Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
32,491 ratings
6,933 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

Filter by:

6276 - 6300 of 6,822 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Brandon D

Feb 16, 2017

Very basic overview of the tools and installation of them. Should be an optional course rather than part of the specialization.

By Baktygul A

Jul 9, 2020

Peer-review assignment questions leave out some assumptions; it took me a while to figure out what exactly was expected of me.

By Anmol A

Jun 25, 2018

This course was a beginner level course and the difficulty level was quite low and in depth detail should have been provided.

By David R

Sep 4, 2017

Extremely basic, should likely be a pre-req for non CS/IT types but could easily be summarized for more experienced students.

By Lluís G

Sep 2, 2016

It is a good introductory course, but it could be optional for people with some experience in the field, as it is very basic.

By Alberto G M

Feb 8, 2016

The real basics of data analysis. The course is not bad I would just say it may be too simple even for an introductory course

By Rajeev R J

Sep 15, 2018

Didn't get an awful lot from this course. The videos have a lot of information which are not directly related to the course.

By Bob D

Feb 5, 2016

This is a good introductory course to some of the tools but it doesn't go into the details of R programming or Data Science.

By Чмуров М В

Sep 21, 2019

не представляет ценности в качестве отдельного от специализации курса. весь курс является просто введением по специализации

By 현 허

Dec 22, 2017

It was too short and too easy, even though I didn't know how to use git. Only thing I learned is how to use git and github.

By Yuchen Z

Mar 26, 2016

Only include very basic contents, doesn't need 4 weeks to finish this course. More like a one or two day induction session.

By Marie-Morgane P

Dec 4, 2016

Basic introduction to the specialization. It was way too simple for me since I already have knowledge in machine learning.

By Calvin K

Dec 10, 2019

Please get rid of robot voice, it's awful.

Aside from that, very helpful and informative for preparation in other courses.

By natanael m d l

Sep 15, 2019

This course is very introductory and very short, so that most of the things presented in the course were familiar to me.

By Daniel T

Nov 7, 2016

illustration is not enough for the commands. More schematic description could help understanding the course much better.

By Mingyu Z

Sep 18, 2016

It is not clear enough for a greenhand to understand, especially about installing Git on Mac or pushing files to Github.

By Samuel S

Apr 15, 2016

Very light workload if you're technically competent. I would have liked to have had more to do with the math and such...

By Lerata M

Dec 30, 2020

I found the introduction fruitful particularly to a person who knows nothing about Data Science, keep up the good work.

By Tanay J

Apr 28, 2020

The course is very preliminary. I think more programming should be thought in this course. It's just very theoritical.

By Christopher F

Jun 11, 2018

Content is great for an absolute beginner. For anyone on the intermediate end of the spectrum it will seem very basic.

By Jad A

Nov 13, 2016

Quite basic - but good overview of general theory. Don't do this on its own, it's quite useless as a standalone module

By fares a

Sep 8, 2017

its just an introduction to R please make it more explanation to R even if there course about it

and thanks very much

By Lucas P

Apr 4, 2016

The course accomplished its goal. Nevertheless, since it is a paid course I expected to find more theoretical content

By DK

Oct 24, 2016

very helpful but i think it is too short, i need some more concepts to fully understand what these tools used for

By Morgan D

Apr 18, 2016

Lots of very general review information, not much new stuff. Did force me to start getting familiar with gitHub.