Chevron Left
Back to Framework for Data Collection and Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Framework for Data Collection and Analysis by University of Maryland, College Park

4.2
stars
498 ratings
121 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide you with an overview over existing data products and a good understanding of the data collection landscape. With the help of various examples you will learn how to identify which data sources likely matches your research question, how to turn your research question into measurable pieces, and how to think about an analysis plan. Furthermore this course will provide you with a general framework that allows you to not only understand each step required for a successful data collection and analysis, but also help you to identify errors associated with different data sources. You will learn some metrics to quantify each potential error, and thus you will have tools at hand to describe the quality of a data source. Finally we will introduce different large scale data collection efforts done by private industry and government agencies, and review the learned concepts through these examples. This course is suitable for beginners as well as those that know about one particular data source, but not others, and are looking for a general framework to evaluate data products....

Top reviews

MM

Mar 07, 2018

Very clear and organised structure\n\nClear examples to support learning objectives\n\nAttractive use of voice\n\nOne point for improvement: Do not film while the lecturer is still refinding breath

SM

May 19, 2019

Excelente curso, genera las herramientas necesarias para la recoleccion, transformacion, analisis e interpretacion de datos que requiero como principiante en este proceso

Filter by:

101 - 119 of 119 Reviews for Framework for Data Collection and Analysis

By Kathleen j D

Apr 05, 2018

It was average, good to get a summary before diving into more in depth classes

By Valentina

Sep 28, 2019

Maybe too much content. Not really didactic, a bit boring.

By Madhusudanan.S

May 10, 2016

Gives a basic overview of data collection processes.

By Solomon L

Apr 18, 2019

The instructor is not audible enough.

By Saifur R

Jun 09, 2020

I did not find it very interesting

By Matt H

Jun 29, 2020

The journal articles are boring and difficult to follow due to the scant instruction and background given in the lectures. I would certainly prefer more grounding in the basics via text book chapters or more detailed lecture instruction. The journal articles are only meaningful once a stronger foundation of basics has been established.

By Md. N H

Sep 01, 2019

The instructions were so slow and the delivery was nothing like continuous. It was difficult to keep track of the lecture and keep listening. I had a hard time listening through the lectures and complete it.

By Roger

Jul 01, 2020

The curriculum focus to much on survey and provides to little information of existing sources e.g. OECD, World Bank, etc. Additionally, it felt like a 4 week promotion for the indepth courses.

By Laxdip P

Oct 28, 2016

The course content was good but teaching method was too poor to understand. First time little disappointment by coursera.com

By Pieter v d H

Feb 20, 2020

Content OK, didactics poor.

By sana k

Jan 19, 2018

Couldn't stay interested

By Hong I C

Oct 10, 2018

Although I'm willing to sit through the entire specialization (the rest of the courses are taught by different professors), I am confident to argue that the first course was terrible.

The sloppiness of the presentation and course structure ruined most of the modules covered in the course, except for the first one. The rest needs some retouching and reconfiguring. Overall, the course was like listening to mumbo-jumbo and listing of a bunch of loosely-related materials.

The instructor needs to be the cohesive force that unites the scattered information. Otherwise, none of the contents stick in the learner's memory.

Besides, the tests were horrible. Didn't really test on any useful information. It was a test for the sake of testing.

By Morgan S

Mar 03, 2017

This course is extremely hard to follow, not because of the content but because of the delivery. Presentation, "visuals", word choice, speed, all very poor. I'm in week 3 and EVERY video has been just as difficult to follow.

Quizzes are hard to understand and ask you about things that weren't of any actual value to the course, and/or weren't even covered. Also, because multiple answers are required for each question, you are basically answering a 4 part question that is only worth 1 point. Get one part wrong and you miss the whole 1 point.

By Nehleen A

Dec 08, 2017

Extremely boring. I initially wanted to go for the 7 course certification but now I don't think that I will even finish this class, let alone go for the certification. A bad move for UMD and UMICH to make this class to be the first one to be taken for the certification. Most people will not consider this is worth their time especially when there are so many more interesting and freeclasses are available through Coursera, EDX and Udacity,

By Jessica R B

Mar 18, 2020

The emphasis on all the specifics of these surveys is not useful. People are taking this course with various goals in mind, knowing the specifics of random surveys is not one of them.

By Divya K

Aug 28, 2016

AWFUL monotonous way of talking. I have such a great interest in this topic, but listening to her makes me want to rip my eyeballs out.

By Samuel F

Jul 13, 2020

This class provided very little useful information. The lectures were not clear.

By Raja R G K

Sep 19, 2020

not good

By Nazeer A

Jul 29, 2020

Very Bad