Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
32,171 ratings
6,875 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filter by:

6576 - 6600 of 6,759 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Andrew T

Jan 3, 2018

Basic setup of R and Git.

Prefer Treehouse's integrated workshop structure for tasks like these and/or youtube.

By Matthew W

Apr 1, 2016

Extremely remedial. Not worth the time or cost on it's own, unfortunately it's required for the specialization.

By Owen I

Nov 15, 2016

Is this entire course going to be watching videos of powerpoint slideshows, wrapped in a rather buggy website?

By SAI V K

Jun 2, 2016

they made this many courses as they can earn more money.I dont think this course should me taught seperately

By Andrew W

Apr 20, 2017

Very, very, very basic intro. The entire 4 weeks could have (and should have) been condensed into 1 week.

By Paolo D

Nov 7, 2016

I didnt learn anything about data science. I could have learned how to install all those tools by myself

By Andrew I

Sep 17, 2016

There just wasn't much to this class. It's not bad information, but it could have been done in one week.

By Agustin G

Jun 20, 2016

It's an extremely basic introduction... which doesn't help in much for the next session (R Programming)

By Eva B

Jan 28, 2018

OK course. A brief overview, but the sequence of material isn't that well thought out in my opinion.

By Christopher W P

Feb 9, 2018

VERY basic course, some of the week's assignments were simply installing software for future use...

By Anit B

Jun 27, 2016

Introductory Course mostly around installation and setup for the other courses in Specializations

By Sergey I

Mar 10, 2016

Maybe, I am already somehow experienced, but I think that the time I spent on that was a waste :/

By Brian F

Jun 15, 2017

This course is very basic and takes nowhere near 1 month. I spent about 3 hours in total on it.

By Nayef

Mar 30, 2017

i feel that the course need more explanation .. i got really lost in the begging of the HW

By Raviprakash R S

Feb 13, 2017

This module is just enough material for 1 or 2 lectures with "How to get started" notes..

By Abhijeet S

Oct 17, 2020

Course is okayish, automated voice is bit annoying and some contents are not up to date

By Mike J

Jan 26, 2016

Good introduction of what is to come, but nothing too provocative or thought provoking.

By Urmil T

Aug 3, 2020

Automated Voice is not helpful as it doesn't let you concentrate and makes you sleepy.

By Mohamed H

Aug 31, 2020

The automated voice is extremely annoying but apart from that everything is good

By Abdallah A

Mar 2, 2019

The instructor is an automated speaker, it was too bad, I couldn't focus at all.

By 潇湘夜雨动清愁

May 7, 2016

the speech is too fast to be catch up with and doesn't have much useful contents

By matthieu c

Jun 3, 2017

Absolutely interesting, but a loss of time if someone already knows the basics.

By Scott T

Jan 5, 2016

Didn't provide much info beyond the basics of git. Could have skipped this one.

By Patrick B

Jun 30, 2016

Not sure this should be a course that is charged ....

on to the next one now.

By Anna D

Mar 4, 2018

It's great to learn how to use GitHub but this hardly qualifies as a course.