Chevron Left
Back to A Crash Course in Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Crash Course in Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
7,512 ratings
1,424 reviews

About the Course

By now you have definitely heard about data science and big data. In this one-week class, we will provide a crash course in what these terms mean and how they play a role in successful organizations. This class is for anyone who wants to learn what all the data science action is about, including those who will eventually need to manage data scientists. The goal is to get you up to speed as quickly as possible on data science without all the fluff. We've designed this course to be as convenient as possible without sacrificing any of the essentials. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the field of data science. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. How to describe the role data science plays in various contexts 2. How statistics, machine learning, and software engineering play a role in data science 3. How to describe the structure of a data science project 4. Know the key terms and tools used by data scientists 5. How to identify a successful and an unsuccessful data science project 3. The role of a data science manager Course cover image by r2hox. Creative Commons BY-SA: https://flic.kr/p/gdMuhT...
Highlights
Basic course
(76 Reviews)
Well taught
(48 Reviews)

Top reviews

MD
Aug 27, 2016

Is really hard to summarize the potential of Data Science and being clear, but I think that the instructors have done their best, so that we can achieve the most from the Course.\n\nGreat Job!

SJ
Sep 9, 2017

This is a great starter course for data science. My learning assessment is usually how well I can teach it to someone else. I know I have a better understanding now, than I did when I started.

Filter by:

1351 - 1375 of 1,391 Reviews for A Crash Course in Data Science

By Marcelo H G

Jul 12, 2017

Too much Superficial. Too fewer quizes. More external videos about hadoop, python, spark, data lakes. More paradigms broken. Need to explain what is On premise, rent and cloud.

By Jouke A M

Dec 7, 2018

Not very complete, also you need some knowledge of the field already otherwise you will be left in the dark at certain moments. Not a very consistent course. I expected better

By Prashant P

Dec 22, 2015

Too theoretical, e.g, comparison between statistics and ML is not at all useful. Too many quizzes after very short classes and on topics of absolutely generic things.

By Brandon L

Aug 1, 2016

Good intent but poor execution. Tries to summarize all the major topics but ends up delivering a totally disjointed, cut-and-paste experience with no real flow.

By Arno B

May 4, 2017

very elementary. Takes approximately 2 hours to complete.

cannot continue with the in-dept material but have to wait until next week (and payment ofcourse).

By Nellai S

Jul 2, 2017

At some places, one lesson had the text and the next lesson was redundant with part of the information on video. you could club them in one an

By Abdullah A M

Oct 4, 2020

The teacher knows quite well, but not suitable for beginners. This course is for someone who is already an expert in this field.

By AYUSH J

Jul 4, 2020

This course was good but the way of information and there should me more lectures and more detail study notes for this

By Dhruv W

Aug 10, 2020

The least interactive course to throw money at. The teachers used very conventional and un-interactive ways to teach.

By Iair M L S J

Dec 26, 2015

too basic, the 4 courses of this specialization could be just one course.

By Pulkit N

Apr 6, 2020

Was a very broad review than was expecting.Content covered is too less

By Hussain, C

Oct 21, 2015

Very general course. Doesn't give much insight into data science.

By Deepak G

Jun 28, 2016

Very short. Quality of the course is also not that good.

By Diego V

Apr 16, 2021

too much lingo and words without clear definition.

By Eduardo R L

Oct 7, 2016

1-week does not seem enough for a Crash Course

By Shafeeq S

Jan 8, 2019

Not that engaging content. bit lengthy

By Carlos C

Oct 5, 2015

This course is too short.

By Yousuf B

Mar 10, 2017

Overly academic

By Boris L

Oct 5, 2015

Very shallow

By Ahmed A S A

May 24, 2020

Hard.

By Devon M

Jul 30, 2020

There is an error in a question in one quiz. I have tried selecting each answer multiple times, and the response still comes up wrong. This is preventing me from completing the course, and the certificate, which I need to complete for work.

By Edem N

Mar 30, 2020

The course, though fascinating, the only setback is the certification does not approve the learner being taught from JHU or certification being authentic which is per the information it conveys.

No incentive therefore continuing with it.

By Alessandro V

Apr 22, 2016

It's too short, I think it should be a part of a course and not a course itself.

It is a repetition of concepts and examples from other courses by john hopkins univ.

By Dannie L T Y

May 30, 2020

I struggled thru. Barely. This is no joke. Course description should state that minimum knowledge should have some statistic background or something like that.