Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
32,346 ratings
6,906 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filter by:

4676 - 4700 of 6,791 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By William B B

Mar 7, 2019

This is an excellent basic course. The main problem I had was understanding the computer voice at times. There is also a quiz question or two that refer to commands in Studio that are not up to date, but only a couple that I found. All in all, it's an excellent course.

By Naveen K

Nov 26, 2016

Great intro to Data Science Specialization. Hoping to complete the other courses as well. Dispels my myth about Data Science is all geeky stuff. Looking forward to bust more myths.

This course is light, broad and introductory. 4 weeks is a sweet spot. Keeps you engaged.

By Apolline M

Oct 23, 2016

Not much to learn, I would have liked a more thorough introduction to data science's principles.

Yet, everything is really presented step by step to make sure that all participants install correctly all tools needed for the further classes included in the specialization.

By Sally L

Dec 8, 2020

I did not know how to use R or R studio neither did I know what they entailed. With this course, I am now more aware. Being a solution provider. It is definitely a course you should check out to be conversant with the data scientist's tools especially R that is popular.

By Tony D C

Apr 6, 2020

This course is perfect to get an introduction to R and RStudio and the Github. It's easy to follow and pretty fast to complete. Probably the best thing you take home from this is to have a nice setup for the following courses where you can use the tools presented here.

By MHE v A

Oct 28, 2020

Very good, basic level course. Only one minor issue when working on the markup section, make sure to install TeX before you start, or R will not be able to generate a pdf. Not a major thing, but something that did frustrate me for 15 minutes while I got it all set up.

By Bernardo M F d S

Mar 9, 2018

Although I understand that Data Science involves a lot of self-oriented research, more resources and recommendations for learning git basics would be appreciated. Perhaps some practical exercises before the final assignment would've ensured a better learning process.

By Rok B

Apr 4, 2019

It is a good start to data science, you don't need a background in programming. The course is aimed at 1) helping you set up R, RStudio,git and conect it to GitHub and understand it's basic functionality and 2) getting a basic understanding of what data science is.

By Vamshi K P

Nov 12, 2020

The course covered most of the necessary tools in the Data Science industry. The content is clear and very easy to retrace the steps. Git version control required a deeper explanation of undoing a commit, branching and merging. The rest of the content is flawless.

By REDROUTHU B S - C

Jun 18, 2020

The track consists of 9 courses that each last about 4 weeks which are released in batches of 3 courses each month. This course introduces the very basics of R and R studio, Git and Github and a few otherthings that will be used in the data science specialization.

By Brandon T

Nov 16, 2017

A little daunting at first but the instruction is simple and the ability to search video transcripts for tidbits basically saves me the step of taking notes. Some of the navigation was difficult in the forum, but I ended up figuring it out and posting something.

By Marcio R

Aug 9, 2021

Very helpful and important introduction to the world of Data Science. I do feel an overall lack of more examples and/or small optional projects/exercises to help learn, though. Maybe something like a list of exercises could be given at the end of each Module?

By Abdul-Mateen Q

Nov 22, 2020

This course gave me a thorough introduction to the use of the tools in preparation for being a data scientist. I also had a good grasp of what task a data scientist faces on job. R, RStudio, Git and GitHub are nomore nightmare for me having taken this course.

By José D

Oct 11, 2020

it implies statistical concepts that, I understand because I have studied them deeply in my college, but for someone who has few or no knowledge about the subject, it can be very complicated. still its very complete and I learnt a lot about R studio program.

By Benjamin S

Sep 6, 2017

Good starter content, data science background and overview of tools. Could provide more lecture time on the tools (RStudio, Git/Bash). The course is labeled for beginners, but I can see where someone without much experience could really get intimidated by

By Ron C

Jul 9, 2021

The course provided a good overview of Data Science and the various tools used to perform the work. Those without an IT background may find it challenging to install and configure some of the required tools. But you can find plenty of tutorials on YouTube.

By Vinayak N

Aug 1, 2019

Well structured and nicely organized. Content is great and lays the ground rules for start of statistics using R.

Minus one start only because there's no instructor teaching the course. I would've preferred a real human voice rather than an automated voice.

By Vishnu K

Jun 25, 2016

The videos might not seem a lot at first view, but they contain links to some of the most useful material out there. The mentors on discussion boards are immensely helpful as well. For the uninitiated in data sciences, this is a great module to begin with.

By Steve S

May 8, 2016

Good pace for the first course. A little more guidance on Git command flow would be help. However, the available Help documentation on Github did the trick. The problem was having to work primarily in the command line which provides limited feedback.

By Francesco B

Jun 10, 2019

Well done, but very basic. Only do it if you are really completely new to the subject.

The audio part is entirely done using automatic text reading. Very well done compared to other similar tools, but still the experience is not the same as with a human

By Natalia S

Sep 7, 2017

Videos are already sort of "old". Having Macbook i had significant problems with pushing files to GitHub repo, nevertheless I was doing everything said in the videos.

I could do that after using some other functions that were not mentioned in the video.

By leo n

Apr 21, 2019

It was straight forward. However, there were some difficulties installing RStudio using the latest version. I had to go the previous one .e.g. Latest was 3.5 I used 3.4 matching RTools. Other than that very straight fwd, including Github (basic) usage

By SRI V K

Jun 9, 2021

I am not too thrilled about Polly delivering the lectures but I understand why they have to do it this way.. Still explained all the concepts clearly and I am confident that I will get through the entire specialization after going through this course.

By Scott D

May 7, 2020

A good course with clear instruction that gives you a basic review of using data and installing R and related programs. Occasionally necessary steps in R are omitted and one has to do some googling. Not a fatal flaw, but frustrating for a beginner.

By Roberto R

Jul 23, 2020

It felt a bit like a RPG tutorial where your big accomplishment is learning how to run or crouch, but I guess it makes sense for it to be part of the Specialization track. I would recommend it as part of a series, more than as a standalone course.