Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau by University of California, Davis

4.5
stars
5,067 ratings
1,144 reviews

About the Course

In this first course of this specialization, you will discover what data visualization is, and how we can use it to better see and understand data. Using Tableau, we’ll examine the fundamental concepts of data visualization and explore the Tableau interface, identifying and applying the various tools Tableau has to offer. By the end of the course you will be able to prepare and import data into Tableau and explain the relationship between data analytics and data visualization. This course is designed for the learner who has never used Tableau before, or who may need a refresher or want to explore Tableau in more depth. No prior technical or analytical background is required. The course will guide you through the steps necessary to create your first visualization from the beginning based on data context, setting the stage for you to advance to the next course in the Specialization....

Top reviews

DA
Aug 24, 2020

Am glad I learnt a lot from this module, which I know will sharpen my skills for my chosen career path as a data scientist. Am hoping to learn more new skills to improve on my already existing skills.

HR
May 1, 2017

Amazing course, amazing instructors and assignments. I really enjoyed working with Tableau.\n\nYou may experience some confusion for some assignments but don't worry! Just use the discussion boards :)

Filter by:

1101 - 1125 of 1,139 Reviews for Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

By Edward M

Jul 8, 2019

This is really more of a fundamentals of visualisation than a Tableau course. Misleading title aside, the course left quite a bit to be desired and included peer-reviewed assignments which covered content not discussed in the course. Repeated attempts by participants to have the assignments updated and have gone unacknowledged for 2 years from when I took the course in June 2019.

By Jahanzaib Q

Mar 31, 2021

Everything taught in this course could have been learnt for free from the Tableau training video. Also, the peer review grading system is absolutely bogus and no one deserves to have their work graded by an incompetent person who is clicking through your review without even looking at the work. On the plus side, you get a badge that you can add to your linkedin

By Karen V

Nov 30, 2020

I was disappointed with the amount of time that was dedicated to teaching the actual basics of Tableau and basic data visualization best practices. Also, more emphasis was placed on using Twitter and connecting with the data viz community for the last project rather than focusing on the fundamentals of Tableau and visual design.

By luc m

May 6, 2020

Do not take this course. The material has little to do with the present version of Tableau. The data files provided by the instructors actually crashed the latest version of Tableau 2020.2

Furthermore most of the supporting material directs the student to the tutorials provided by Tableau.

This was an absolute waste of my time

By Prateek P

Oct 3, 2019

Poorly organized course. Video lectures were repeated, assignments were ambiguously stated, and quiz questions did not challenge the user to apply the knowledge presented in the course. The Tableau software is incredibly powerful, but I can not recommend using this course to learn it over other resources available online

By Mehmed P

Jan 13, 2020

I was not able to complete assignments because I needed to buy Tableau Desktop for my Week 3 assignment. Tableau Public does not have certain features that are necessary to complete this rather trivial assignment.

Biggest issue is that this is a specialization course, and that means money is not refundable.

By Shashidhar G

Mar 2, 2020

Not in a favor of this course as it takes much of our time in the review, and involve inconsistent score by reviewer mindset. Received an email from Coursera with a low Grade achieved score after scoring more than the threshold assessments.

Disagree with Coursera discern method on learning and review.

By Atif S

Mar 13, 2021

The content on Tableau.com/learn is far focused and better for anyone to gain skills on Visualisation.

The rest of the content should have focused on best practices of visualisation and their commentary but it was quickly summarised into a 3 minute video with no rationale.

By Marcel G d R W

Apr 9, 2017

Poor course. No original material, they use Tableau training material. I did the first 4 weeks of the course in 5 hours and learned nothing new, except using Tableau. I could have learned the same using the Tableau first video in 10 minutes.

By Avinash S

Aug 28, 2020

Extremely slow paced and basic.

The material covered by the entire course is tiny.

The quizzes seem pointless.

Why do I have to have an account on Twitter to complete an assignment?

Very disappointing.

By SARTHAK S

Jan 2, 2021

Verv few basic is provided only. From youtube we can learn more than this course. For assignment this course ask to submit visualization on twitter.(which is for their advertisement)

By Kushal S

Nov 29, 2018

The peer graded assignment is absolute mess. I submitted correct assignment with screenshots and was failed twice. The screenshots even match with those provided for reviews.

By Marcus B

Apr 13, 2020

Tedious. They're promoting a software that is overly complicated and not at all user-friendly. This course is a waste of time and money. Back to pie charts in excel.

By Hari H

Apr 19, 2017

This course doesn't offer much of a learning curve. I would rather suggest taking Data Visualization Using Tableau by Duke University.

By Toby P

Jul 24, 2019

The peer reviews are a joke. Should not be a gauge of getting through. The inability of the reviewer can hold back the completion.

By Kelly D

Sep 5, 2017

Course was far too simple. It could have been covered as an introductory week in another more comprehensive, challenging course.

By Tonya M

Feb 27, 2021

First assignment in the Tableau course is to make a visualization in Google Sheets with no instruction on how to do so

By Mohammad R

Mar 16, 2019

The course is not updated with latest Tableau features. Lot of solutions have been removed from latest Tableau release

By Cristian-Mugurel D

Jun 16, 2020

Very low parctical info offered by the course ( around 15 minutes of effective clicking in tableau).

By monisha s

Jun 16, 2020

It is good for an absolute beginner. If you have a little idea about Tableau, this is not recommended

By Lauren E

Oct 28, 2016

This class was really lacking. The content was skimpy and the assignments overly simple and rote.

By Sanjivani S

May 3, 2020

Really slow, frustrating and incomplete to help the user do meaningful work! Waste of money!

By Kane S

Apr 12, 2019

This is more of a shallow intro to Principals of Visualization and less about Tableau

By Łukasz M

Mar 4, 2017

nothing special, I do understand this are fundamentals, but i felt like 5 year old

By Antonio G H

Sep 21, 2019

It was not useful at all as there were not practice more than saving a document.