Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
31,942 ratings
6,815 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools
(243 Reviews)
Introductory course
(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

SF
Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

LR
Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

Filter by:

6601 - 6625 of 6,689 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Hsiang-Yu Y

May 25, 2017

I don't have comment on the data scientist's toolbox. However, the payment mechanism of coursera is terribly designed.

I was continually paying the course without pre notice. The worse thing is, the coursera doesn't return the money after I cancel. At the same time, they don't allow me to enter the class. Really terrible.

By Dimosthenis S

May 13, 2016

This course was a loss of time and money. Except from week 3 material, the rest can be found on the internet and should be required by everyone who wants to take that specialization. This course doesn't worth it, it's just to take extra money from anyone who wants to learn about Data Science.

By Deleted A

Aug 21, 2017

I had a very bad experience with this whole course set-up. Especially the peer-grading, you have no insight on why they assigned this score to you - nothing.. ..especially when you know you did your course work correctly.. i will never come back to coursera.. waste of money !!!

By Jorge G B T

Jul 10, 2016

Complete waste of time. This should be a course on its own, and much less be charged for. This should have been the 1st week of an actual class. This only dealt with installing a couple of software tools. Hopefully the following courses will teach something worthwhile.

By Hugo G G

May 30, 2021

The content might be good, but the machine voice in the videos makes the information unbearable to be absorbed, I was unable to complete it. I want to improve my knowledge about Data Science but I will try with another provider. I won't recommend this course.

By Abdelrahman A

May 16, 2017

Very bad course so far. Very little detail and Assignments are very hard to solve. Worst $500 dollars spent in my life, and the course isn't worth even $10!

I'm an online instructor myself and the quality of the course isn't worth its price!

By Louise S

Mar 1, 2017

A simple list of programs that needed to be installed would cover 90% of the course content. Some of this content is also repeated in other courses in the sequence. If you have any technical skills this entire course is extremely tedious.

By joan B

Feb 16, 2016

Although the content is correct, quality models videos and materials is very low, wanted to make all the specialization, but I'm not satisfied with the quality of the course. It's a shame, because the JHU is an excellent University

By Siddharth K

Sep 3, 2020

If you are doing this for certification then go ahead, but if your intention is to learn then this is not a good course. Its absolutely basic and most stuff you can find online without spending any money. Wouldn't recommend.

By Corey H

Jun 26, 2016

In my opinion, most of this information should be free and available as a pre-req. for other classes (installing R Studio).

It was cheap, but in general, I thought I was going to be more out of this course than I did.

By Damo A

Jun 15, 2021

it is confusing to move to next level. Next link is inactive , even after completing the submission, but waiting to complete peer review. But there is no peer review to complete, locking me from forward.

By YOGESH R

Sep 16, 2020

Students generally move towards online course to hear a human explaining them those concepts. This new technique may be time saving for you but it was really annoying and unexpected (almost everything )

By Ryan P T

Aug 20, 2016

$40 is way too much to spend just to learn how to install a couple pieces of software and sign up for a GitHub account. The entire course should have been the first week of the following course.

By Aayush L

Sep 20, 2016

Is this a real course for a data scientist just installing shit and a peer reviewing for that screenshot and forking all repos ...very bad not worth to be with rest course in specialization

By Diana K

May 20, 2019

Good time of day! This course is great! But I can't finish it as I missed deadlines and can't switch session!!! I missed 1 month already because of this bug:(

It's so frustrating...

By Sebastian S C

Apr 10, 2020

Me inscribí en el curso y solicité una ayuda económica porqué supuestamente se dictaba en castellano. Pero esto no es cierto y no puedo avanzar. Por eso mi calificación en baja.

By Pablo A

Feb 15, 2016

Too basic content.

I have not learned anything with this course (installing R and RStudio should not be part of exercises or lectures).

I hope R programming course will be better

By Mahesh K

Sep 15, 2020

This is pure theoretical course,

It's look like a Power Point presentation. Students can not easily understand this.

I do not recommend this type of teaching on Coursera

By Joao P P

May 12, 2016

Some interesting concepts, but way to simplistic in my opinion. Only reason I see to pay for it is the fact that it is a requirement in the Data Science Specialization

By Charlie Z

Apr 8, 2019

Do not take this course if you want to get a job in industry. Python now dominates industry and R is basically obsolete. I will be switching to a course in Python.

By Jonas L

Mar 20, 2016

Certainly not worth paying for this course, only talks about how to install the tools.

Not able to take quizzes when you try to take the course for free.

By Rajat J

Mar 14, 2016

Good introductory course. However, an overkill as a separate course (and hence charging $30 for it). Courses 1 and 2 could have been clubbed together.

By Isaac A G

Apr 23, 2016

It has almost no content and isn't actually useful. I've heard later classes in the series are way tougher, so the ramp up isn't at all good.

By Chris M

Feb 13, 2016

Not really enough content to be a course in it's own right, should be additional material as is useful, but definitely not a requirement.

By Attila T

Jan 24, 2016

It is really basic course, I expected much more even if this is offered only for $29.. (the cheapest course in the specialisation)