Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau by University of California, Davis

4.5
stars
5,146 ratings
1,172 reviews

About the Course

In this first course of this specialization, you will discover what data visualization is, and how we can use it to better see and understand data. Using Tableau, we’ll examine the fundamental concepts of data visualization and explore the Tableau interface, identifying and applying the various tools Tableau has to offer. By the end of the course you will be able to prepare and import data into Tableau and explain the relationship between data analytics and data visualization. This course is designed for the learner who has never used Tableau before, or who may need a refresher or want to explore Tableau in more depth. No prior technical or analytical background is required. The course will guide you through the steps necessary to create your first visualization from the beginning based on data context, setting the stage for you to advance to the next course in the Specialization....

Top reviews

HR
May 1, 2017

Amazing course, amazing instructors and assignments. I really enjoyed working with Tableau.\n\nYou may experience some confusion for some assignments but don't worry! Just use the discussion boards :)

DA
Aug 24, 2020

Am glad I learnt a lot from this module, which I know will sharpen my skills for my chosen career path as a data scientist. Am hoping to learn more new skills to improve on my already existing skills.

Filter by:

1101 - 1125 of 1,171 Reviews for Fundamentals of Visualization with Tableau

By Robert B

Dec 26, 2018

Didn't really provide many details on how to user Tableau. Tableau Desktop was needed to complete the Week 3 exercise properly. I don't like leaving negative reviews, but I feel like other students should be aware of this before starting the course

By Grace I

Sep 10, 2020

Despite taking notes and following closely with all of the learning content, I still felt like I was figuring a lot of things out on my own. The video content is too short compared to what you have to do. A lot more could be fit into the course.

By bosheng

Jan 9, 2021

I finished final project, but i can't upload to tableau server, always show error and i spend 2hr try to fix it. This assignment mandatory require to upload work on server but it didn't care about people who can't upload.. give it up

By Guillaume R

Sep 7, 2017

The weeks 1 and 2 are interesting, but the weeks 3 and 4 are boring : too much overthinking and no practical exercises.

The assignments are weird, I didn't get the point of doing them.

The learn rate is too slow.

By Preetham E

Sep 2, 2020

The final assignment which asks us to post the tweet and has to include screenshot and 2 hashtags is DUMB. I failed the final test because of the stupid requirements instead of the actual content of the task.

By Anto T

Mar 2, 2017

Each week was only about an hour. Most MOOC courses I've taken have at least 3 to 4 hours of content and learning. Very little learning for a 4 week course. This is a 1 week course stretched out to 4 weeks.

By Laura S

Dec 13, 2020

Final work evaluation is based not on Tableau dashboard and skills you gained, but on Twitter post and used hashtags. I would suggest to skip this course and start from the next one in this specialization.

By Linda B

Oct 19, 2020

The course was doing just fine, but the final assignment was crazy. You assumed knowledge of Twitter, URLs, posting to Twitter, screenshots, etc. Nothing said I had to be familiar with all of that.

By Ryan L

May 9, 2019

Thought it would have more of a focus on Tableau. There wasn't very much instruction on Tableau and the first assignment was confusing with no review.

By Grant W

Apr 29, 2020

Dry lectures by a prof trying his best. There are better courses out there for the money unfortunately - check out the one offered by Duke University.

By VAARIDHI M

Jul 14, 2021

Course Content is very basic but a good starting point. Unfortunately the quizzes were bad and did not ask questions relevant to the program at all.

By Julian H

May 19, 2020

It's a very quick introduction to tableau. It's suitable to do the very first steps with this software. You can finish this course within 2-3 hours

By Mariana B

Sep 23, 2019

I expected to do more practical examples in Tableau. The peer assignment was horrible as the steps were so poorly explained and created confusion.

By Chen M

Aug 24, 2019

It unconvenient to fly from one link to another link. not well-organized, need more practive not just answer those questions to pass the test.

By Bruno F

Dec 26, 2017

The subject is great, but the materials are scattered and the peer evaluation assignments are holding me from completing the course.

By Jim S

Aug 19, 2017

Very, very basic. Information presented is good but I would recommend skipping if you're adding a BI tool to an existing skillset.

By Prasang G

Feb 25, 2021

This course is just basic, like just an overview of Tableau. The teachings are simple, peer review assignments ae just of no use.

By Chris M

Jul 28, 2019

Some good resources provided, but too high level. Looking forward to more detail in the next courses.

By S.Sai R S S

Jun 11, 2020

There is not much Depth even in the topics covered in this course !!

By Beverly F

Aug 28, 2019

I thought this would be a class to learn Tableau. it wasn't.

By Elizabeth N

Feb 19, 2021

I wish it focused more on the technical aspect of tableau

By Seho L

Jan 22, 2020

Material is too scattered and I didn't learn much.

By Kevin M

Jul 8, 2019

Assignments were way too easy and tedious.

By Monserrat A R

May 12, 2020

mucho mas básico de lo que me imaginaba

By Bobby G T

Jun 12, 2021

The first part seemed very amateurish. One part included listening to a podcast interview for half an hour. During the short demonstrations, the demonstrator moved quickly, saying what they were trying to accomplish but without explaining HOW they were doing those things (items like the need to right-click versus double click). The project involves reading through a website filled with other people's reports, picking one at random, and then remaking the report to your best guess with no grading criteria and no explanation of the underlying data.

As a professor, I've been doing course development for a while. I really cannot recommend this course to anyone.

This does not appear to be about Tableau but, instead, is a generic discussion of data visualizations that happens to use Tableau as example software. Even then, it is poorly executed.