Chevron Left
Back to Database Management Essentials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Database Management Essentials by University of Colorado System

4.6
stars
2,898 ratings
700 reviews

About the Course

Database Management Essentials provides the foundation you need for a career in database development, data warehousing, or business intelligence, as well as for the entire Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. In this course, you will create relational databases, write SQL statements to extract information to satisfy business reporting requests, create entity relationship diagrams (ERDs) to design databases, and analyze table designs for excessive redundancy. As you develop these skills, you will use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL to execute SQL statements and a database diagramming tool such as the ER Assistant or Visual Paradigm to create ERDs. We’ve designed this course to ensure a common foundation for specialization learners. Everyone taking the course can jump right in with writing SQL statements in Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL....

Top reviews

AS
Jun 28, 2020

Very good to every beginner out there trying to get into database management , tasks are really educational , only the normalization section needs more clarification. but as a total it is awesome

DD
Oct 20, 2016

Excellent introduction to DB Management, I learned everything that I wanted to learn from it. I highly recommend it and actually I am already enrolled to the next course of the specialization.

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 682 Reviews for Database Management Essentials

By William T M

Feb 5, 2021

Some of the lectures were very vague. Lecture not as clear

By Rana Q U Z

Sep 2, 2016

This course is really helpful About Database Systems.

By Cesar O M

Jan 3, 2016

I wish to have more contact with the academic crew.

By Amber B

Oct 5, 2016

Need more lessons on nested queries and subqueries

By Ayush J

May 14, 2020

You can give a better explanation of ERD concepts

By Madhusoodhan S

Nov 18, 2016

A free book to read would have been nice.

By HYEOK K

Jun 20, 2020

not enough explanation about tools

By Aditi

Jan 3, 2020

Baaic understanding about Database

By Marcel N

Sep 13, 2016

Peer Review is sub-optimal

By Meena V

Dec 14, 2018

Very time consuming.

By Mordi O

Oct 29, 2015

looking good, so far

By DWARAKANATH S

Aug 9, 2017

Good Solid

By Georg M F

Mar 17, 2016

I could not finish because videos were stuttered - even with bigger bandwidth - and as a consequence I could not finish the course and the exercises in my limited free time (therefore, only 2 stars). Is the problem solved now - cause I d like to resume the course again. If that's more successful now I would start the next parts of the specialization.

Thank you for an answer!

By Talal N

Apr 22, 2020

The course and concept were good but the way it was taught in the videos and Lecture slides was absolute garbage. The course was built in utter disdain by the lecturers, it seems. Full picture was always absent in lectures.

By Martin L

Jan 20, 2016

Poor english, hard to follow assignments (instructions spread out over 3-4 microsoft word documents with no links between them). Teaches SQL with MixedCase namings, all-named constraints and other non-standard syntax.

By Doris C

Jun 10, 2018

No help to upload Oracle Application for use with lesson - not good. Also have to buy the text book which is fine. Should provide option to buy thru Amazon Kindle - easy to use.

By Shubham K

Jan 4, 2016

Expected a lot more from the course. Also, the teaching style isn't very engaging either.

By Arshad U

Jun 20, 2020

basic introductory information

By George C

May 30, 2021

Bad lecture

By LINGKAI Z

Apr 9, 2020

It's ok to have a peer review assignment. But it's obviously not appropriate to have all the assignments as peer review assignments. It is just taking way too much time to wait for scores. For every problem, you have to upload a single file for it. I cannot understand the point of doing this except for wasting time.

Software requirements are too strict. VM Machine is running slow on my mac so I went MySQL for the first two courses but Oracle database is still required for course 3 and course 5. So how should the students like me do to complete the assignments?

After I completed the course 1-4, I unlocked course 5, but it's informing me that this course content does not start until June. So I have to wait for 2 months and pay another fee to complete the specialization. But I am not going to do that.

I was excited about this data warehouse specialization but now I am just disappointed. I would not recommend this course to others. Maybe try something else.

By Tomi P

Nov 29, 2016

In wk3 my DB is totally messed up and I do not know where to find the CORRECT create statements to recreate the DB that the assignments expect! It shouldn't be too difficult to provide one page that gives the commands to execute to create the DB that is used in each week (for each week separately). Due to that I'm un-enrolling from this course.

By Rehan C

Jul 3, 2020

The course has very poor support to install applications for the course. The teacher is going though the course at a very high level. Not going much in details. I would rather read Definitive Guide to Data Warehousing and it provides more information than this course.

By Olena T

Mar 24, 2016

assingnments are not grading .so i do not have reason to study something that can't finish

By Mohamed S

Apr 23, 2021

I learnt everything thank u coursera for this course I feel delighted I feel like Einstein

By Michael N

Jan 27, 2017

Coursera and this course sucks. You are at the mercy of idiots doing your peer review.