Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
32,478 ratings
6,929 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filter by:

6601 - 6625 of 6,817 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Roy H

Jan 17, 2016

Dry videos. Most classes are someone showing how they do something their way, rather than guiding or teaching with the intent to have the student absorb and re-apply principles.

Very difficult for a student to absorb material from this video series

By Derek P

Jan 6, 2016

Hard to follow with a lot of technical intructions right off the bat with inadequate explanation, a lot of "read more about this at <insert URL>." Videos were boring and the instructor was invisible just reading off the slides. Not very engaging.

By Alexandre B S

Feb 11, 2020

This course should not be the first module of the specialization. Also, it lacks exercises and the content's explanation is not that deep and interactive, making the first course of the specialization boring and not caught student attention.

By Amouna

Mar 27, 2020

I definitely did not like the robot voice even though the course mentioned that it could be annoying. I wish there was more instruction involved, especially for beginners like myself. It was still confusing to complete some of the tasks.

By Michael S

Oct 4, 2020

Very disappointed in the quality of the videos. The voice-over is computer generated and takes too much focus. Luckily you can choose just to read it yourself. But this is not what I was expecting from Johns Hopkins and Coursera.

By Daryl A

Aug 17, 2020

The course needs to spend more time on how to init and push an item from RStudio to Git. I ended up having to watch a youtube video on how to do it. And all the comments show that this course did not prepare students how to do it.

By M. M A

Sep 19, 2020

The robot voice is a bother. If it is something experimental, the course should be free: students are human beings, not guinea pigs. There are better books and tutorials for installing and exploring the software.

By Tarunoday S

May 6, 2017

This module should not be kept as a separate piece...The steps mentioned in the lectures does not properly cover what is asked in the assignments.The lecture content needs to improve to cover the assignment

By Marie J

Feb 25, 2019

I found this informative but you do not get much in terms of service. One of the quiz has a technical issue and I made a complaint weeks ago, but I still haven't gotten a response. Nor has it been fixed.

By Alessandro V

Oct 22, 2016

It is too easy as a "university" course. It is much more like a pratictioner course. The final exam is ridiculous, really too easy.

It can be thought as a week course instead of a four week course.

By Eric L C

Jan 27, 2019

Presentation great. Quizzes are idiotic. You take the quiz, it tells you that you got an answer wrong but does not tell you why most of the time -- so no chance to learn from your mistakes.

By Matt G

Feb 5, 2016

Very little information for the cost. I was done with the whole course in a few hours. The review in the next course covered most of the same things. It certainly wasn't worth the price.

By David C J

Sep 26, 2016

This was really basic information. It's not really a 4 week course. It takes several hours. The info is necessary, but it's sufficient as a single week of content for a larger course.

By Katherine C

Jul 6, 2020

The robot voice makes it extremely difficult to fully understand the information presented. I found myself having to listen more than once to ensure I did not miss any information.

By Brendan L

Mar 28, 2017

Very basic course, I was able to complete the 4 weeks on content in a weekend. I would recommend skipping this module and moving directly to the R Programming course.

By Hrushikesh P

Feb 28, 2021

I had enrolled for the several courses long back still I am unable to appear for the Quizzes(assignments). Kindly look into the matter and resolve it at earliest.

By Allan P

Jul 26, 2016

Very basic even for people with no DS background.

Issues with quiz having passed and results showing as failed. Inability to speed up and move on to next module

By F B

Mar 22, 2020

I didn't like how I couldn't do some of the tasks because some steps were missing from videos and texts and there is no help in the course except the forum

By Javier R L G

Aug 6, 2018

Too slow!! Why waiting for others to finalize and rate, enter enough dummy exercises so that the student can complete the course much sooner. Thanks.

By Francisco B P

Apr 10, 2018

Very superficial knowledge. More pratical exercises are needed and daily problem examples. The use of github and his pratical purpose is not clear.

By Karan B

Oct 9, 2017

Very average do not feel I learnt much. Still not sure if it's over or not since i've submitted a peer review assignment and cannot go any further.

By Karsten T

Feb 15, 2016

This could probably be compressed into a single week of setup for the R Programming course. There isn't much in terms of substantive learning here.

By DIWAAN C C S

Nov 10, 2020

Content is good but the thing to tell is that robots can't express actions, only humans can. So please change these videos as human lectures.

By OMEED R

Dec 30, 2016

I mean, it's replicated in the next classes, and it has silly questions in the practice quizzes. It's not worth it. Just kill this.

By Augusto U

Feb 18, 2016

Very basic introduction to Data Science. Seasoned programmer or other IT professionals are likely to find this course really weak.