Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
31,964 ratings
6,819 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

Filter by:

4901 - 4925 of 6,689 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Krishna C T

May 21, 2016

Good Introductory Class, all though I think some of the videos were too fast. Need to provide more explanation on some of the slides.

By Pedro M

Nov 3, 2019

Nice overview of the conceptual ideas of Data Science and presentation of some practical tools needed to solve problems in the area.

By Ravi S

Jul 5, 2019

Great Insight to data science. More Professional less theoretical. Little more in-depth in R would make course perfect for beginner.

By Saruul A

Dec 18, 2017

very quick course just to get your workspace set up; if you are already familiar with github or rstudio, no need to check the videos

By John F

Sep 13, 2017

On our way to the Data Science certification. Nicely structured format and presentation of lectures, tasks, supplementary material.

By Damon G

Mar 8, 2017

Things got a bit hazy when it came to adding the .md file to our data science repo on GitHub. Other than that I enjoyed the course.

By Hanqi Z

Jul 12, 2017

This is generally speaking a good course. The only problem is that the instructions are sometimes not detailed enough for beginners

By Avinash P

Jun 24, 2016

A great starting. Perfect for providing a foundation. However, instead of slideshow, a few real-time videos would have been better.

By sachinkumar

Jun 7, 2016

This course has given me a basic knowledge of different tools and statistical techniques that data scientist use to play with data.

By Moemen A

Mar 5, 2016

An essential introduction to the rest of the specialization program, but not too much information included in the course by itself.

By Danny N

Jul 19, 2021

A great introduction course to the world of data science, Github and R programming. Easy for a beginner like myself to understand.

By Katherine H

Jan 4, 2021

This was a great course to get set-up and an initial introduction to all the important programs and software that interact with R.

By Ansh M

Nov 30, 2017

The introduction to Git and GitHub could have been a bit less theoretical and more practical. Overall, a good introductory course.

By Jingfang

Jul 3, 2017

I hope the content of this course would cover more materials during lecture. But overall, I am very happy with this course so far.

By Ritu T

Nov 6, 2016

Ideal course to get you started for a data science specialisation. Informs about and helps you install all the required softwares.

By Vinay

Jun 1, 2016

Overall, I liked being exposed to Github and GitBash. I felt this course gave me a broad overview of what to expect in the future!

By Umair A K

May 8, 2020

Even though the content was good, but this is more like a 2 week course. I finished it in 4 days spending on average 1 hour daily

By Kumari N A

May 21, 2017

If you are completely new to Data Science, then this is very good course to start with. All the basics are explained very nicely.

By Marco A R

Nov 16, 2016

Me pareció un buen curso introductorio donde conoces herramientas que se supone te ayudaran en tu carera como científico de datos

By vishal b

Oct 16, 2016

More number of hours are given than required. Good learning for non IT field people. For people with IT background, its too easy.

By Jon b

Feb 17, 2016

A little basic, but necessary to get everything you need set up for the next classes in the series. And it does that well enough.

By Surya P T

Sep 12, 2018

Good course and it's great that Coursera has designed this course separately.

Enjoying the journey of data science with Coursera.

By Alexandra D

Jun 28, 2016

Would have bee nice if it included a bit more "in Git" tutorials, but that is easily figured out when left to one's own devices.

By Nica P

Feb 21, 2021

Great introduction to Data Science and useful tools. The AI voice took some time to get used to, but overall a good experience.