Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
4,129 ratings
691 reviews

About the Course

A good algorithm usually comes together with a set of good data structures that allow the algorithm to manipulate the data efficiently. In this course, we consider the common data structures that are used in various computational problems. You will learn how these data structures are implemented in different programming languages and will practice implementing them in our programming assignments. This will help you to understand what is going on inside a particular built-in implementation of a data structure and what to expect from it. You will also learn typical use cases for these data structures. A few examples of questions that we are going to cover in this class are the following: 1. What is a good strategy of resizing a dynamic array? 2. How priority queues are implemented in C++, Java, and Python? 3. How to implement a hash table so that the amortized running time of all operations is O(1) on average? 4. What are good strategies to keep a binary tree balanced? You will also learn how services like Dropbox manage to upload some large files instantly and to save a lot of storage space!...

Top reviews

DG
May 23, 2016

I like this course very much! Rope is the cleverest task I have ever done! Of course, I hope in future I will work on even more difficult problems, but this is pretty good already for me as a student!

PS
Jul 9, 2020

I think the course content and assignments were great. A suggestion though, it will be more helpful if there are more and varied corner cases that would save time spent in thinking and making cases.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 673 Reviews for Data Structures

By David F

Feb 20, 2017

Another good course, though the last two weeks were a lot harder to follow than the prior ones. Not because the material was that much harder, but the lectures and homeworks were less clear (a lot of descriptions of how to do various operations without explaining why).

By Chirantan s

Jun 14, 2019

This course is very good for those who are trying to learn Data structure. well you have to have some basic knowledge of the programming languages like python, c++, java for the programming assignments.

Very good course for intermediate level. Thank you so much!

By Rasoul A

Aug 15, 2019

It is a very useful course .

I had some problems with implementing the concepts as codes , I think the assignments have to be more easy to code without losing the main idea of them.

I am so happy and thankful for every teacher , they were all amazing :)

By Sergiy Z

Sep 29, 2016

First 3 weeks were great (as in first course of specialization), but material in last two weeks was very hard to understand. Feels some mess in explanations compared to other part of the course. Maybe its because of difficulty of the last weeks topics.

By Tang

Jul 30, 2017

Generally good, Russian lectures's pseudo-code is kind of giving me a hard time, guess I'm just not used to that style of notation, content of week 6 rises a bit steep, people might have hard time keeping up. Problem set was good though.

By Hair

Feb 28, 2021

It's very fun to learn, and the explanations are very clear. But there are some parts that the explanations are still not very clear and I had to rewatch it multiple times to understand it. But overall, the course is very good!

By Tamas V P

Aug 25, 2018

Binary search trees were not explained very well. Programming assignments are usually very easy. Nevertheless, it is a very interesting course and the assignment do help to learn about the topics covered. Useful.

By Narendra S

Nov 1, 2018

Even though I am already aware of all these data structures, I gained some more in-depth knowledge about them, also got introduced to splay trees. definitely worth a try,some of the assignments are really good.

By Pratik C

Mar 4, 2018

Thanks for the course. Content is good and videos are very well done. Only problem is that the assignment problems were gruelling and unfortunately it is hard to get one-to-one contact for help if you get stuck

By Murali T S

Jul 25, 2019

The course is overall quite challenging. The explanations certainly could have been better with a little increase in diagramming stuff out. I had to refer multiple resources to fully understand the concepts.

By Muhammad A H M

Aug 7, 2019

great course with challenging assignments, the problem with the course is the accent of some of the lecturers which make the lecture harder to follow also not enough examples in the lectures

By Ashish A M

Sep 8, 2020

Great course, tests you on a wide spectrum of difficulty. The assignments are crafted to help students learn gradually and build their confidence over Data Structure concepts efficiently.

By Mohammed H

May 15, 2020

In depth mathematical analysis and implementation of important Data Structures. This is a very good course for programmers looking to solve computational problems with first principles.

By Yuhang L

Sep 27, 2020

Overall, it's good. But some chapters like the binary search tree and hash table, the instructions are now very heuristic. I can only understand the content after reading the textbook.

By Matsukatova A

Jul 27, 2018

The course was interesting and challenging for me. The main problem that I had with this course was lack of communication with the teachers. But all the tasks and lectures were great!

By VoChanhHung

Oct 14, 2020

Everything is great except week 6. One of the video has mistakes in its subtitles and the lecturer in this week don't make me feel comfortable to listen to him. His voice is bad!

By vishesh s

Sep 15, 2020

it was a very good cource overall..but the only thing that bothered me was that the thing being taught verses the things being asked in assignments are very very different.!!

By Hari K

May 22, 2020

Neil and daniel's teaching was great compared with the other two lecturers. I am saying this because they have a very low voice which made me lose interest during the class.

By DEEPANSHU G

Jun 19, 2018

The course is good for the beginner it makes the programmer to think all the test cases but instead there should be more no of questions as a part of programming assignment.

By Jeff O

Jun 3, 2017

I don't understand the need for the lecturer to be in the video, it's actually kind of distracting. Also, more worked out examples of the algorithm would be helpful.

By Nachiketa K

May 31, 2020

The lectures and Assignments were very synchronized. However, I felt that some of the portions could have been taught in a better way. Rest the course was awesome.

By Tomasz J

Jan 4, 2017

I've learnt a lot. The content is very interesting but a bit challenging. I had hard times accomplishing all the assignment and put much more work than I expected.

By Rashim N T

Dec 23, 2019

It's a fine course, you'll get a LOT of information but it's up to you to keep it. Personally, I would've liked more types of trees but anyways I am satisfied.

By Sayantan B

Aug 26, 2020

Week 1 to Week 4 Fabulous. Week 5 and 6, based on BST, failed to provide me with proper knowledge. Also couldn't understand AVL trees and Splay trees coding.

By Kevlin

May 20, 2020

Very Interactive Instructors. Learned a lot from this course for my career opportunities. Assignments aptly analyzed the understanding of the subject.