Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau by University of California, Davis

4.5
stars
4,386 ratings
975 reviews

About the Course

In this first course of this specialization, you will discover what data visualization is, and how we can use it to better see and understand data. Using Tableau, we’ll examine the fundamental concepts of data visualization and explore the Tableau interface, identifying and applying the various tools Tableau has to offer. By the end of the course you will be able to prepare and import data into Tableau and explain the relationship between data analytics and data visualization. This course is designed for the learner who has never used Tableau before, or who may need a refresher or want to explore Tableau in more depth. No prior technical or analytical background is required. The course will guide you through the steps necessary to create your first visualization from the beginning based on data context, setting the stage for you to advance to the next course in the Specialization....

Top reviews

DA

Aug 25, 2020

Am glad I learnt a lot from this module, which I know will sharpen my skills for my chosen career path as a data scientist. Am hoping to learn more new skills to improve on my already existing skills.

HR

May 02, 2017

Amazing course, amazing instructors and assignments. I really enjoyed working with Tableau.\n\nYou may experience some confusion for some assignments but don't worry! Just use the discussion boards :)

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 965 Reviews for Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

By Manu G

Jul 14, 2020

First two weeks has nothing. Last two weeks are good

By Muzi W

Jun 04, 2020

Too basic, not get too much information from class,

By Kristians H

Jun 30, 2018

Instructions for assignments were not very clear

By Khalifa N A

Mar 30, 2020

great basic course to give you some basic stuff

By Adalberto C

Aug 08, 2019

Quite basic... expected more Tableau exercises.

By Harsh S

May 03, 2020

Basic fundamental course. Good for beginners.

By Sebastian

May 11, 2017

Too long for the simplicity of introduction

By Mikolaj A

Sep 23, 2019

Not enough exercises, too much theory.

By Micheal S

May 13, 2020

Could have had more guided exercises.

By Roshan

Dec 05, 2017

Should also include some mock work.

By 黄静雯

Apr 28, 2020

The assignment is not very clear

By Evgeniy M

Jan 23, 2018

Poor material, lack of practise.

By Shailin S

May 09, 2020

Could have been more practical.

By Darren P

May 07, 2020

Should add more content/modules

By Luis M M J

Jan 19, 2017

So basic Tableau explanations

By Xenia T

Sep 04, 2017

Could be a bit more advanced

By Shanshan H

Aug 05, 2019

this course is too simple

By Daniel L

Apr 13, 2017

A little too basic

By Nitin A

Oct 09, 2016

Very basic course

By Honglin C

Jun 12, 2017

A bit easy..

By Anna S

Mar 11, 2019

too easy

By Cian O M

Apr 26, 2018

N

By Jiacheng F

Oct 12, 2020

Not a very useful course. The instructor didn't really cover that much of the detail of the tableau software and her instruction was not clear enough to walk you through some of the most important features of tableau such as filters applied on each individual worksheet which you should use in your final assignment. Speaking of the final assignment, the rubric doesn't focus on the quality of the viz but rather on weather you "tweeted" properly. After taking hours on the final assignment in order to make it as good as possible, that is how you evaluate my hard work!!? Overall, very disappointing on this course! If you are taking it for fun, it is certainly a good course for entertainment, but I don't recommend it for students who are looking for an effective way to enhance their knowledge on Tableau.

By Mona F

Jul 14, 2020

I found this to be a disappointing course. The Tableau parts have no real added value on top of what's available for free on Tableau's site.

Unfortunately I felt the course had too much "fluff" and not enough technical knowledge. For a course titled, "fundamental of Visualization with TABLEAU," I expected a lot more of Tableau to be covered. All you get from this course is how to connect to data sources. Disappointed.

The fact that the assignments are peer reviewed put you in a dead lock. You are at the mercy of "peers" that do not even check the answers you provide and are just plainly rude. Disappointing.

By Subham S D

Nov 14, 2019

So, this course starts with a bang but 50% of the stuff was irrelevant, rather it would have been better if you just taught us Tableau and its usages instead of unwanted stuff. The course is too short literally and hardly covers anything useful. Govind blabbers just something which even he isn't sure of in the last Storyboarding lecture. Rest all were fine but seriously, you could have just taught us the whole Tableau interface. And I wonder what the use of the last assignment really is. I just rate it two because the instructors were good but the course content deserves nothing. Thanks and Cheers!