Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
32,984 ratings
7,045 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools

(243 Reviews)

Introductory course

(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

SF

Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR

Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filter by:

4901 - 4925 of 6,941 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By shubham t

Jul 2, 2020

Great course to know these tools. Need more explanation with the videos and more interactive assignments to understand better. Also, language change is one thing that needs to acquire eventually.

By Matt R

Feb 10, 2018

Additional exercises on setup and use of git would have been helpful, particularly with the local and remote synchronization. You may want to phone-a-friend on git if you need to use it daily...

By yanto

Sep 25, 2016

Well basically tutors only providing slides, speech, forums and ebook in this course...rest is self-learning, self-understanding, self-asking... if not, then you'll not pass this course i think..

By Koduru K C

May 2, 2016

The course covered the foundations well especially how and what softwares to install etc. I would have given five stars if the course contains covered some extra details about R and datascience.

By Kjell E N

May 6, 2020

Fine, but (as the authors admit up front) there is room for improvement in the canned text-to-speech. Does feel kind of impersonal. But I am going to continue with this course of study anyway.

By Wei D

Jul 14, 2019

Good starting point for beginners to learn about R. Basic experience with git is a must although it is possible for complete beginners. Will just take more time to do the homework and quizzes.

By Mohamed I A

Dec 23, 2017

Nice course as a start... I just felt I need more knowledge in the area of github (the idea of pushing, pulling and forking). But maybe it will be more clear by time as this was just an intro.

By Andika Z F

Jul 26, 2020

I think it will be better if we have not a computer programmed lecturer to give the material because I find it hard to understand what she says and I will prefer more on actual human lecturer

By Alina S T

Sep 12, 2019

I took the same course 6 years ago and it was a little more challenging. It actually had coding assignments. and not only in R, but in Python and SQL too. That was a more complex "toolbox"...

By Anoop B

May 3, 2020

The course was excellent however the robotic sound of the AI was a challenge. Once I overcame my inhibition to learn from an AI system, I started to like the course and learnt a lot from it.

By Yitong L

Jun 9, 2019

This course missed some important step, for example, the git push which is not be cleared how to push and does not teach us the git pull as the REANDME.MD is not in the local repo initially.

By Ashish K

Dec 8, 2018

Should spend a little more time explaining how interaction between Git and Github works. It is not very intuitive and requires revisiting the video as well as google search to understand it.

By Arjun S

Aug 27, 2017

A very easy course, can be completed in 3-4 days at max. Having done R programming course first, this was a breeze taking a couple days. Good for people starting off with the specialization.

By Sander H

Apr 25, 2017

What I like (so far) is that you have to search for information via internet and by practising your knowledge in GIT and GIThub you can discover what you have learned or what should improve.

By Manu B

Oct 10, 2020

The course was informative enough for the tools needed. But I think a separate course just for sake of knowing tools makes not much sense. I wish there was more in this course to implement.

By Demi

Apr 26, 2017

Some detail of the Quiz and course project were not mentioned in those video courses, it made me have to google or find out the answer in other ways. But through this, I did learned more .

By Samiksha S

Jun 29, 2020

Good course for beginners to data science world.

However some more application questions must be added in each section to acquaint the learners with a thorough knowledge and understanding.

By Juan D M

Oct 20, 2017

Describe aspectos básicos para la utilización de herramientas, tipo de preguntas y datos que debe manejar un científico de datos; es un buen abre bocas para el resto de la especialización.

By Camila T J

Jul 14, 2020

In generall it was a good course, but sometimes the instructions weren't sufficiently clear to me, and I had to figure things on my own which didn't always resulted in a positive outcome.

By Léa F

Jul 23, 2017

Good introduction, although the teacher spoke in a very low voice (it was sometimes hard/impossible to catch what he said) and some of the videos could have been a little more exhaustive.

By Zach D

Sep 29, 2016

A nice slow intro to Coursera, but not a ton of actual content. Good to get your feet wet, but skippable if you are familiar with the basics of the toolbox or taking courses on Coursera.

By Daniel P

Feb 8, 2021

It was a good introduction to RStudio and data science, however, the videos seems a bit fast for me to get every task done in par. The reading section after the videos helped me greatly.

By Huaxin W

May 18, 2018

Very simple and easy-going. A good instruction to the very beginner of the data science and programming. If some topics could be discussed in a bit more details, I would more appreciate.

By Vivek I

Dec 15, 2016

The Data Scientist's Toolbox is a good introduction into Data Science specialization and gives a glimpse of what can be expected from the other modules. Looking forward to other modules.

By Vojtěch K

Feb 2, 2016

It is unfortunate that I was only able to audit this course and not take it for free without the Coursera certificate, as it is currently not possible for me to pay for the whole course.