Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
31,766 ratings
6,762 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

Filter by:

4976 - 5000 of 6,621 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Cathryn S

Jun 5, 2016

Fine as a general introduction, but not a lot to it. Good explanations of how to use github and get set up.

By Abhinay R

May 26, 2016

A very good intro course but must be priced lesser when compared to the other courses in the specialization.

By Seung J L

Feb 8, 2021

Some of the material could be updated even more, but in general a good intro to a data scientist's tookbox.

By mohamed y

Apr 11, 2020

Great introductory to the data science tool box and its usage and benefits __ data science 0 course really

By Miryam A M C

Feb 10, 2020

Algunas partes del curso deberían tener mas ejercicios para practicar lo visto y reforzar mas lo aprendido

By Dushyant B

Mar 4, 2017

A good course to set up your software tool kit before you start your dive into Data Science Specialization

By Ihab A

Jul 13, 2016

This course is perfect for really newbie. However, it also answers the question of "What is Data Science?"

By harish s

Dec 1, 2020

Good and clear explanation. if more assignments were given for practice, to would have been more helpful.

By Meagan V

Apr 13, 2020

Easy to follow for the most part. A couple of things were outdated so I had to figure them out on my own.

By Chen S

Dec 29, 2019

the course omits some important things like how to download MikTex and how to use it to open an rmd file

By Anku N M

Jan 9, 2019

Course was good, but would have been nice to have some TA/professor oversight of the discussion forums...

By Adam S

Feb 8, 2017

So far so good, Git was a bit difficult to get going but I'm excited to continue with the specialization.

By Michael M

Jan 30, 2016

A good course for identifying the field of data science and introducing the computing tools of the trade.

By Bernard O

Jan 22, 2021

A simple introduction to R and data science. You have given me the appetite to know more and learn more.

By Guillermo C P

Jul 23, 2020

Sometimes beginners MAC's users get a bit lost due to many explanations are only for Windows environment

By Thomas Z Y

May 6, 2017

Straightforward, and I know what to expect for the next few chapters with John H University. Thank you!!

By Filipe M

Aug 28, 2016

Good introduction to data science, however it should have more details and practical examples about Git.

By Eileen S

Feb 9, 2016

Super basic introduction. I liked the last section reviewing data science methods and conceptual ideas.

By Donghee L

Jan 31, 2016

I think more detail statements are needed on PDF.

Because I'm not good at listening, so I studied by PDF.

By Shriya I

Aug 12, 2020

Extremely informative & interesting, Instructions can be followed with ease. Worth the time and effort.

By John E F

Dec 4, 2019

Excelente curso, porem diferentemente da descrição, existe legenda em português, apenas para um modulo.

By Satya P

Oct 2, 2018

Structure, content and step by step practice was good. Interface to browse the courses could be better.

By Jay G

Mar 24, 2016

Good start, looking to dig in more, as I already have a background in stats data analysis and data viz.

By Vicent G

Jan 27, 2016

Quite simple. It could be more engaging.

When downloading PDF slides, links in them should be clickable.

By Cristiano L

Aug 11, 2020

Good and objective course. Gives the basics about data science and how to get started with R software.