Chevron Left
Back to Data and Health Indicators in Public Health Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data and Health Indicators in Public Health Practice by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
1,142 ratings

About the Course

Epidemiology is often described as the cornerstone science in public health. Epidemiology in public health practice uses study design and analyses to identify causes in an outbreak situation, guides interventions to improve population health, and evaluates programs and policies. In this course, we'll define the role of the professional epidemiologist as it relates to public health services, functions, and competencies. With that foundation in mind, we'll introduce you to the problem solving methodology and demonstrate how it can be used in a wide variety of settings to identify problems, propose solutions, and evaluate interventions. This methodology depends on the use of reliable data, so we'll take a deep dive into the routine and public health data systems that lie at the heart of epidemiology and then conclude with how you can use that data to calculate measures of disease burden in populations....

Top reviews

MB

Dec 13, 2019

Excellent introduction to epidemiology and public health, all the topics link together well and provide a good understanding of the public health basics which assist with related study and work.

JC

Nov 6, 2020

Very informative and simple. A good refresher course for medical students who want to get into public health. The instructor is very clear and concise, making the whole thing easily digestible.

Filter by:

226 - 236 of 236 Reviews for Data and Health Indicators in Public Health Practice

By George K

Mar 12, 2021

The slides are very dry - I think it would benefit to have more visual representation of all these concepts rather than lots and lots of definitions. I would add fun examples showcases these measures that we have learned. Week 3 was very heavy and sometimes tough to follow.

By Maxine L M

Jun 16, 2020

Although the course overall was informative, accessibility to some of the exercise materials was a problem, particularly when needing to print. Also, the quiz for week 4 needs to be corrected.

By Amy G

May 1, 2020

The content is okay, but there are some issues with the quizzes. Furthermore, the use of Excel sheets is clunky - it's much easier to create the desired data visualizations in software like R.

By Robyn S

May 25, 2020

Many complex ideas that were presented at a beginner level. However familiarity with Excel is a prerequisite and lack of Excel experience can severely hamper your progress on this course.

By Fati H

May 23, 2020

The last week was not accessible through video. The course is overall well designed and delivered, and offers a good general knowledge on the subject matter.

By steve v

Jan 7, 2018

Beaucoup d'informations utiles, mais une interface trop sobre pour être réellement didactique. Le contenu pourrait également être amélioré.

By saad N

Nov 23, 2018

It was a perfect Course by Keri Althoff Thank you so much For the learning

By Jonathan G

Mar 15, 2018

really didn't get the point of this course. I understand there are 1 million ways that affect how someone get a disease, but it really had nothing to do with healthcare or how to treat others. It was more of a statistics course. Might I suggest courses that talk about more common diseases or something more health-related. We all know that the US healthcare system favors the rich when it's the working class and the poor that have the most health problems. It's simply not fair.

By Lamar B

Jul 28, 2020

Disappointed in week 2 and the assessment in week 4. The instructor did a great job.

By Renaud V

May 24, 2021

I studied this course as part of the specialization "Epidemiology in Public Health Practice", which accumulates 5 courses like this one.

After final validation and many hours of study, the final certificate for the specialization states that I worked an estimated "4 weeks of study, 2-3 hours/week", which is the same amount of time stated for a single course, such as "Essential Epidemiologic Tools for Public Health Practice".

This is frustrating and people may not want to add this specialization to their Curriculum Vitae. Amount of time spent is not real.

By Diogo A M P

Apr 7, 2020

Boring and the language used is not appropriate. Some of the lectures are just hay. A lot of talk without meaning.