Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
31,743 ratings
6,754 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

Filter by:

6551 - 6575 of 6,614 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Chris M

Feb 13, 2016

Not really enough content to be a course in it's own right, should be additional material as is useful, but definitely not a requirement.

By Attila T

Jan 24, 2016

It is really basic course, I expected much more even if this is offered only for $29.. (the cheapest course in the specialisation)

By Wei D

Apr 29, 2020

I think a few people like to hear the mechanical voice. Some videos have really low resolution and it is hard to see the codes.

By Marcelo X d N

Dec 25, 2017

Eu achei o site desorganizado, não sei se concluí ou não o curso. Não sei se executei todas as tarefas ou não. Decepcionante

By Valentin D

Jan 19, 2016

Completely useless. Just a number of boring videos of what you may possibly learn in Data Science Specialization.

By Francisco S

Mar 27, 2016

Not worth the price. Extremely basic stuff spread very thin over too much time just to be able to charge for it.

By Gianluca M

Jun 9, 2016

Useless. The information content is close to zero. Just some blah-blah and a long tutorial to install software.

By Luke S

Jun 4, 2016

Way too basic for the price - almost no content - this is just setup - I resent paying for setup instructions.

By John B

Nov 11, 2018

Horrible explanation regarding push and pull requests. Would not recommend this course to my friends.

By Gary N A

May 8, 2017

Poorly organized. Poorly communicated. No reliable source of assistance with technical problems.

By Stefan S

Oct 31, 2020

Would wish this course was not a requirement for specialization. Easy, and not giving anything.

By Omar A

Jul 22, 2020

An online non-credit course authorized by Johns Hopkins University and offered through

Coursera

By Georgios K

Dec 7, 2019

The courses are not by a real instructor/professor but are scripts read out loud by a machine.

By Tony W

Apr 11, 2016

The course does not warrant the price, it has way too little information. Very dissatisfied.

By Parth G

Jan 10, 2016

It's a course which is designed to preview the other courses. It could easily be eliminated

By Espen R

May 31, 2017

This course could be summed up in one page or so. Very little content.

GitHub lessons good.

By Jordana Z

Aug 24, 2020

The robot voice is terrible. This needs to be fixed. I wish it was an actual person.

By Wesley M

Nov 28, 2020

I finished this course in one day. It is ridiculous as it is poorly structured.

By unteachable

May 17, 2016

By far to expansive for what you get. Anyway, thanks for the hint about swirl.

By Samuel M M

May 8, 2020

Horiible, me volvieron a cobrar un cuando ya lo había terminado. Una estafa

By Bernard

Sep 9, 2020

This course was extremely exciting for me. I enjoy every bit of the course.

By AUNG K

Dec 2, 2016

Not worth 29$ considering you could take away very little from this course.

By Laura A G G

Sep 25, 2020

No quiero terminar el curso porque no me gustó la metodología del curso.

By Pietro B

Jan 26, 2017

I have no idea why you called it course, since there was nothing inside.

By reco g

May 4, 2020

I do not recommend the whole program for anyone, it is a waste of time.