Chevron Left
Back to Database Management Essentials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Database Management Essentials by University of Colorado System

4.6
stars
2,097 ratings
525 reviews

About the Course

Database Management Essentials provides the foundation you need for a career in database development, data warehousing, or business intelligence, as well as for the entire Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. In this course, you will create relational databases, write SQL statements to extract information to satisfy business reporting requests, create entity relationship diagrams (ERDs) to design databases, and analyze table designs for excessive redundancy. As you develop these skills, you will use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL to execute SQL statements and a database diagramming tool such as the ER Assistant or Visual Paradigm to create ERDs. We’ve designed this course to ensure a common foundation for specialization learners. Everyone taking the course can jump right in with writing SQL statements in Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL....

Top reviews

AS

Jun 29, 2020

Very good to every beginner out there trying to get into database management , tasks are really educational , only the normalization section needs more clarification. but as a total it is awesome

FM

Jun 22, 2017

Of all the database courses I have ever done, this one covers the concepts best and exhaustively. I highly recommend it to all beginners and advanced users who want to review the basics.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 512 Reviews for Database Management Essentials

By Abdelrahman M S

Jun 29, 2020

Very good to every beginner out there trying to get into database management , tasks are really educational , only the normalization section needs more clarification. but as a total it is awesome

By Robledo C

Jan 05, 2016

Great course!

The course is well structured with clear objective for each lecture.

The assignments are interesting and the practice assignments are relevant.

Excelent material.

Thank you!

By Pranjali G

Dec 29, 2018

This course is having very knowledgeable content. It was having various factors which developed my thinking ability and how to execute the queries. This was absolutely beneficial for me.

By Felix M

Jun 22, 2017

Of all the database courses I have ever done, this one covers the concepts best and exhaustively. I highly recommend it to all beginners and advanced users who want to review the basics.

By Paola E P G

Dec 28, 2019

Excelente manera de explicar conceptos que en algunas ocasiones puedes ser muy complejos. Las actividades estuvieron al nivel de lo explicado, y el sistema de corrección muy original.

By Kiran B

Sep 22, 2017

It is a really good course with enough depth to get involved in real time work. More practice based on the course would lot beneficial for any individual taking this course.

By Akhil R

Jun 02, 2016

An excellent course to start with. Great for people who are just starting to learn database as well as for those who want to refresh their knowledge regarding the subject.

By Sandeepkumar P

Nov 24, 2015

Very good course. Clarified some basic concepts, got some hands on experience on using databases, ERD drawing tools. Need a bit more detailed explanation for the topics.

By John F P M

May 12, 2020

This is a great course! THANK YOU VERY MUCH COURSERA AND UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO SYSTEM TEAM! Especially to the professor that taught here in this course. Thank you.

By RAJ G

Jan 01, 2018

Dr. Mannino is an excellent teacher. The numerous practice exercises were most useful in adding to the learning and to the understanding of the concepts. Thank you!

By Adel F

Jan 10, 2020

The course completely changed my understanding of databases. The content were excellent starting point. The assignments were useful in reinforcing the content.

By William E S H

Mar 14, 2016

A very good introduction to database management, the professor explain very good and you can learn so much, also arouses interest in exploring the topic.

By Liberto S

Aug 14, 2020

Please make the assignment process less tedious. For example, allow the students to submit 1 file only for all problems, or answer directly on the web.

By Jonel B

Mar 26, 2017

Hey corsera kindly check my week 4 answers please i answered it before and no one doesn't checking it i finished all the weeks except week 4 thank you.

By Jose A

Jun 12, 2017

This was my first course in the specialization and it helped me to brush up my query skills as well as data base design skills. I highly recommend it.

By Ankit K

Feb 19, 2018

I loved doing this course and the assignments are good way to check the knowledge but the only that I didn't like is the peer grading of assignments.

By Olasehinde A E

Aug 01, 2020

This course was awesome. I learned a lot on how data can be managed effectively in any organisation. Thanks coursera and university of colorado.

By hferrera

Oct 17, 2017

Excellent course where you learn much more than yhe essentials.

Excellent for quickly entering the world of databases and their relationships.

By Syed U A

Aug 31, 2019

Great Course, Great Learning, Detailed lecture and notes helps in learning easily. Assignments helps student to learn this course very well.

By Yehor

Dec 12, 2015

REALY solid information in this course are given, great topics allocation and scheduling, definitely the best online course in this field.

By ArmanNouromid

Nov 28, 2019

this course really help me that Figure out about ERD's And Other Rules For Designing a Database and other concept of Relational databases

By Yara H

Nov 14, 2019

it's amazing , the lectures are easy to understand and the quizzes help you understand even more and the assignment gives you experience

By Siddharth V

Jul 19, 2020

It was a really interesting and helpful course which helped me a lot in learning and exploring the databases and how to work with them.

By Salil T

Aug 08, 2016

It well designed course. It has good composition of basics and as well as use cases details. Thanks to instructor for good explanation.

By Fher P

Nov 06, 2017

The course in general was great. Functional dependencies theme was hard to understand for me, could improve the explanation, please.