Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
30,915 ratings
6,590 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filter by:

4751 - 4775 of 6,445 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Deleted A

Aug 10, 2016

Great course that allows an introduction into the world of the data scientist. Some instructional videos could be improved.

By Melinda T

Mar 29, 2016

Good course. Short and sweet. Nice to be able to access future weeks' lessons and finish ahead of schedule if you wish to.

By Dr. A R

Jun 7, 2020

Amazing and very simply going course. Learnt the basics of Rstudio and GitHub in a very simple manner. Thank you organisers

By Susan S

Mar 18, 2020

Great introductory. Some of the instructions were a bit vague at times - instructions RE code could have been more precise.

By ANKIT N

Jan 2, 2019

Course is in simplified way. student can easily understand the whole course. Makers made best efforts in making this course

By Qing Y

Sep 4, 2017

The quiz is mostly so'm'ething about the history or cha'ra'c'te'ristics of R or something else. No much knowledge provided.

By Srikanth S

May 27, 2017

Was a great introduction. However, i felt, some of the lectures was very fast and i had to pause it constantly to try out..

By yaw o a

Jan 2, 2017

Quite a fast course. Material is a lot though and would be quite daunting for someone completely new to this sort of stuff.

By Ada

Nov 14, 2016

I found the way in which John Hopkins present the course, very valuable. Well structured, although the pace is quite fast !

By Luis C H

Sep 13, 2016

Maybe too easy for some people, but is ok to ensure a minimum level in order to enroll other courses in the specialization.

By Bijan S

Jan 30, 2016

Well. I don't think this could be categorized as a course. You can think of it as table of content for the specialization.

By Ankit K

May 17, 2020

good for all those who want to start from scratch, but if you know R programming then it has no use for you except GitHub.

By Kris H

Jun 7, 2019

Much of this was review material, but the structure was such that it would be effective for learning as a first-time user.

By hoo y s

Apr 24, 2016

a brief and yet organized and good resource for review old skills i have learnt and new skills that can acquire from here.

By Jason B

Apr 21, 2020

A great little course for anyone who, like me, is curious to know if data science is something they might want to pursue

By Deleted A

Apr 9, 2020

I thought it was good until Week three. I found some of the directions on how to download/set up programs very confusing.

By Francisco J A O

Jan 30, 2020

Really gets me, so I renew my interest in learning new things, It´s a well implemented course to introduce you to RStudio

By Deepak J N

Aug 6, 2017

It forms the base. The examples should be recent and since its more from Bio stats etc, sometimes gets a bit confusing. .

By Deleted A

Mar 2, 2017

This is a very good introductory course for all those who are eager learn about Data Science. It gives you good insights.

By Carolina d C Z

Feb 27, 2017

Es un curso muy básico, introductorio de conceptos, herramitas como git y github, las consolas... Sólo para principiantes

By Yash K S

Jan 22, 2016

The course was nice but seemed too trivial at times of discussion about basic tools like git and command line interfaces.

By Jamie P

Jan 26, 2021

Some of the exercises were challenging to follow; however, I was able to complete after troubleshooting and researching.

By Muhammad M A S

Jul 10, 2020

It was really, a helpful intro to the concepts and tools to get someone - especially if new to the field - on the track!

By eon t

Jan 9, 2020

it could be better if there is a true human being teaching instead of a female ai. it seems a little bit indifferent lol

By TA

Apr 20, 2018

This is a great introductory course and would recommend this to others who are interested in pursuing additional course.