Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
32,666 ratings
6,970 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filter by:

5176 - 5200 of 6,861 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Chen S

Dec 29, 2019

the course omits some important things like how to download MikTex and how to use it to open an rmd file

By Anku N M

Jan 9, 2019

Course was good, but would have been nice to have some TA/professor oversight of the discussion forums...

By Adam S

Feb 8, 2017

So far so good, Git was a bit difficult to get going but I'm excited to continue with the specialization.

By Michael M

Jan 30, 2016

A good course for identifying the field of data science and introducing the computing tools of the trade.

By Bernard O

Jan 22, 2021

A simple introduction to R and data science. You have given me the appetite to know more and learn more.

By Guillermo C P

Jul 23, 2020

Sometimes beginners MAC's users get a bit lost due to many explanations are only for Windows environment

By Thomas Z Y

May 6, 2017

Straightforward, and I know what to expect for the next few chapters with John H University. Thank you!!

By Filipe M

Aug 28, 2016

Good introduction to data science, however it should have more details and practical examples about Git.

By Eileen S

Feb 9, 2016

Super basic introduction. I liked the last section reviewing data science methods and conceptual ideas.

By Donghee L

Jan 31, 2016

I think more detail statements are needed on PDF.

Because I'm not good at listening, so I studied by PDF.

By Shriya I

Aug 12, 2020

Extremely informative & interesting, Instructions can be followed with ease. Worth the time and effort.

By John E F

Dec 4, 2019

Excelente curso, porem diferentemente da descrição, existe legenda em português, apenas para um modulo.

By Satya P

Oct 2, 2018

Structure, content and step by step practice was good. Interface to browse the courses could be better.

By Jay G

Mar 24, 2016

Good start, looking to dig in more, as I already have a background in stats data analysis and data viz.

By Vicent G

Jan 27, 2016

Quite simple. It could be more engaging.

When downloading PDF slides, links in them should be clickable.

By Cristiano L

Aug 11, 2020

Good and objective course. Gives the basics about data science and how to get started with R software.

By Brandon W

May 23, 2020

Good course. I felt the Git course went a bit too quickly (and I have experience with Git and Github).

By Sanidhya S

Dec 21, 2018

Great cousre for starting in the data science since, it contains the installation and usage of tools .

By Danylo K

Sep 10, 2018

From the begining of the course thats difficult to catch structure if you are new to the Data science.

By Russ L

Apr 14, 2018

More direct examples would be nice. Kinda like what they do on Data School. Otherwise very well done!

By Aliaa M A

Nov 30, 2017

Brief and Excellent! Content great for anyone getting into software development not just Data Analysis

By santiago R

Jun 30, 2017

Nice Course. Important to have a general idea about what is necessary and also useful for data science

By Matthew S

Sep 5, 2016

great intro to stats concepts for data science and the programs. No real coding taught in this though.

By Victoria S

May 26, 2016

Helpful for people with no experience on the subject matter. Very straight forward and easy to follow.

By Saul H

Jul 8, 2020

Really good. Just some minor issues with the automated voice and some typos. All in all great though.