Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
28,633 ratings
6,059 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

SF

Apr 15, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

Filter by:

4401 - 4425 of 5,926 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Caleb T

Jul 03, 2017

Good starter, but could have been Week 1 of a separate class. The entire course took all of 2 hours to complete.

By Yuvraj S

Nov 10, 2018

I would have liked if the Course content(course 1) was in more depth, but the overall experience was very good.

By Justine B

Jun 23, 2018

This course was kind of helpful. I could've used much more practice with importing data into R and with GitHub.

By Ian R

Dec 05, 2016

This is a good intro to programming so far. It feels like I'm building a solid base from which to understand R.

By AMANDEEP S B

Jun 04, 2020

This is wonderful and a great course in which along with data science they thought concepts of Git and Github.

By David S C

Aug 29, 2018

It was very educational, but i feel like this course is only a very big introduction to the next eight courses

By Kuldeep S M

Aug 01, 2019

Data Scientist's Toolbox course helped me learning basics of Git, R-tools, RStudio installation and basic pac

By William L F

Oct 21, 2017

Sometimes difficult to follow along for actual programing and directions can be vague. Overall, decent intro.

By Vladislav P

Aug 19, 2016

Good introduction, tells you what Data Science actually is. Also teaches you basics of GitHub, R and Rstudio.

By Paul E H

Mar 12, 2016

Getting things set up is not that exciting, but a necessary part of it. I'm looking forward to learning more.

By Veronica W

Jun 16, 2020

Perfect for beginners. Not many problems encountered. Forums helped with any issues not covered in material.

By Dexy Y C D

Jan 24, 2020

Excellent course that provides the necessary tools for those that want to get started into the Data Science.

By Fulvio B

Apr 07, 2019

It gives you the basics concepts of data science. A bit impersonal the lectures but after a while you adapt.

By Rodrigo C C

Aug 08, 2017

It was good enough but I think you need to be more clear in terms of Git. I still have some doubts about it.

By Shashi K P

Dec 13, 2016

The course introduced us to data science questions and got us to know collaborating with peers using Git Hub

By Cathryn S

Jun 05, 2016

Fine as a general introduction, but not a lot to it. Good explanations of how to use github and get set up.

By Abhinay R

May 26, 2016

A very good intro course but must be priced lesser when compared to the other courses in the specialization.

By Mohamed Y

Apr 11, 2020

Great introductory to the data science tool box and its usage and benefits __ data science 0 course really

By Miryam A M C

Feb 10, 2020

Algunas partes del curso deberían tener mas ejercicios para practicar lo visto y reforzar mas lo aprendido

By Dushyant B

Mar 04, 2017

A good course to set up your software tool kit before you start your dive into Data Science Specialization

By Ihab A

Jul 13, 2016

This course is perfect for really newbie. However, it also answers the question of "What is Data Science?"

By Meagan V

Apr 13, 2020

Easy to follow for the most part. A couple of things were outdated so I had to figure them out on my own.

By Chen S

Dec 30, 2019

the course omits some important things like how to download MikTex and how to use it to open an rmd file

By Anku N M

Jan 09, 2019

Course was good, but would have been nice to have some TA/professor oversight of the discussion forums...

By Adam S

Feb 09, 2017

So far so good, Git was a bit difficult to get going but I'm excited to continue with the specialization.