Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
31,406 ratings
6,678 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

Filter by:

6351 - 6375 of 6,533 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Yuan L

Nov 12, 2017

Not that useful. There is no need for videos. The content can simply be presented in one single PDF in a time-saving way.

By Dimitry W

Dec 5, 2017

Somewhat interesting to get an idea of what can be done with Git / Github, but I don't feel prepared to actually use it.

By Anna K

Jul 13, 2017

Materials are getting out of date, especially with some of Github's new features. Instruction not clear in some lessons.

By Illan W

Jun 5, 2019

Lectures are ridiculously boring, especially without having any video cam component to bring stimulation to the class.

By Ashwin P

Jul 1, 2017

I do not think it is worth the money as the content is really basic and installation of software can be learnt online.

By Lang Y

Oct 24, 2017

Too little content. Can finish the entire course in a few hours. Could be compressed into the first week of a course

By Adam D

Jun 12, 2017

If you can install R & RStudio and sign up for Github, then you're 80% finished with this course before you start.

By Alex L

Mar 1, 2021

Link does not blue-highlight in the last question and confuses the graders to think that the link does not work.

By Andrew T

Jan 3, 2018

Basic setup of R and Git.

Prefer Treehouse's integrated workshop structure for tasks like these and/or youtube.

By Matthew W

Apr 1, 2016

Extremely remedial. Not worth the time or cost on it's own, unfortunately it's required for the specialization.

By Owen I

Nov 15, 2016

Is this entire course going to be watching videos of powerpoint slideshows, wrapped in a rather buggy website?

By SAI V K

Jun 2, 2016

they made this many courses as they can earn more money.I dont think this course should me taught seperately

By Andrew W

Apr 20, 2017

Very, very, very basic intro. The entire 4 weeks could have (and should have) been condensed into 1 week.

By Paolo D

Nov 7, 2016

I didnt learn anything about data science. I could have learned how to install all those tools by myself

By Andrew I

Sep 17, 2016

There just wasn't much to this class. It's not bad information, but it could have been done in one week.

By Agustin G

Jun 20, 2016

It's an extremely basic introduction... which doesn't help in much for the next session (R Programming)

By Eva-Maria B

Jan 28, 2018

OK course. A brief overview, but the sequence of material isn't that well thought out in my opinion.

By Christopher W P

Feb 9, 2018

VERY basic course, some of the week's assignments were simply installing software for future use...

By Anit B

Jun 27, 2016

Introductory Course mostly around installation and setup for the other courses in Specializations

By Sergey I

Mar 10, 2016

Maybe, I am already somehow experienced, but I think that the time I spent on that was a waste :/

By Brian F

Jun 15, 2017

This course is very basic and takes nowhere near 1 month. I spent about 3 hours in total on it.

By Nayef

Mar 30, 2017

i feel that the course need more explanation .. i got really lost in the begging of the HW

By Raviprakash R S

Feb 13, 2017

This module is just enough material for 1 or 2 lectures with "How to get started" notes..

By Abhijeet S

Oct 17, 2020

Course is okayish, automated voice is bit annoying and some contents are not up to date