Chevron Left
Back to A Crash Course in Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Crash Course in Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
7,542 ratings
1,430 reviews

About the Course

By now you have definitely heard about data science and big data. In this one-week class, we will provide a crash course in what these terms mean and how they play a role in successful organizations. This class is for anyone who wants to learn what all the data science action is about, including those who will eventually need to manage data scientists. The goal is to get you up to speed as quickly as possible on data science without all the fluff. We've designed this course to be as convenient as possible without sacrificing any of the essentials. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the field of data science. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. How to describe the role data science plays in various contexts 2. How statistics, machine learning, and software engineering play a role in data science 3. How to describe the structure of a data science project 4. Know the key terms and tools used by data scientists 5. How to identify a successful and an unsuccessful data science project 3. The role of a data science manager Course cover image by r2hox. Creative Commons BY-SA: https://flic.kr/p/gdMuhT...
Highlights
Basic course
(76 Reviews)
Well taught
(48 Reviews)

Top reviews

SJ
Sep 9, 2017

This is a great starter course for data science. My learning assessment is usually how well I can teach it to someone else. I know I have a better understanding now, than I did when I started.

MD
Aug 27, 2016

Is really hard to summarize the potential of Data Science and being clear, but I think that the instructors have done their best, so that we can achieve the most from the Course.\n\nGreat Job!

Filter by:

1376 - 1397 of 1,397 Reviews for A Crash Course in Data Science

By Ahmed A S A

May 24, 2020

Hard.

By Devon M

Jul 30, 2020

There is an error in a question in one quiz. I have tried selecting each answer multiple times, and the response still comes up wrong. This is preventing me from completing the course, and the certificate, which I need to complete for work.

By Edem N

Mar 30, 2020

The course, though fascinating, the only setback is the certification does not approve the learner being taught from JHU or certification being authentic which is per the information it conveys.

No incentive therefore continuing with it.

By Alessandro V

Apr 22, 2016

It's too short, I think it should be a part of a course and not a course itself.

It is a repetition of concepts and examples from other courses by john hopkins univ.

By Dannie L T Y

May 30, 2020

I struggled thru. Barely. This is no joke. Course description should state that minimum knowledge should have some statistic background or something like that.

By Tamer D

Sep 4, 2017

It would be great if slides were prepared and used through out the videos....

I was looking for something a little but more technical...

By Ismail H D

Apr 11, 2016

This course is very sparse on details, and just a week of content. The lecturer is not the best at explaining concepts.

By Guy B

Feb 12, 2016

Very basic, for absolute beginners/ managers completely new to data (let alone data science)

By Carol P

Feb 8, 2016

Too short to get any depth of information. Too expensive for the content provided.

By Poon F

Jan 26, 2018

No much information presented. Disappointed that this comes from John Hopkins.

By James T

Mar 8, 2021

Un-reliable platform. Make screen shots of all completed quizzes

By Cheng-Jiun M

Oct 12, 2015

it's a shame to split a one month course to four.

By Caio S

May 5, 2017

Quiz should be open to all students... :/

By Michael W

Sep 16, 2015

Only one week. Not much depth.

By Armughan A

Oct 25, 2019

Boring and useless course.....

By Rafael H G

Aug 2, 2020

NO se puede tomar en español

By Hugh J

Jul 11, 2016

A little devoid of depth.

By DEEPALI S

Mar 22, 2017

Too theoretical.

By rahul s

Mar 19, 2019

not worth it

By Miroslav K

Sep 9, 2016

too general

By Anus H

Oct 15, 2015

boring

By Alexandr S

May 14, 2021

bad