Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
4,128 ratings
690 reviews

About the Course

A good algorithm usually comes together with a set of good data structures that allow the algorithm to manipulate the data efficiently. In this course, we consider the common data structures that are used in various computational problems. You will learn how these data structures are implemented in different programming languages and will practice implementing them in our programming assignments. This will help you to understand what is going on inside a particular built-in implementation of a data structure and what to expect from it. You will also learn typical use cases for these data structures. A few examples of questions that we are going to cover in this class are the following: 1. What is a good strategy of resizing a dynamic array? 2. How priority queues are implemented in C++, Java, and Python? 3. How to implement a hash table so that the amortized running time of all operations is O(1) on average? 4. What are good strategies to keep a binary tree balanced? You will also learn how services like Dropbox manage to upload some large files instantly and to save a lot of storage space!...

Top reviews

DG
May 23, 2016

I like this course very much! Rope is the cleverest task I have ever done! Of course, I hope in future I will work on even more difficult problems, but this is pretty good already for me as a student!

PS
Jul 9, 2020

I think the course content and assignments were great. A suggestion though, it will be more helpful if there are more and varied corner cases that would save time spent in thinking and making cases.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 673 Reviews for Data Structures

By S.Parthasarathy

Mar 10, 2020

One of the best courses I had ever done on Coursera. The course material, instructors were too good.

By Anton B

Jun 5, 2018

Very useful course, highly recommend! I liked in particular part about hashing and its applications.

By Rohit B

Oct 17, 2020

Amazing course with amazing instructors, their teaching methodology and assignments were the best.

By GAUTAM B

Apr 30, 2019

It's become very useful to me, especially now I'm quite comfortable with algorithms and complexity.

By Shubhneet S

Jul 14, 2020

Amazing course! Best part about it were the Programming Assignments which were quite challenging.

By Genci

Jan 27, 2020

It learned me how to make more professional code solution regarding speed and memory consumption.

By Vipul T

Oct 2, 2020

Great course for understanding data structures. Assingments are really tricky but fun to crack.

By Kritika S

Oct 11, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. The questions were really good and helped me think out of the box

By Nestor A

Mar 7, 2017

Excellent material and excellent delivery. Thanks for the time and effort making these courses.

By Prashant K J

Jun 30, 2020

Great course to get an overall idea of the fundamental data strcutures and their applications.

By Dhanraj S K

Dec 17, 2020

Excellent Course! Covers almost every concept in Data Structures & Algorithms. Thanks a lot!

By Francisco A A M

May 16, 2018

Excellent course. It is clear and deep. The programming assignments can be very challenging.

By Kartiki B

Feb 19, 2018

Very succinct summary of data structures with useful problems to get a good grasp of basics!

By Md A R

Sep 28, 2020

Very much helpful to learn the data structures. One of the best courses on data structures.

By Sangeeth S V

Aug 20, 2020

Amazing, in detail analysis of the popular data structures in use. Was able to learn a lot.

By Rishabh A

Jun 8, 2020

Challenging, Interesting Helpful, assignments are the best part and they really help a lot

By IT012-Bhanushali K N

Apr 18, 2020

This was good course .

The assignments was A little hard.

And Thats good about this course.

By g

Jul 27, 2016

Very useful basic data structures, interesting assignments closely related to the course.

By Gautam P

Jun 14, 2016

Great content followed up with good programming exercises. Please keep up the good work!

By Vikas

Mar 29, 2018

The video classes are very useful in which we can learn many new things about the coury

By KUMAR G S

Jan 19, 2018

Great course, excellent material and splendid mathematical backing to all the analysis.

By Connor W

Aug 14, 2017

Covers the essential topics on data structures. The assignments are great for practice.

By KAUSHAL C

Jun 22, 2020

from this course I learnt many basic to hard concepts which enhance the coding skills

By Tuan N

Apr 18, 2019

The professor explained in a clear way. But I don't think first 3 assigments is hard

By shishir j

Feb 20, 2019

Best course to learn data structures for beginners with some knowledge in programming