Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
32,171 ratings
6,875 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filter by:

5001 - 5025 of 6,766 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Sorasa E

Mar 9, 2019

The content is amazing and easy to understand for the new student. However, the assignment question/instruction is confusing.

By Stuti M

May 14, 2018

This is a short term starter for those willing to indulge in the world of data science. The course is crisp and to the point.

By Taimoor G

Mar 12, 2018

It's too easy for 1 month course.

Make it harder and make it shorter. Perhaps combine intro to R programming and this course?

By Graham C D

Dec 5, 2016

Great course to get you setup - don't expect to learn anything besides getting the correct software and file sharing profile.

By Hande K

Mar 26, 2020

Very useful course to start learning data science. Explains things clearly. Some explanations could have been more detailed.

By Adam D

Aug 22, 2019

Good overall. It would have been helpful to have more context or examples for the modules on version control and R Markdown.

By Deleted A

Aug 10, 2016

Great course that allows an introduction into the world of the data scientist. Some instructional videos could be improved.

By Melinda T

Mar 29, 2016

Good course. Short and sweet. Nice to be able to access future weeks' lessons and finish ahead of schedule if you wish to.

By Dr. A R

Jun 7, 2020

Amazing and very simply going course. Learnt the basics of Rstudio and GitHub in a very simple manner. Thank you organisers

By Susan S

Mar 18, 2020

Great introductory. Some of the instructions were a bit vague at times - instructions RE code could have been more precise.

By ANKIT N

Jan 2, 2019

Course is in simplified way. student can easily understand the whole course. Makers made best efforts in making this course

By Qing Y

Sep 4, 2017

The quiz is mostly so'm'ething about the history or cha'ra'c'te'ristics of R or something else. No much knowledge provided.

By Srikanth S

May 27, 2017

Was a great introduction. However, i felt, some of the lectures was very fast and i had to pause it constantly to try out..

By yaw o a

Jan 2, 2017

Quite a fast course. Material is a lot though and would be quite daunting for someone completely new to this sort of stuff.

By Ada

Nov 14, 2016

I found the way in which John Hopkins present the course, very valuable. Well structured, although the pace is quite fast !

By Luis C H

Sep 13, 2016

Maybe too easy for some people, but is ok to ensure a minimum level in order to enroll other courses in the specialization.

By Bijan S

Jan 30, 2016

Well. I don't think this could be categorized as a course. You can think of it as table of content for the specialization.

By ankit g

May 17, 2020

good for all those who want to start from scratch, but if you know R programming then it has no use for you except GitHub.

By Kris H

Jun 7, 2019

Much of this was review material, but the structure was such that it would be effective for learning as a first-time user.

By hoo y s

Apr 24, 2016

a brief and yet organized and good resource for review old skills i have learnt and new skills that can acquire from here.

By Jason B

Apr 21, 2020

A great little course for anyone who, like me, is curious to know if data science is something they might want to pursue

By Deleted A

Apr 9, 2020

I thought it was good until Week three. I found some of the directions on how to download/set up programs very confusing.

By Francisco J A O

Jan 30, 2020

Really gets me, so I renew my interest in learning new things, It´s a well implemented course to introduce you to RStudio

By Deepak J N

Aug 6, 2017

It forms the base. The examples should be recent and since its more from Bio stats etc, sometimes gets a bit confusing. .

By Deleted A

Mar 2, 2017

This is a very good introductory course for all those who are eager learn about Data Science. It gives you good insights.