Chevron Left
Back to A Crash Course in Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Crash Course in Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
7,155 ratings
1,362 reviews

About the Course

By now you have definitely heard about data science and big data. In this one-week class, we will provide a crash course in what these terms mean and how they play a role in successful organizations. This class is for anyone who wants to learn what all the data science action is about, including those who will eventually need to manage data scientists. The goal is to get you up to speed as quickly as possible on data science without all the fluff. We've designed this course to be as convenient as possible without sacrificing any of the essentials. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the field of data science. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. How to describe the role data science plays in various contexts 2. How statistics, machine learning, and software engineering play a role in data science 3. How to describe the structure of a data science project 4. Know the key terms and tools used by data scientists 5. How to identify a successful and an unsuccessful data science project 3. The role of a data science manager Course cover image by r2hox. Creative Commons BY-SA: https://flic.kr/p/gdMuhT...
Highlights
Basic course
(76 Reviews)
Well taught
(48 Reviews)

Top reviews

SJ
Sep 9, 2017

This is a great starter course for data science. My learning assessment is usually how well I can teach it to someone else. I know I have a better understanding now, than I did when I started.

MD
Aug 27, 2016

Is really hard to summarize the potential of Data Science and being clear, but I think that the instructors have done their best, so that we can achieve the most from the Course.\n\nGreat Job!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,330 Reviews for A Crash Course in Data Science

By Carlos J

Sep 20, 2017

Esta serie de cursos, es recomendable para iniciar en la carrera de Ciencia de Datos, conceptos claros, expuestos por catedráticos de primer nivel

By Ashutosh N J

Apr 7, 2020

It is a good overview to know about data science. What I am considering it needs to have what are next steps to help out a beginner in this area.

By Sentanu R

Aug 11, 2016

Good crash course. Not really sure if a certificate is really needed here though, since it's basically an overview/introduction in data science.

By Mohammad

Sep 5, 2020

This course offers almost all the basics of Data Science within a couple of hours. Thanks to the instructors and those who helped to make this.

By Thanikachalam S

Nov 25, 2017

Very concise and fast track to get an intro into the Data Science. It clearly distinguishes the differences and lays out an outline for the DS.

By Vincent S

Sep 28, 2018

Great course alternative to the expense and commitment of the University syndrome. Great for enhancing the modern workforce in the modern era.

By Brent J

May 23, 2019

Excellent , simple and concise introduction to a topic that can be complicated but yet can deliver value to you and your business endeavours.

By Michael S T

Jan 7, 2018

A good introduction for management types who wish to learn abut DS or for those in related fields who want a more gradual intro to the field.

By Хазов Н С

Feb 18, 2020

Отличный курс для получения базовых знаний по DATA Science.

Развернутые ответы и конкретные примеры дают отличное понимание сложных вещей.

By Erwin D

Sep 10, 2019

It provides practical knowledge and principles in starting a data science project before going through the tedious part of 5 step process.

By Redi R R F

Aug 19, 2018

Es un curso introductorio, sin embargo, el tema puede ser demandante cuando eres nuevo. Tanto el curso, como los profesores, son geniales.

By Kumar R R

May 4, 2018

Great introduction to Data science. The way of giving notes and then explaining in videos I personally found it very helpful. Thanks a ton.

By Wael O

Jun 9, 2018

Very good course for data science beginners to get a good grasp of data science and to differentiate between data science value and hype.

By Oliver H

Jun 3, 2020

Great, thank you very much! A great crash course! I recommend this course for all information scientists and non information scientists.

By Mrudula M

Jun 26, 2017

Found the course comprehensive, easy to following. Everything I was hoping to get out of the course.

Great introduction to Data Science.

By Ryan K

Aug 25, 2019

Great way to pick up important knowledge about this field where there are lot of people using the terms without the real understanding.

By James K

Oct 20, 2017

Well designed progression of information. Good use of examples to illustrate concepts. Excellent supplemental reading and information.

By Faizan U F K

Sep 17, 2015

The course was very well covered and explained the basics properly. A good starter if one wants to know what Data Science is all about.

By Santosh S

Jan 19, 2019

This is a good course for beginners to start thinking about data science. The quizzes are not trivial and make you think and research.

By Suki

Nov 3, 2020

This course gives a comprehensive and concise view of Data Science. Great for any beginner to get acquainted with this popular field.

By Farrukh S

Sep 5, 2016

Basic course but very helpful and explained about the Data Science very well. 5* for the Tutors, material and for the overall course.

By Ben J

Jan 19, 2016

This is a very nice executive level explanation of Data Science topics. These 3 professors are excellent communicators of this field.

By Muhammad A H

Jun 3, 2020

Brief and Concise! Clear explanation with an acceptable method of delivery. Improve the presentation skills, and it will be perfect.

By Nnene E

Mar 16, 2019

Everyone who wants to study Data Science should first take this course. It gives in-depth orientation to the field of data science.

By Emanuel Q

Dec 27, 2015

Very insightful little course introducing what data science is and what it's used for. Would love to see more of this group's work.