Chevron Left
Back to Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Structures by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
4,549 ratings
778 reviews

About the Course

A good algorithm usually comes together with a set of good data structures that allow the algorithm to manipulate the data efficiently. In this online course, we consider the common data structures that are used in various computational problems. You will learn how these data structures are implemented in different programming languages and will practice implementing them in our programming assignments. This will help you to understand what is going on inside a particular built-in implementation of a data structure and what to expect from it. You will also learn typical use cases for these data structures. A few examples of questions that we are going to cover in this class are the following: 1. What is a good strategy of resizing a dynamic array? 2. How priority queues are implemented in C++, Java, and Python? 3. How to implement a hash table so that the amortized running time of all operations is O(1) on average? 4. What are good strategies to keep a binary tree balanced? You will also learn how services like Dropbox manage to upload some large files instantly and to save a lot of storage space!...

Top reviews

PS
Jul 9, 2020

I think the course content and assignments were great. A suggestion though, it will be more helpful if there are more and varied corner cases that would save time spent in thinking and making cases.

KL
Sep 4, 2020

one of the best course i have ever taken on any platform.\n\ni love to learn on coursera platform.\n\ncoursera makes one to think fro solution.\n\nafter completion of course one feel satisfied.

Filter by:

751 - 765 of 765 Reviews for Data Structures

By Andrey S

Feb 25, 2018

For some assignments there is ONE tricky test that fails your solution and you are forced to blindly try to figure out this one tricky input(though your solution works for all of the tests you perform in addition to the one listed in the task). You end up spending lots of time trying to figure out this one test case instead of actually learning.

By Jonathan

Oct 12, 2016

Tree exercise had absolutely no relevant video material. Videos give zero context for why data structures are important or when they are used....Should take a lesson from the Stanford course.

By Niklas S

Feb 1, 2020

Extremely difficult for anyone without extensive programming background. Not much guidance available. Would be nice if there was something in between this and the first course in this module

By Supharerk T

May 23, 2016

Worse than the first course. I expected something that is not academic-like explanation, which I can't find it here.

Please bring back those explanations style similar to the first course.

By Viraj D

May 1, 2019

Lack of coding practice and didn't focus on the elaboration of Core Data structure. Better explanation will work.

By Sriparna C

Jun 26, 2019

topics are not explained in detail and the program implementation is not taught

By Rohit V

Jul 31, 2020

i want to read in english for data structure for this courses at this time

By Ping R

Apr 14, 2021

Course 2 week 2 Parallel processing GRADING ERROR test case 2, PYTHON3

By Anh N

Sep 30, 2017

Terrible course, especially on the part of Dr. Kulikov. Terrible!!!

By Ahmad M

Jun 6, 2020

very useful till the AVL trees

it became vague

By padakanti a

May 22, 2020

its really tough for me to do the assements

By RAJ S

Sep 19, 2021

i want to leave this course

By Lei Z

Feb 9, 2019

cannot switch session

By ANANYA P 2

Jul 20, 2021

Boring

By Bharat N

Jun 20, 2020

Bbhh