Joyce

Aug 26, 2017

Super useful, there are so many raw data in the practical world, which are needed to be cleaned, so that the analysts and other people can easily get information from data.

By Christopher R

Feb 2, 2017

I use so much of what I've learned here on a day to day basis! Using the suite of functions from ggplot, dplyr, plyr and others has greatly reduced my data management time.

By Satish V

Jul 22, 2018

This course was very useful, informative and interesting. However, I did feel that the course assignment seems to be, perhaps purposefully, but a bit unnecessarily vague.

By Anand R

Jul 29, 2020

Course was very useful and learnt about how to handle the data especially raw data and also fetching them with various aspects. Thanks Jeff and team and also coursera

By Sreemoyee M

Jan 15, 2020

The challenging quizzes and assignments are a main reason why this course is so great! This course truly ensures that you truly understand and implement the videos.