Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau by University of California, Davis

4.5
stars
5,205 ratings
1,186 reviews

About the Course

In this first course of this specialization, you will discover what data visualization is, and how we can use it to better see and understand data. Using Tableau, we’ll examine the fundamental concepts of data visualization and explore the Tableau interface, identifying and applying the various tools Tableau has to offer. By the end of the course you will be able to prepare and import data into Tableau and explain the relationship between data analytics and data visualization. This course is designed for the learner who has never used Tableau before, or who may need a refresher or want to explore Tableau in more depth. No prior technical or analytical background is required. The course will guide you through the steps necessary to create your first visualization from the beginning based on data context, setting the stage for you to advance to the next course in the Specialization....

Top reviews

DA
Aug 24, 2020

Am glad I learnt a lot from this module, which I know will sharpen my skills for my chosen career path as a data scientist. Am hoping to learn more new skills to improve on my already existing skills.

HR
May 1, 2017

Amazing course, amazing instructors and assignments. I really enjoyed working with Tableau.\n\nYou may experience some confusion for some assignments but don't worry! Just use the discussion boards :)

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 1,184 Reviews for Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

By Mike M

Jun 9, 2020

Very good course and I really enjoyed it. The last couple of lessons where really dense though. Loved the interaction with the Tableau community and the advice to participate in community projects to raise my profile.

By Todd T

Mar 4, 2017

Although a very basic introduction to the use of Tableau, the course provides a broad and interesting background that should prove useful to anyone seeking to enhance their understanding of visualization fundamentals.

By Anoop B

Apr 18, 2019

A good introductory course. However, I felt that the course could have used a more hands-on approach for students to practice with the tool. However, I am satisfied and would recommend this course to future learners.

By Yekaterina G

Jul 23, 2020

Great course - awesome teacher! I loved the project at the end of the course that forced you to put your skills to the test. I kind of wish there were more mini assignments along the way though. Highly recommend!

By Потовин Н Н

Aug 11, 2019

I think Tableau is great, want to learn more features and tips of this. 4th part was pretty useless for me from this point of view, but pretty good course overall. May be too simple, but this is how we start)

By Aman S

Aug 19, 2018

The course gets a beginner with no working knowledge of Tableau very comfortable with the basic layout and working of the software. It also helps in understanding the very need and principles of visualization.

By Otse O

Mar 28, 2017

This course is really informative and provides new learning to me. It is just what i need in my career path right now. Kudos to the developer of this course and for making it available on the internet platform

By gursharan s

Apr 26, 2020

A decent course to understand the basics of the needs to the visualization of data and the wonders we can achieve through it. Also it does give some exposure to the actual practical of data visualization

By Shai L V

Apr 11, 2021

A course that really "holds your hands" when starting in tableau. The fact it forces you to use your social media account (or worse, create an account if you don't have 1) is a big downside for me.

By Juan S G P

Nov 13, 2020

It is an excellent course, basic concepts taught clearly. I will not qualify with 5 points because I do not agree with the final work of week 4 where you force me to have a twitter account to pass.

By John M

Nov 28, 2018

Nicely paced course to ease into Tableau. I am finding the course materials and the method of delivery very effective. I look forward to completing this course and enrolling into the next one.

By Велинецкая Т Н

Jun 18, 2018

Rather interesting course with good teachers, but not balanced enough: a little bit about Tableau, a little bit - story telling. Maybe it's ok for the first part, so I'm waiting for the next one

By Sukruth K

Feb 8, 2021

The Course was pretty good and an excellent Project to get a good hand's on. But the assessment is quite confusing adding too many parameters making it complicated to understand and Implement.

By Harshal S

Oct 13, 2017

This course was very interesting and covered lot of basic visualization on Tableau. Still I want to learn more detailed on how to play with visualization and experiment independently.

By Pengqing M

Jun 20, 2017

I like the first instructor because he makes everything clear. I find the second instructor less effective. I also find the assignment section rather hard to understand and navigate.

By Abhijna R

Dec 29, 2016

The course is great. Would have been even better if there were questions posed and answers given during the videos for Tableau case studies. Overall, an informative course! Thanks.

By Ying-Chieh F

Feb 28, 2020

A Good introduction course for new learners. It covers not only the technical skill of Tableau but also reporting guidelines-- how to collect and use data to deliver a good story.

By Lorenzo C

Jan 3, 2020

The main messagges are explained. Clear the video and the voice. Good training to undestand better the possibility to use the main software (tableau in primis) in this work area.

By Paul G

Dec 23, 2020

It was a decent introduction, but some of the videos no longer match up with the current version of Tableau. I also don't know why Twitter was used to submit our final project?

By Jeremy C

Jul 14, 2017

Nice introductory course to Tableau and Storytelling for newbies to Tableau. Could be improved with updated periodicals, articles, and publications relevant to course material.

By Saurabh P

Oct 16, 2016

Valuable introductory course on Tableau. Also lays the foundation for by providing good reference material on Statistics and as well on the communication/presentation of ideas

By Revathi V

Jan 10, 2021

Through this course, I learnt the fundamentals of Tableau. The instructions were very clear and the peer-graded assignments were helpful to understand the woking of the tool.

By Pierre J V

May 29, 2019

Assignments were a bit light. And some of the questions (Week 3) were ambiguous. I only figured out what was expected after I saw the grading guidelines for peer assessment

By Zihao Z

Dec 30, 2018

Generally great course for entry level tableau user. Would suggest to add option to get certificate with a single test to save times for people already know these basics.

By Aryaman S K

May 28, 2020

I would like to have had more visualizations which would just give me a brief idea about Tableau but nevertheless it was a great course and a lot of basics were cleared.