Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
31,538 ratings
6,699 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filter by:

4701 - 4725 of 6,556 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Mohammed A E

Aug 16, 2017

A very good introductory course, However it requires a lot of personal research and reading to master the area, I believe more video excercises would be useful.

By chiuyuwen

Jan 16, 2021

That's great class. The way it explained is very clear. However the class is a bit basic for me. I was expected to learn syntax of R ect., but still a goo one!

By Moshiqur R

Jul 25, 2020

I was very excited about this course, learned a lot. But, it became boring in the middle. Although, it was good considering the reading materials to back me up

By Wutikorn R

May 20, 2020

It's a little bit boring, since you have to study a lot of toolbox without seeing them in actions for a few days. Best to watch at faster speed x1.25 at least

By Ornella S

Apr 19, 2019

The tutorial on github was not very clear to me, and the images used during the video and for the reading section were very blurry. Everything else was helpful

By Marcio C

Aug 17, 2018

A very superficial overview of the main tools used by a data scientist. Recommendation: The course could have more content. The quality of the content is good!

By Bhagya G

Mar 21, 2017

Helps install and set up the necessary software, but does require you to do bit of searching on the web to completely understand certain aspects of the course.

By Nitika S

Feb 26, 2017

This Course is a great start for the specialization. The course is designed in a very thought manner so as to help a novice understand concepts easily. Thanks!

By Dev V

Aug 8, 2016

Nice course, sets you up with the basics for R programming, and sets you up with all the tools. Basic introduction to Git makes it interesting.

Overall, great.

By Dennis A

Jun 5, 2016

Good introduction into basic data science tools and a nice starting point for the data science specialization. Yet, the certificate is a little bit overpriced.

By prateek l

Jul 12, 2020

Good insight to the broad subject of R and analytics, only reservation if the video lectures could have been delivered by some person and not automated voice.

By Vaibhav S

May 3, 2020

The course is well structured, but I still feel that it lacks human touch as the documents are read out by a program. Looking forward to learning new skills.

By Najlaa S

Oct 24, 2016

It was excellent course. I gained new information. I believe it need's hand on practice and base information for beginners who does not have any back ground.

By Asad R

Apr 2, 2020

Overall Content was good but I'm actually disappointed by the tone of the videos by some computer voice which actually makes it more difficult to undertsand

By Mohit G

Jan 16, 2020

Highly recommendable for beginners as you are going to get how to use the tools. I would recommend to go through this course before jumping to R programming

By Shivam J

May 24, 2019

Covers all the basics. But yeah, just the very basics. Leaves a lot more to be learnt. I'm sure the upcoming courses in the specialization would be helpful

By Mauro S d S

Mar 5, 2017

It was good - I think I would like a bit more on Github, but it gets covered in other courses. It shall have more material on the coverage of data science.

By Vinoth K T

Jan 7, 2016

The introduction was very precise and straight to the core concepts of data science.

Please include a slide with the road map of becoming a data scientist.

By Filipe F

Jun 22, 2019

Its a good basis. But i think there is a lot of information that is not relevant . Also, the materials of some questions are not mentioned in the videos.

By Mohamed A H A M

Feb 28, 2019

It is good as a start for a beginner, but I do not think it is adequate to be a separate course. Much of the material can be easily addressed in one week.

By WEI-LUN C

May 17, 2018

It's a great course to have very basic introduction of Data Science.

In the meanwhile, also teach us how to install the necessary tool for future purpose.

By Christopher S

Oct 7, 2017

Not the most engaging material, but the course does a good job of covering the fundamentals of R and GitHub and helps you download the necessary software.

By Adrian P J R

Jun 7, 2017

Some typos in the slides need correction. Narration can be made more lively. Slides still quite classical in format and may be improved for better impact.

By Liz T

Jan 16, 2016

Good overview of Data Science, but geared more towards people who have little background in computer science. Info that *was* presented was very thorough.

By arpit p

Sep 24, 2020

Auto-generated voice is a major down-point. Then this is supposed to be a beigner friendly course, but it isnt really looks like that in certain aspects.