Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
28,688 ratings
6,069 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

SF

Apr 15, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR

Sep 08, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filter by:

3976 - 4000 of 5,932 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Ying T

Jun 04, 2017

I like the structure of this course, it introduces essential tools for people who just begin the journey of becoming a programmer. But the quality of videos needs to be improved, especially the instructor is basically reading the slides and sometimes it's distractive and boring... Besides, I don't think it's necessary to include all the introduction sessions for other courses in this specialization.

By James J

Dec 26, 2016

Are you ever tired of long-winded professors, focusing on a lecture for an hour or more, or spending hundreds of dollars for a class? Well, this course gives you the structure of a course, but the video lectures are concise, the topic is to get you in the door for data science, and all of my questions were answered quickly. I recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn data science.

By Yean D

May 25, 2020

Great Course. But for completely beginner who don't have any previous experience in programming or have some experience in other language but not in R Programming Language, might find it difficult to cope with. Many of the times, I had to google and watch other tutorials in youtube to understand some lessons of the course. Besides the artificial robotic voice was quite irritating for me.

By Danish N T

Jun 19, 2020

I get that this course is more catered towards people who have never set u Softwares like Matlab and Rstudio and have never utilized Git but I felt that if you are touching these topics, it would be better if it were more in-depth and made a strong foundation. The statistics part of the course was excellent but I felt more attention could be paid towards Git and Bash and CLI in general.

By Victor K

Nov 07, 2018

Good introduction to the Data Science Toolbox. I found the course very engaging, setting up foundation for further studies. Also, very nice platform supporting In my mind though taking this course makes sense only in conjunction with the other courses within this Data Science Specialisation as knowledge you get from Data Science Toolbox will not be sufficient for practical application.

By Oleksii P

Nov 22, 2016

This is my first course on Coursera so i didn't really know what to expect and i apologise in advance for my ignorance. The course only takes you 8-10 hours or so to complete (even accounting for reading external sources) spread across a month. I enjoyed it, but it doesn't feel like i learned a lot and i think it could be a bit more intensive. Looking forward to R Programming (part 2)

By Martin J M

Mar 11, 2017

With my background, this was a lot of repetition of information that I already knew, but I was happy to have the reminder and it would be an excellent introduction to the specialization for others who do not have as much of a data science/computer science background. Overall, I feel that the course was worth my time and I feel it is a great start to the Data Science Specialization.

By Hong C

Jun 29, 2020

It is really a long journey to me ( 6 months) and the study itself has ups and downs. The first few courses and last few course are relatively easy to me, but the statistics reference and regression model are really hard, and Capstone is the most difficult and time consuming course/project ever. I am glad it is all over and pretty sure it will be worth the time and effort on it.

By Jen V

Oct 08, 2019

I found it somewhat difficult to figure out how to push the file to GitHub (luckily I did find some helpful info in the forums), but otherwise found most of this course very easy. I can't figure out how to download the slides in such a way that allows me to click on hyperlinks, and I've seen other people say the same thing. I also would recommend making the code & graphs bigger.

By Keuntae K

Sep 11, 2017

Overall, a great course. However, I hope that the course will focus on explaining overview and principles of data science, not explaining how to use toolboxes such as R and Github. R and Github as data science toolboxes are not well explained in this course because it was quite difficult for me to follow what the instructor showed in his slides about using codes in R or Github.

By Маношин А А

Mar 20, 2020

This is a good course. You will recrive knowledge that was promised, but 1 mounth for this is too long. 2 weeks is long for this too, but at least appropriate. Also I have encountered some problems in the process that were not mentioned in course. It was not too hard to solve them but this is it.

Thank you for your course! I will definitely take the next course in the program.

By Rick M

Sep 12, 2020

Enjoyed the course and learned a lot overall. It was the kind of intro and overview of data science I was looking for. Several of the quizzes need a review of the answers in the multiple choice questions. As my first class taken in Coursera I found having to retake a quiz and game it to get the "correct" answer that was not actually the accurate answer a little frustrating.

