Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
32,171 ratings
6,875 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 6,767 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Ricardo J d S

Dec 17, 2018

Achei de grande valia, no meu caso, especificamente, por me colocar novamente em contato com a parte mais técnica da TI - venho desempenhando papéis gerenciais a algum tempo e tinha certo receio de alterar a configuração da minha máquina para ser um "laboratório" de ciência de dados.

By Farkhadov Z

Aug 8, 2016

Good course for begginers like me. All information is provided very simple and it's easy to understand. Also involves srudents not only looking videos but offer books. In addition you will need to search some information yourself to complete some tasks.

Thanks for this great course.

By Veera V k

Dec 7, 2019

Even though it is a starter course to the specialization learned so many new things like amazon polly which is being used to generate these videos, R-markdown and how important is it to produce reproducible research.

A must take course for any data science aspirant

Happy Learning!!

By Ting L

Aug 24, 2018

It's a great course for beginners. I had little knowledge about data science. I didn't even know what was R and GIt. After taking this course, I had a preliminary understanding of them. If anyone wants to learn data science without any experience, this one can be your start point!

By Tristan I

Jan 17, 2020

All the information felt applicable to my current role. The main thing I gained from this course is that I feel more confident in the tools at my disposal as a data analyst. Additionally I learned about tools I had never heard of & how to utilize them, and for that I'm thankful!

By Oskar D H

May 17, 2021

Para conocer por primera vez Git y R, así como RStudio; y las implicaciones entorno a resolver un problema relacionado a la ciencia de datos, es un curso que lo hace de forma clara al explicar conceptos importantes para comprender el análisis de datos y hacerlo de forma optima.

By David L M

Aug 16, 2020

Good starting point for starting to learn data science. Short, practical course on definitions and tools for data science. I knew a little bit about R and RStudio (but not much) and didn't know anything about Git and Git Hub, and this helped me a lot to know these tools better.

By Dominic C

Apr 25, 2016

Great way to learn R and become familiar with how to use it. As a developer with an understanding of Python, Java, C and C++ I could quickly see how to use R, how to extend it and start working with it today. Very good use of supporting tools like Swirl to assist with teaching.

By Rodrigo E

Oct 23, 2020

I would prefer more courses with this format, videos and the reading section with exactly the same content, I have found that is better to read so you can go back to previous paragraphs if you didn't understand something. Both things are pretty good videos and reading section.

By Kaushal C

Jun 11, 2020

The course provides a good introduction to the necessary toolbox required. It provides introduction to the Rstudio interface and Github version control system. The course helped me gain a lot of knowledge regarding Data Scientist toolbox, especially the version control system.

By Michael S

Feb 19, 2018

I found this course to be effective at getting the student to recognize the baseline set of tools, skills and behaviors expected in courses 2-10. Moreover, none of said tools, skills or behaviors fall outside the confines of typical and/or "in demand" experience. Nice work!

By parv s

Mar 5, 2021

The course material was in a structured manner and very easy to understand. One feedback I would like give is that there should be a form of one to one communication with instructors, so that students can clarify their technical doubts since this is a course based on coding.

By Prithvi M

Mar 11, 2020

Great course to get started with data science using R as primary language. Good data practices are encouraged and use of GitHub for version control gives additional confidence to anyone wishing to preserve their work that leads them up to the solution to the problem at hand.

By Francisco M R O

Aug 27, 2018

It's an excellent introductory course for the specialization, I have recommended this course to a friend because I have found the content pretty useful. I will continue with the other courses of the specialization and I'm very grateful to have this opportunity from Coursera.

By Oyetunde A O

Aug 13, 2017

This is a nice course and well taught by all facilities made available by the facilitators. As soon as am financially able to start to finish from where I stopped, I will activate my remaining course left to roundup Data Science Specialization.

I really appreciate. Thank you.

By Peres R B

Apr 3, 2016

Basic course introducing the minimum tools to start your journey in data science. The course was very important for me to get up to speed with Git and GitHub. All the information was given in a concise and objective way, yet covered all basic important points of such tools.

By Suryadeep D

Mar 17, 2016

Might look trivial at first glance to more experienced users, but was very much essential for a complete beginner like me. Gives a nice overview of a somewhat overwhelming (and sometimes intimidating) field and equips you with the basic tools necessary (like how to use git).

By Ashok K R K

Feb 27, 2021

Super insightful course, I was happy to get to learn to use version control systems. I would recommend it for everyone who is willing to get into data science. This course opens new set of possibilities and provides you the foundation needed to further advance your skills.

By Andrea P

Sep 3, 2020

Excelente curso, aumentó de manera óptima mis conocimientos y resolvió todas mis dudas, ahora tengo gran parte de las herramientas para llega a ser una buena cientifica de datos y aparte de que aprendí mucho sobre el tema, pude practicar el inglés y aumentar mi vocabulario.

By AKHIL K

Apr 11, 2020

The "Data Scientist's Toolbox" offered by Johns Hopkins University is a good head start for the newbies in the field of Data Science. The course gives the brief introduction to various software used by a Data Scientist that is R, R studio, Git hub and Git (version control).

By Nthabiseng M

Jan 8, 2021

I really enjoyed the course, the quizzes are very helpful because they taught me to listen and watch the videos carefully so that I can remember the content. As an IT student this course will be very helpful to me, and will open more opportunities for me in the ICT sector.

By Arthur D

Apr 11, 2016

Very good introduction to data science. It gives a general overview on data and its problematics but also tips and help on how to start with the basic tools that will be needed (I haven't done any R programming and didn't have a github account so that was helpful for me).

By Bhavay S

Jul 22, 2020

It is a very good course to get introduced to the world of data science. Working knowledge of R, RStudio and GitHub is covered in a very nice and organised manner. I feel more confident and equipped to proceed further and learn how to solve problems through data science.

By Анатолий К

Mar 14, 2019

Интересно было посмотреть как работает один из лучших исследовательских университетов мира.

Кроме настройки программного обеспечения много узнал об основных принципах науки о данных.

Очень понравился пример с Хилари Клинтон. Возможно это был роковой момент в её поражении.

By Samuel W

Jun 8, 2020

This is not a coding course. It is a course to bring you up to date with the logistics of using R: downloading packages, using RStudio, using GitHub version control, and familiarizing oneself with the overarching concepts of experimental design, statistics and big data.