Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
32,171 ratings
6,875 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filter by:

4951 - 4975 of 6,767 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By jaclyn

Jun 11, 2020

Helpful set-up course. Not too meaty & definitely didn't take 4 weeks but smart to have everything set up before diggin into the rest.

By Samavedam M P

Jun 1, 2018

Good beginner's course to start learning advance topics like R programming, etc. Very useful tools such as Git-hub were taught simply.

By Arti

Apr 16, 2018

Very basic stuff - if you've ever done any coding before & have even a rudimentary knowledge of Git/Github - you can skip this course.

By Ennio D L

Nov 21, 2017

Una introducción interesante y valiosa para los interesados en incursionar y tener a la mano las herramientas básicas de Data Science.

By Manasvita J

May 7, 2017

A broad overview of a vast subject. It gives its students a good platform to get started on learning the nitty-gritty of Data Science.

By Vijay P

Apr 17, 2017

Gives an excellent overview to Data science course and what it take to become a Data scientist. Well organised videos and instructions

By Diana R

Jun 14, 2021

AI voiceover isn't the best but I understand why it's used. On the heavier sections it would mispronouce commands and go too quickly.

By Enrique E

Mar 11, 2021

When describing steps to follow in R studio, or to link to Github, the video is impossible to follow, and the wirtten form is better.

By Marc-Antoine G

Apr 19, 2019

Pretty basic (from a software developer perspective) but can see the utility for newcomers to programming and informatics in general!

By Suwei W

Oct 7, 2018

This is my first data science class. I learned something about the tools, hopefully I will find them useful in the following classes.

By Gregory R B

Jun 19, 2016

Good, but would like a step by step walkthrough for MAC/Windows when setting up the final assignment to ensure everything is correct.

By Krishna C T

May 21, 2016

Good Introductory Class, all though I think some of the videos were too fast. Need to provide more explanation on some of the slides.

By Pedro M

Nov 3, 2019

Nice overview of the conceptual ideas of Data Science and presentation of some practical tools needed to solve problems in the area.

By Ravi S

Jul 5, 2019

Great Insight to data science. More Professional less theoretical. Little more in-depth in R would make course perfect for beginner.

By Saruul A

Dec 18, 2017

very quick course just to get your workspace set up; if you are already familiar with github or rstudio, no need to check the videos

By John F

Sep 13, 2017

On our way to the Data Science certification. Nicely structured format and presentation of lectures, tasks, supplementary material.

By Damon G

Mar 8, 2017

Things got a bit hazy when it came to adding the .md file to our data science repo on GitHub. Other than that I enjoyed the course.

By Hanqi Z

Jul 12, 2017

This is generally speaking a good course. The only problem is that the instructions are sometimes not detailed enough for beginners

By Avinash P

Jun 24, 2016

A great starting. Perfect for providing a foundation. However, instead of slideshow, a few real-time videos would have been better.

By Sachin K

Jun 7, 2016

This course has given me a basic knowledge of different tools and statistical techniques that data scientist use to play with data.

By Moemen A

Mar 5, 2016

An essential introduction to the rest of the specialization program, but not too much information included in the course by itself.

By Danny N

Jul 19, 2021

A great introduction course to the world of data science, Github and R programming. Easy for a beginner like myself to understand.

By Katherine H

Jan 4, 2021

This was a great course to get set-up and an initial introduction to all the important programs and software that interact with R.

By Ansh M

Nov 30, 2017

The introduction to Git and GitHub could have been a bit less theoretical and more practical. Overall, a good introductory course.