Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
30,540 ratings
6,509 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

Filter by:

4801 - 4825 of 6,370 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Nivedh R

Jan 15, 2018

Good, simple introduction to the specialization. Accompanying PDF slides would be great if clickable.

By Siert A

Nov 3, 2016

Very good introduction. It is a very basic, but much needed step. Setting up the tools you will need.

By 徐凡洁

Oct 4, 2016

nice course, but it would be better if the teacher can give us more details more about git and github

By Karthikeyan M

Jan 28, 2016

Interesting to know about Data Scientist and the tools. Eagerly waiting to go through the next lesson

By Sachin U

Jan 23, 2016

Very informative course. The Quiz questions however may not be necessarily be in the course content.

By Shanazar N

Aug 3, 2020

The only minus was that it was hard to catch automate sound. Except this the content is informative.

By Abhishek S S

May 25, 2020

very nice Course for understanding basics of data science and Rstudio also help to understand github

By Kok H W

May 20, 2020

Not a fan of automated videos. However, they provided a read-up following the videos so it was good.

By Omar K

Jan 26, 2017

The course is a nice set up for tools and environments that you need for other data science courses.

By Jordi A B

Feb 9, 2016

It's fine, but mabe quite easy. 4 Weeks are too much. This course could be done in a couple of days.

By Kyaw W

Dec 13, 2020

Better u python instead of R programming.

and put guided for course material installing on Linux OS.

By Venkata R S R

Mar 20, 2020

The videos voice is a little different but overall the course content and explanation is very good.

By Kevin H

Jun 29, 2017

Certainly informative and set up very well. There wasn't a ton of content. This is a prep course.

By Priya D

Feb 3, 2017

Very thoughtful and well-executed course. Although, one of the professor's voice is not very clear.

By Cristina P

Jan 10, 2016

Very easy going, but I think week 3 has much information, maybe a step by step toturial might help.

By URK17EC174 N V

Apr 30, 2020

This course has enabled me to further extend my capabilities to become an aspiring data enthusiast

By Loga S

Apr 10, 2020

I love everything in this course except the robotic voice. Atleast some good robotic voice will do

By Jim L

Oct 19, 2017

Very very basic, but will get you set up from what I imagine is the more strenuous work to come...

By Ben G

Nov 7, 2016

Good course for an introduction, the next course in the data scientist specialisation gets better.

By Kim W

Nov 5, 2020

A good overview of data science generally and a very helpful introduction to R Studio and GitHub.

By HU Y

Jan 15, 2017

It's the basic introduction courses for data science and it's good, we can learn a lot from this.

By kailash D k

May 6, 2020

It helps to clear the concepts which are not given clear in other platform this helps to improve

By Mohammed A A E

Mar 31, 2020

Not a very detailed course and very tough one, needs you to read a lot outside to fully grasp it

By Alexandre

Oct 30, 2018

Good introduction for real beginners. Someone that studied in the field would already know that.

By José G

Oct 14, 2017

An excellent course, however I found the organization of the different subjects a bit confusing.