Chevron Left
Back to Database Management Essentials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Database Management Essentials by University of Colorado System

4.6
stars
2,919 ratings
709 reviews

About the Course

Database Management Essentials provides the foundation you need for a career in database development, data warehousing, or business intelligence, as well as for the entire Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. In this course, you will create relational databases, write SQL statements to extract information to satisfy business reporting requests, create entity relationship diagrams (ERDs) to design databases, and analyze table designs for excessive redundancy. As you develop these skills, you will use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL to execute SQL statements and a database diagramming tool such as the ER Assistant or Visual Paradigm to create ERDs. We’ve designed this course to ensure a common foundation for specialization learners. Everyone taking the course can jump right in with writing SQL statements in Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL....

Top reviews

AS
Jun 28, 2020

Very good to every beginner out there trying to get into database management , tasks are really educational , only the normalization section needs more clarification. but as a total it is awesome

DD
Oct 20, 2016

Excellent introduction to DB Management, I learned everything that I wanted to learn from it. I highly recommend it and actually I am already enrolled to the next course of the specialization.

Filter by:

676 - 691 of 691 Reviews for Database Management Essentials

By Arshad U

Jun 20, 2020

basic introductory information

By George C

May 30, 2021

Bad lecture

By LINGKAI Z

Apr 9, 2020

It's ok to have a peer review assignment. But it's obviously not appropriate to have all the assignments as peer review assignments. It is just taking way too much time to wait for scores. For every problem, you have to upload a single file for it. I cannot understand the point of doing this except for wasting time.

Software requirements are too strict. VM Machine is running slow on my mac so I went MySQL for the first two courses but Oracle database is still required for course 3 and course 5. So how should the students like me do to complete the assignments?

After I completed the course 1-4, I unlocked course 5, but it's informing me that this course content does not start until June. So I have to wait for 2 months and pay another fee to complete the specialization. But I am not going to do that.

I was excited about this data warehouse specialization but now I am just disappointed. I would not recommend this course to others. Maybe try something else.

By Steffen S

Jan 16, 2022

I had high expectations of this course, which unfortunately were not met. The course seems to me to be outdated. Most of the slides are from 2012/2013 and haven't been touched by then. In addition, the material is explained very long-winded. For many assignments I had to rely on Youtube. Furthermore, the effort to upload the assignments is much too time-consuming. Actually, I intended to complete the whole curriculum, but after this first course, I will check for other offerings.

By Tomi P

Nov 29, 2016

In wk3 my DB is totally messed up and I do not know where to find the CORRECT create statements to recreate the DB that the assignments expect! It shouldn't be too difficult to provide one page that gives the commands to execute to create the DB that is used in each week (for each week separately). Due to that I'm un-enrolling from this course.

By Rehan C

Jul 3, 2020

The course has very poor support to install applications for the course. The teacher is going though the course at a very high level. Not going much in details. I would rather read Definitive Guide to Data Warehousing and it provides more information than this course.

By Olena T

Mar 24, 2016

assingnments are not grading .so i do not have reason to study something that can't finish

By Mohamed S

Apr 23, 2021

I learnt everything thank u coursera for this course I feel delighted I feel like Einstein

By Michael N

Jan 27, 2017

Coursera and this course sucks. You are at the mercy of idiots doing your peer review.

By Soaring B

Dec 28, 2020

way too much talking head - showing head instead of the subject of discussion

By 221910320032 B A

May 24, 2021

too many peer-graded assignments, not worth doing.

By Mohamed S

Apr 13, 2021

Its very bad i got plagiarism without any reason

By Ali Z

Feb 5, 2021

So bad course

By Saúl B

Jan 7, 2017

horrible

By hassan h s

Apr 24, 2021

not

By Deleted A

Jul 6, 2021

na