By Jose A C

Nov 30, 2018

I think the course is very good. I believe that it could be improved if the videos could reflect a more realistic approach on how to get to certain sites and how to download programs. Even though the students get the final result, in some cases it is frustrating and time consuming to determine if what we are doing is correct. In general, I am very satisfied with the course.

By Abir N

Jul 10, 2020

This course is about nuts and bolts of R software, Rstudio interface, Git and Github with a brief inroduction to version control and other prerequisite of building a data science project. The only downside of the course is it uses automated videos which is a bit mechanical sounding.Though it is my personal opinion but that's the the cause of a missing star in my review.

By Dylan B

Jul 08, 2020

All of the course content is excellent however there are issues with the peer review system. The final project is peer reviewed by only 2 people (per submission) so the mark has a very high amount of variance and so is essentially luck based, which means you have to submit many times until you get a pass mark on it. Other than this there are no problems with the course.

By neil v a

Nov 14, 2017

It's all fine and well to just learn and do things by watching youTube and reading internet websites.

But your learning needs some structure, because at the beginning of the process, you don't know what is important and what is not ! I found the course good at helping give me an oversight to the subject, and getting me up and going with the software components needed.

By Max M

Feb 16, 2019

I believe an updated version would be beneficial, as some R packages have now somewhat different functionalities. Furthermore, I would have liked a bit more instructions into how to create a markdown file. Otherwise fairly easy course; not sure what to expect for the rest of the specialization then, although I've read very positive results. Therefore, I will continue.

By Leandro S

Oct 10, 2017

The material is good, the subject is interesting, the slides are ok, but the audio is suboptimal. In addition, there could be slightly more interaction (I mean the lecturer recording videos with him doing things at git bash, for example). This course is a simple and good preparation for the further courses on the Johns Hopkins Univerity Data Science track at Coursera.

By Sumit S

Apr 21, 2020

Really great content, but not a fan of automated videos (as of now). If booking a recording hall is a hassle, a background human voice with slides will be a much better option. If I were to complete a course just by reading study material, I could have chosen a Book instead of a MOOC.

Keeping this issue aside, Overall great content for getting started in Data Science.

By Dale O J

Mar 09, 2018

This is a good introduction to the tools necessary for Data Science. The lectures are comprehensive. Nevertheless, I view online tutorials for Git and GitHub as well as Dr. Leeks book The Elements of Data Analytic Style as being important supplements to the lectures to clarify and amplify the points that Dr. Leek is developing and attempting to impart to the student.

By Mateus S F

May 19, 2020

Video-classes are presented by software voices (with an alternative of using only the text/slides provided by developers), which is a little bit annoying and distances the student from a motivating experience of having an actual professor, an example/model figure to be pursued. The content of the course is complete and well explained by the provided material though.

By KETIREDDY K R

Apr 21, 2020

Course content was too great but that robotic voice i know its still in development but that voice always irritated me and made me distracted .Sometimes i got errors even though i followed the course content exactly the same way you did but it is good to correct the errors on myself.Thank you for this awesome course but i hope you come up with a good robotic voice

By Alessandro V

Apr 18, 2020

I appreciated a lot the program regarding the toolbox, many good references and links are included.

I found a little vague the definition of P-value. I can understand that this was included inside an introductory section, however the criticality of this definition shouldn't be neglected. (I posted a specific comment in the forum of week 4)

Thank you

Alessandro Vasta

By Jonathan K

Jun 08, 2016

A good but brief introduction to a number of useful skills. I learned a lot in a short amount of time but I still have a long way to go. I was somewhat disappointed in the lack of communication with a TA or instructor. The message boards were desolate and could not support any kind of a robust discussion of the conceptual issues involved with data science.

By Débora d C S

Mar 06, 2016

The instructors are great, but I think the content of this course should be embbeded in other module. Despiting being important, the topics covered here are very introductory. I recognizes, though, they are important to align expectation and to put everyone in a minimum ground of knowledge. However, I am not sure if Coursera should charge US$ 29,00 for it.