Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
30,624 ratings
6,528 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 6,387 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Alexanda J

Sep 25, 2020

I learned so much from this course, not only on R, but aslo on the fundamental knowledge of Big data. Thank you so much for the course and materials. They are really helpful for beginners in statistical analysis.

By suresh b

Sep 18, 2017

This is one of the best platform to get into the data science field. As a fresher i learned a lot from coursera.

I did this course and got a knowledge on this field it's really amazing to be a part of this course.

By Aman G

May 4, 2017

The course gradually introduces you to new R concepts in a natural manner. I highly recommend the Swirl exercises. Nothing beats exercises that have you actually coding yourself instead of watching just videos.

By Hans G Q

Sep 3, 2020

An Excellent Course!. I learnt the foundations of Data Scientist and how to set up the tools for a begginner. I think is a good course to get started in Data Science in short and with R in a very Begginer Level.

By Chia-wen,Kao

Jun 4, 2020

Although I still have trouble fixing my GitHub language on the terminal, the course is still informative and helpful. Can't wait to assess more programming language and explore more function that R can process.

By Neerada W

Apr 17, 2020

I am new to the entire concept of data science and coding. I found this course very useful in giving an overall basic overview to the concept. It is easy to understand and clear. I found it to be of great help.

By saicharan s

May 22, 2020

This Course is very well structured and paced which makes students to analyse and understand things in a smooth and efficient way also this course provides enough intro towards big data and data analysis tools

By Marvin G W

Dec 1, 2019

Basic intro but good material and refreshers. Git lesson is great for those of us that haven't been in that environment for a while or have never been there to start with. Looking forward to the next course!

By Azhan A

Mar 17, 2018

Awesome course! I would say, I was dreaded github, it never made sense to me but now I know what it is, the course covers super basics and I recommend everyone who is new to data science or even new to coding.

By Venkata D

Nov 6, 2017

This is a very valuable course for the biology or health research background students or scientists who have great interest in data and analysis can learn and explore newer skills. Very well structured course.

By Franklin F A C

Jul 15, 2020

Es un buen curso para ser la base de todo el programa de especialización en ciencia de los datos en R. He aprendido mucho y vale la pena para quienes no conocíamos muy bien este lenguaje y sus potencialidades

By Dasarathan S

Sep 17, 2019

All information given in this course is very basic overview about Data Scientist. It covers basic requirements at macro level and helped me to understand what is Data Scientist. Great course to start with it.

By John S

Jul 15, 2019

Most helpful for those who don't exactly know what they are doing and need help setting up R, R Studio, GitHub, and Git. Be warned, o actual programming here. However, I definitely appreciate what I learned.!

By sandeep

Feb 15, 2017

It's really a great introduction to know the very basic things of Data Science. This course will be useful in setting-up the required tools of R programming on your computer. For the beginners this is a must.

By Osman A

Aug 31, 2020

I found this course is very helpful and I am new to Data Science but this course help me to get my fundamentals very well organize and I am looking forward to compete all Data Science Specialization courses.

By Shashi P

Jul 15, 2020

Though this is robotic voice course but the content organisation is very well and illustrative for even a beginner. Topics are well covered and the software installation processes are also cleared very well.

By NISCHAL S

May 1, 2020

The contents of the course were excellent, and every bit of instruction was to the point. The idea of providing the text version of the video was apparent. The voice of the narrator could be a little better.

By Sruhith K

Oct 23, 2019

I loved the support of the Coursera, throughout this course and the way of unfolding a course all the way through till the end!

Really loved each and every aspect of the whole cream.

Thanks and love, Coursera!

By Miss A N

Nov 2, 2020

Great course! It was especially helpful for me to connect RStudio to GitHub and understand how the two tools work together for version control. I never would have figured this out on my own! Thanks so much!

By KHANGJRAKPAM A

Jan 5, 2020

It was an amazing course. The versioning of code during development is something that Data Scientist new to the trade are unaware of . It was good to have this knowledge of how to do versioning through Git.

By Darcy L

Sep 12, 2018

Nice balance between giving me the info I needed to complete the course and homework and providing links to materials and suggestions on how to find answers that were not explicitly covered in the videos.

By Álvaro G

Jul 17, 2017

I loved this class. The lessons were concise and very well planned, the information clear and easy to grasp and it gave me a very good perspective of what the rest of the specialization is going to entail.

By Priyanka K

Jun 30, 2016

Thank you so much for the great course! Looking forward to taking the rest of the classes in the specialization. I really love the GitHub info, lectures overall, as well as the Textbooks you have provided.

By Soumyadeep S

Dec 30, 2020

Week 3 was so informative and well constructed. It was a joy doing the course. Git and Github part is excellently explained and the linking between Git hub and R Studio as well. Fantastic course overall.

By Nnamdi V E

May 14, 2020

This course is wonderful. Very detailed.

My main concern with MOOCs is the data consumed by videos but the videos here are so light. I don't have to worry about the size and I played them more than once.