Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
32,453 ratings
6,924 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filter by:

6276 - 6300 of 6,812 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By 현 허

Dec 22, 2017

It was too short and too easy, even though I didn't know how to use git. Only thing I learned is how to use git and github.

By Yuchen Z

Mar 26, 2016

Only include very basic contents, doesn't need 4 weeks to finish this course. More like a one or two day induction session.

By Marie-Morgane P

Dec 4, 2016

Basic introduction to the specialization. It was way too simple for me since I already have knowledge in machine learning.

By Calvin K

Dec 10, 2019

Please get rid of robot voice, it's awful.

Aside from that, very helpful and informative for preparation in other courses.

By natanael m d l

Sep 15, 2019

This course is very introductory and very short, so that most of the things presented in the course were familiar to me.

By Daniel T

Nov 7, 2016

illustration is not enough for the commands. More schematic description could help understanding the course much better.

By Mingyu Z

Sep 18, 2016

It is not clear enough for a greenhand to understand, especially about installing Git on Mac or pushing files to Github.

By Samuel S

Apr 15, 2016

Very light workload if you're technically competent. I would have liked to have had more to do with the math and such...

By Lerata M

Dec 30, 2020

I found the introduction fruitful particularly to a person who knows nothing about Data Science, keep up the good work.

By Tanay J

Apr 28, 2020

The course is very preliminary. I think more programming should be thought in this course. It's just very theoritical.

By Christopher F

Jun 11, 2018

Content is great for an absolute beginner. For anyone on the intermediate end of the spectrum it will seem very basic.

By Jad A

Nov 13, 2016

Quite basic - but good overview of general theory. Don't do this on its own, it's quite useless as a standalone module

By fares a

Sep 8, 2017

its just an introduction to R please make it more explanation to R even if there course about it

and thanks very much

By Lucas P

Apr 4, 2016

The course accomplished its goal. Nevertheless, since it is a paid course I expected to find more theoretical content

By DK

Oct 24, 2016

very helpful but i think it is too short, i need some more concepts to fully understand what these tools used for

By Morgan D

Apr 18, 2016

Lots of very general review information, not much new stuff. Did force me to start getting familiar with gitHub.

By Aditya K R

Mar 3, 2019

Super basic and boring stuff. Mostly talks about R Studio and GIT. Not of much help to those with IT experience.

By Ahmad A

Oct 7, 2018

the voice is too low and the level of instructing are not for beginners, but with a lot of effort you could pass

By Rafael T M

Apr 7, 2019

Very introductive. I hoped more about this course. There are interesting stuff but I'd rather more work volume.

By sérgio C

Jan 16, 2017

Github exposition is a little complicated. I believe it could be more detailed. But the rest is very well done!

By Deleted A

Dec 29, 2016

Doing this course first doesn t make you anticipate how difficult could this speciality in the next courses :p

By PATHIK C

Oct 13, 2016

There is practically nothing in this course to learn. It can be termed as a introduction to the specialization

By Andrey T

Sep 6, 2016

The course is too easy to be called a course. Just an easy intro, which you can complete in a couple of days.

By Tamir L

Jul 25, 2016

Very short, easy and introductory course. Gives a nice high altitude overview of the subject but little else.

By James M

Feb 24, 2016

Not useful by itself, but grudgingly necessary to get you ready for subsequent courses in the specialization.