Chevron Left
Back to The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
33,148 ratings

About the Course

In this course you will get an introduction to the main tools and ideas in the data scientist's toolbox. The course gives an overview of the data, questions, and tools that data analysts and data scientists work with. There are two components to this course. The first is a conceptual introduction to the ideas behind turning data into actionable knowledge. The second is a practical introduction to the tools that will be used in the program like version control, markdown, git, GitHub, R, and RStudio....
Highlights
Foundational tools

(243 Reviews)

Introductory course

(1056 Reviews)

Top reviews

LR

Sep 7, 2017

It was really insightful, coming from knowing almost nothing about statistics or experimental design, it was easy to understand while not feeling shallow. Just the right amount of information density.

SF

Apr 14, 2020

As a business student from Bangladesh who is aspiring to be a data analyst in near future, I love this course very much. The quizzes and assessments were the places to check how much I exactly learnt.

Filter by:

6776 - 6800 of 6,978 Reviews for The Data Scientist’s Toolbox

By Hrushikesh P

Feb 28, 2021

I had enrolled for the several courses long back still I am unable to appear for the Quizzes(assignments). Kindly look into the matter and resolve it at earliest.

By Allan P

Jul 26, 2016

Very basic even for people with no DS background.

Issues with quiz having passed and results showing as failed. Inability to speed up and move on to next module

By F B

Mar 22, 2020

I didn't like how I couldn't do some of the tasks because some steps were missing from videos and texts and there is no help in the course except the forum

By Javier R L G

Aug 6, 2018

Too slow!! Why waiting for others to finalize and rate, enter enough dummy exercises so that the student can complete the course much sooner. Thanks.

By Francisco B P

Apr 10, 2018

Very superficial knowledge. More pratical exercises are needed and daily problem examples. The use of github and his pratical purpose is not clear.

By Karan B

Oct 9, 2017

Very average do not feel I learnt much. Still not sure if it's over or not since i've submitted a peer review assignment and cannot go any further.

By DIWAAN C C S

Nov 10, 2020

Content is good but the thing to tell is that robots can't express actions, only humans can. So please change these videos as human lectures.

By OMEED R

Dec 30, 2016

I mean, it's replicated in the next classes, and it has silly questions in the practice quizzes. It's not worth it. Just kill this.

By Augusto U

Feb 18, 2016

Very basic introduction to Data Science. Seasoned programmer or other IT professionals are likely to find this course really weak.

By Luis C

Mar 24, 2019

it is a good course but need to show more examples of R. the course should show more empirice examples of the functions of R.

By Harshini S

Nov 22, 2016

A good intro to the tools required for a Data Scientist. However, could cover the usage of the terminal and Rstudio better.

By Yuan L

Nov 12, 2017

Not that useful. There is no need for videos. The content can simply be presented in one single PDF in a time-saving way.

By Dimitry W

Dec 5, 2017

Somewhat interesting to get an idea of what can be done with Git / Github, but I don't feel prepared to actually use it.

By Anna K

Jul 13, 2017

Materials are getting out of date, especially with some of Github's new features. Instruction not clear in some lessons.

By Illan W

Jun 5, 2019

Lectures are ridiculously boring, especially without having any video cam component to bring stimulation to the class.

By Ashwin P

Jul 1, 2017

I do not think it is worth the money as the content is really basic and installation of software can be learnt online.

By Lang Y

Oct 24, 2017

Too little content. Can finish the entire course in a few hours. Could be compressed into the first week of a course

By Adam D

Jun 12, 2017

If you can install R & RStudio and sign up for Github, then you're 80% finished with this course before you start.

By Alex L

Mar 1, 2021

Link does not blue-highlight in the last question and confuses the graders to think that the link does not work.

By Andrew T

Jan 3, 2018

Basic setup of R and Git.

Prefer Treehouse's integrated workshop structure for tasks like these and/or youtube.

By Matthew W

Apr 1, 2016

Extremely remedial. Not worth the time or cost on it's own, unfortunately it's required for the specialization.

By Owen I

Nov 15, 2016

Is this entire course going to be watching videos of powerpoint slideshows, wrapped in a rather buggy website?

By SAI V K

Jun 2, 2016

they made this many courses as they can earn more money.I dont think this course should me taught seperately

By Andrew W

Apr 20, 2017

Very, very, very basic intro. The entire 4 weeks could have (and should have) been condensed into 1 week.