Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
32,171 ratings
6,875 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filter by:

5051 - 5075 of 6,762 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Cristian B G

Feb 16, 2016

Buen curso sobre la iniciación a la ciencia de datos, las bases y las herramientas que se emplean para este mundo.

By Hannah G

Jan 16, 2016

A simple introduction. Easy to cover very quickly, however important to understand the basics before progressing.

By Ming T

Jan 5, 2021

it introduces some very useful tools- such as version control with github, and the explanations are fairly clear.

By Dhiraj S

Sep 2, 2020

You'll install 'R', 'R Studio'.

Will link R Studio with GitHUB

Will learn certain steps as introduction.

[That's it]

By Daniel G

Dec 12, 2019

O curso é bom, mas achei a fala robotizada estranha e acho que a linguagem R está perdendo terreno para o Python.

By NWONGBOUWOH M C

Apr 4, 2019

As a beginner, it was very instructive. New concepts introduced built-up on previous ones as the course unfolded.

By Chandra S K

Dec 7, 2018

I think more info about git and other toolboxes would be interesting. It took 1 day to complete the whole course.

By Steven C

Dec 21, 2016

I wouldn't really call this a course, rather it's more like an introduction to the very basic tools of the trade.

By Iseult A C

Sep 22, 2016

Very clear introduction for those unfamiliar with R, RStudio, Git, GitHub and the basics of statistical analysis.

By Miguel I E

Jun 17, 2020

Mucho contenido pero las explicaciones son difíciles de seguir en cuanto a instalación y manejo de los programas

By Joan M

Dec 22, 2019

Some of the dictation should be changed so that the computer says "for example" instead of "e.g."

(For example.)

By Carol P

Dec 3, 2017

The course was great. Wish there was more walk through general assignments to help you hands on with the tools.

By Raymond K

Jul 6, 2017

Good Intro level course to data science and provides a quick glimpse of the necessary tools used in the industry

By Caleb T

Jul 3, 2017

Good starter, but could have been Week 1 of a separate class. The entire course took all of 2 hours to complete.

By Aluash S

Feb 2, 2021

I thought that the course was too simple and basic. I think that it all could have been condensed into 2 weeks.

By Fadi B

Nov 20, 2020

Great intro to the data science major, needs to be more detailed in my opinion in regards to the git bash part.

By Yuvraj S

Nov 10, 2018

I would have liked if the Course content(course 1) was in more depth, but the overall experience was very good.

By Justine B

Jun 23, 2018

This course was kind of helpful. I could've used much more practice with importing data into R and with GitHub.

By Ian R

Dec 5, 2016

This is a good intro to programming so far. It feels like I'm building a solid base from which to understand R.

By Dan L

Jun 28, 2021

Possibly a good introduction to R. Would have liked more R specific material, and maybe less focus on git hub.

By AMANDEEP S B

Jun 4, 2020

This is wonderful and a great course in which along with data science they thought concepts of Git and Github.

By David S C

Aug 29, 2018

It was very educational, but i feel like this course is only a very big introduction to the next eight courses

By Itamara C

Mar 27, 2021

Still difficult for me get to used to listen to the computer talk.

But it is very good slides, easy to follow.

By Kuldeep S M

Aug 1, 2019

Data Scientist's Toolbox course helped me learning basics of Git, R-tools, RStudio installation and basic pac

By William L F

Oct 21, 2017

Sometimes difficult to follow along for actual programing and directions can be vague. Overall, decent intro.