Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
4,413 ratings
757 reviews

About the Course

A good algorithm usually comes together with a set of good data structures that allow the algorithm to manipulate the data efficiently. In this course, we consider the common data structures that are used in various computational problems. You will learn how these data structures are implemented in different programming languages and will practice implementing them in our programming assignments. This will help you to understand what is going on inside a particular built-in implementation of a data structure and what to expect from it. You will also learn typical use cases for these data structures. A few examples of questions that we are going to cover in this class are the following: 1. What is a good strategy of resizing a dynamic array? 2. How priority queues are implemented in C++, Java, and Python? 3. How to implement a hash table so that the amortized running time of all operations is O(1) on average? 4. What are good strategies to keep a binary tree balanced? You will also learn how services like Dropbox manage to upload some large files instantly and to save a lot of storage space!...

Top reviews

PS
Jul 9, 2020

I think the course content and assignments were great. A suggestion though, it will be more helpful if there are more and varied corner cases that would save time spent in thinking and making cases.

KL
Sep 4, 2020

one of the best course i have ever taken on any platform.\n\ni love to learn on coursera platform.\n\ncoursera makes one to think fro solution.\n\nafter completion of course one feel satisfied.

Filter by:

576 - 600 of 746 Reviews for Data Structures

By DEEPANSHU G

Jun 19, 2018

The course is good for the beginner it makes the programmer to think all the test cases but instead there should be more no of questions as a part of programming assignment.

By Jeff O

Jun 3, 2017

I don't understand the need for the lecturer to be in the video, it's actually kind of distracting. Also, more worked out examples of the algorithm would be helpful.

By Nachiketa K

May 31, 2020

The lectures and Assignments were very synchronized. However, I felt that some of the portions could have been taught in a better way. Rest the course was awesome.

By Tomasz J

Jan 4, 2017

I've learnt a lot. The content is very interesting but a bit challenging. I had hard times accomplishing all the assignment and put much more work than I expected.

By Rashim N T

Dec 23, 2019

It's a fine course, you'll get a LOT of information but it's up to you to keep it. Personally, I would've liked more types of trees but anyways I am satisfied.

By Sayantan B

Aug 26, 2020

Week 1 to Week 4 Fabulous. Week 5 and 6, based on BST, failed to provide me with proper knowledge. Also couldn't understand AVL trees and Splay trees coding.

By Kevlin

May 20, 2020

Very Interactive Instructors. Learned a lot from this course for my career opportunities. Assignments aptly analyzed the understanding of the subject.

By Philip G

Jun 27, 2017

great course; challenging and I learnt a lot. only problem is that its quite long, I found it hard to keep my momentum going all the way through!

By Chuan L

Oct 24, 2017

Course materials are very smartly designed but some of the problems are too difficult for a beginner, though the solution could be very smart.

By Ankit S

Nov 30, 2020

Great course with in-depth explanation of the concepts and adequate quizzes and assignments which takes care of all the possible scenarios.

By John F

Apr 19, 2020

Material was great. Only issue was unit testing of programming assignments. The template code should have associated template unit tests.

By Aditya R

Feb 22, 2020

Great course! however, if they provide additional materials to boost your coding style with STL libraries, the course would be top notch.

By yousrijames

Jun 4, 2017

it was an awesome specially the dsu and heap sessions , but i think that the second week was very hard and wasn't useful for me ,, thanks

By Jeffrey W

Mar 20, 2019

Very good. I feel the discussion forums could be a little more active and responsive, but I really enjoyed the course and learned a lot

By Abdelmoncif k

Jul 20, 2021

excellent course , the teachers are great

i didnt give it 5 stars because my 1st week was a bit not clear

but the rest is all good

By Xi Y

Jul 30, 2016

The last two weeks' content may need to be revised to provide a better learning experience. To me, it seems a little bit too fast.

By Pawan k a

Jun 7, 2020

This course has only one weak point that is its mentors and teaching staff who are not actively helping on discussion forums.

By Aryan K

Aug 25, 2021

The course consist of only theory. It would be better if it will includes some coding concepts and examples related to it.

By Pavel O

Nov 9, 2016

Very good course. I would not say its for beginner. But would definitely helps you in the future progress of your career.

By Garima B

Sep 5, 2016

The course material was good and the understanding of the subject was satisfactory . :)

Thank You and keep us updated .

By Srividya S

Sep 12, 2018

This course is very useful for programmers and contains in depth detail of the various commonly used data structures.

By Ankit K

Oct 16, 2020

course is great . Learnt a lot . I will Pratice more. And take up other courses if my time permits. learning is fun.

By zhouning z

Jul 19, 2016

great course but I think the last two modules are a little difficult to understand, especially for beginner like me

By Kalin D D

Nov 22, 2018

More exercise will be better. It will be good you mention red-black tree segment and interval trees B and B+ trees

By Diego A

Sep 9, 2016

Overall the course is good. The last two weeks on AVL and

Splay trees need more examples and felt a bit rushed.