Chevron Left
Back to A Crash Course in Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for A Crash Course in Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
7,164 ratings
1,364 reviews

About the Course

By now you have definitely heard about data science and big data. In this one-week class, we will provide a crash course in what these terms mean and how they play a role in successful organizations. This class is for anyone who wants to learn what all the data science action is about, including those who will eventually need to manage data scientists. The goal is to get you up to speed as quickly as possible on data science without all the fluff. We've designed this course to be as convenient as possible without sacrificing any of the essentials. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the field of data science. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. How to describe the role data science plays in various contexts 2. How statistics, machine learning, and software engineering play a role in data science 3. How to describe the structure of a data science project 4. Know the key terms and tools used by data scientists 5. How to identify a successful and an unsuccessful data science project 3. The role of a data science manager Course cover image by r2hox. Creative Commons BY-SA: https://flic.kr/p/gdMuhT...
Highlights
Basic course
(76 Reviews)
Well taught
(48 Reviews)

Top reviews

MD
Aug 27, 2016

Is really hard to summarize the potential of Data Science and being clear, but I think that the instructors have done their best, so that we can achieve the most from the Course.\n\nGreat Job!

SJ
Sep 9, 2017

This is a great starter course for data science. My learning assessment is usually how well I can teach it to someone else. I know I have a better understanding now, than I did when I started.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 1,334 Reviews for A Crash Course in Data Science

By Sakib

Sep 7, 2017

Great course for a non-quantitative, non-data scientist like myself. Really like that the course is grounded in the real world - i.e. is teaching data science with a view to solving real-world, important challenges.

By Ian L

May 17, 2017

Thanks guys, I did not know much about data science before this course, but now I want to pursue it. A lot of this info can be easily studied from the transcripts but it is a great foundation for courses to come.

By Li X

Oct 2, 2019

Definitely connected the dots together for me. Easy to understand and shed light on how to making progress on more learnings. Now I am not afraid of any data science questions because I have a good big picture.

By Rajat K

Oct 8, 2016

As of now I have forgotten what I learned in the course but I am taking data science as a specialization , so this course would definitely be useful. Mr. Caffo has a good personality and good narration skills.

By Johnny S

Nov 21, 2016

Great introduction for those getting into data science but don't have the statistical background. The knowledge gained in this course can be applied immediately to anyone looking into leveraging data science.

By Elisa

Sep 1, 2020

Very clear explanations, I liked the readings and the videos suggested by the instructors other than the course ones. I've never studied Data Science, but I think this course is a very good starting point.

By Shashwath S

Aug 5, 2020

Great course to jump into as a complete newbie in Data Science field. Thanks to the professors to handle the course with lots of real life examples. Highly recommended for anyone with a new interest in DS.

By Sheikh H

Nov 22, 2017

VERY USEFUL TO LEARN AND UNDERSTAND THE BASICS ABOUT WHAT DATA SCIENCE IS AND HOW IT IS WORKING IN REAL BUSINESS ENVIRONMENT. THANKS FOR THE TEACHERS UNIVERSITY AND COURSERA TO PROVIDE SUCH A NICE COURSES.

By Rohit K S

May 10, 2018

The content is just right ! Without the fluff and the video lectures utilize each second of one's time. The additional links and reading makes the course really interesting and relevant to practical life.

By Shirish P

Jan 13, 2018

Awesome way, esp. for busy employees, executives and managers, to get an overview of this increasingly important field. Thanks to all instructors and Johns Hopkins, as well as Coursera, for offering this!

By CHIRANTAN D

Oct 1, 2015

It was a great course .You can get idea about Machine Learning from this as well .Relevant information about data science .Well explained examples .Got clear knowledge about data science .Goof course .

By Beeram L R

Dec 25, 2015

Highly Enlightening for those who just beginning to learn data science,

The courses are very detailed and well organized,

All the aspects of the data science are introduced in intriguing manner

Thank you

By Andreas O

Jan 7, 2019

Gives a very brief overview of data science. If you have some experience it might be a bit superficial, but it is nevertheless a clean introduction to data science from a management perspective.

By Anna S

Nov 23, 2017

A very interesting course, expecially for someone with just a little experience in the field. I highly recommend it to all business / IT / project managers who work a lot with data scientists.

By Juan M

Jan 2, 2018

It is a very good course even if you are familiar with some aspects of data science work. If I have to make a suggestion, I would remark the importance of design skills during a data product,

By Maysoun D

Aug 28, 2016

Is really hard to summarize the potential of Data Science and being clear, but I think that the instructors have done their best, so that we can achieve the most from the Course.

Great Job!

By Kaiquan M

Oct 23, 2016

This was really a crash course in various aspects of data science, with words being thrown around and defined for a lay person like myself. Overall, this was a good course for beginners.

By Peter T

Jul 13, 2018

Great introduction. What I found interesting is being able to reflect on projects I have been on relating to data analysis and seeing the steps, benefits and pitfalls explained for me.

By Adil S

Nov 23, 2016

It's a good starting point. I've now got a good idea of what else I need to learn. The course also provides an easy to apply approach to get value from my efforts using data science.

By Eduardo L C J

Dec 31, 2015

I enjoyed this class very much. It was concise, precise, and digestible. Not to mention the instructors kept it lively though out the course. Thank you for such an informative course.

By Pratyush D

Sep 8, 2020

It is a nice, short introduction to what data science actually means. Very helpful for anyone taking their first steps in the field. Personally, this was just what I was looking for.

By WAN J C

Sep 5, 2020

A lot of gains in the first course! I got a lot of data science related knowledge, the professor taught very clearly and gave examples, which made me more interested in digging more.

By Jayesh

Oct 17, 2016

Very nicely packaged, concise course for the one who themselves may not handle the data but have a need to understand what is going on around them and how to make team more effective

By ashish s

Apr 18, 2017

I really liked the content , the difference between machine learning and statistical modelling was nicely explained.I also like the topic hype from value and it was well explained.

By Joachim V

Nov 13, 2015

Awesome short introduction about what data science is about. If you don't have a lot of time but want to get acquainted with the field of data science you should take this one.