Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
32,164 ratings
6,874 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

Filter by:

6626 - 6650 of 6,753 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Mustafa A

Apr 29, 2020

it's not interactive at all !

By Nestor S

Mar 30, 2016

I didn't get much out of it

By amaru f

Apr 25, 2018

i think was ok to start up

By Francisco G H

Feb 9, 2016

The course is very simple

By Ligeng X

Sep 24, 2018

Waaaaaaaaaaaaay too easy

By Brian B

Apr 11, 2016

Extremely Git centric

By Dimitris K

Nov 24, 2016

Too easy, very basic

By kf F

Mar 17, 2016

Too short and easy.

By Nicolas S

May 18, 2017

Not really useful.

By Lewis H

May 2, 2016

Sound is too quiet

By Nicholas B

Mar 17, 2016

Barely any depth

By Josh H

Mar 2, 2018

Not very useful

By Markus K

Mar 10, 2016

Way too basic.

By Thong K C

Oct 13, 2016

Too simple.

By Abhishek K

Mar 28, 2018

Very basic

By Vlad D

Feb 26, 2017

Too basic!

By Doug E

Jul 27, 2016

Very basic

By Fan Q

Feb 28, 2016

Useless

By Andrew

Jun 28, 2021

Ver

By Ashish S

Jan 24, 2017

ok

By EDDY L

May 8, 2016

B

By Deleted A

Jun 12, 2017

The first week has one assignment: a five question quiz that reviews the syllabus, course/program design and purpose. As someone with multiple degrees and a PhD significant other - both of us work, and are successful, in data analysis and research. My career is centered around Business Intelligence. I was hoping to engage a program that would help me develop R programming skills and build my skill set. After watching all the videos twice, taking notes, completing almost five hours of online research into the topics that I encountered during my first attempt at the quiz, having my significant other review the topics & questions with me, I still failed to pass the quiz after ten attempts. Hence, a syllabus quiz is my roadblock to moving forward in the program. This is not pride, I am not imagining myself to be a genius who is insulted by this failure. Frankly, no one is stupid enough to have not been able to comprehend a syllabus and course desi

By Joseph B

Nov 21, 2020

The Amazon Polly robot voice has to go. It may make it easier to update the course on the instructors' end, but it degrades the quality of the course from the students' perspective to a degree that is not even close to acceptable. I'm surprised they are trying to get away with it despite the primitive state this technology is still in.

As for the course content; this is certainly not for a beginner. Not because the content is difficult, but because the way they teach it is terrible for someone who isn't familiar with R already. They just shoot a million concepts and definitions at you with short descriptions and little examples. I tried to take this course years ago as a beginner and it was so discouraging. Now that I have a few years experience, it is a good refresher and nice to pick up a couple new tips. That's all it's good for though, a refresher.

By Andre P

May 3, 2016

most part of this course is a duplicate of the "R programming" course.

microphone/sound of the teacher quality is very bad.

not original, boring, dividing this in "4 weeks" is too ridiculously long, this should be done in 1 week to enable users to take more time for the "R programming".

this course should be free. don't lose too much time on it, it's doable in a day or a weekend and move on to "R programming".

asking for so much money to see how to install R and github is a shame.

feels like this course has been added just to have a round number for the specialization.

even the survey in the end asking for feedback starts with a question not adapted to moment it's been asked "did you get a certificate?" of course i did not as i've just finish the course and now wait for my peers to review my final submission.

By J

Dec 28, 2020

Very unimpressed with the justification of leaning on automated voice instruction for updated content, when the content is still outdated. For anyone who prefers human interaction, intonation, a sense of engagement with visual queues, will be disappointed. This misses the mark as having any merit beyond a reading manual. In fact, a book is outlined more effectively, because the instruction is approached with reading in mind, which is not the case in the written form provided. Truly disappointed and will not continue with future Johns Hopkins course offerings.