Chevron Left
Back to Database Management Essentials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Database Management Essentials by University of Colorado System

4.6
stars
2,784 ratings
686 reviews

About the Course

Database Management Essentials provides the foundation you need for a career in database development, data warehousing, or business intelligence, as well as for the entire Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. In this course, you will create relational databases, write SQL statements to extract information to satisfy business reporting requests, create entity relationship diagrams (ERDs) to design databases, and analyze table designs for excessive redundancy. As you develop these skills, you will use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL to execute SQL statements and a database diagramming tool such as the ER Assistant or Visual Paradigm to create ERDs. We’ve designed this course to ensure a common foundation for specialization learners. Everyone taking the course can jump right in with writing SQL statements in Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL....

Top reviews

AS
Jun 28, 2020

Very good to every beginner out there trying to get into database management , tasks are really educational , only the normalization section needs more clarification. but as a total it is awesome

DD
Oct 20, 2016

Excellent introduction to DB Management, I learned everything that I wanted to learn from it. I highly recommend it and actually I am already enrolled to the next course of the specialization.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 668 Reviews for Database Management Essentials

By Akib I

Oct 11, 2020

Great course for the basic concepts of DBMS. But the module of Normalization should cover all 1NF, 2NF, and 3NF before that BCNF. Also, the authority has to be conscious about the assignment submission as lots of students are abusing the opportunity of submission of their own assignment and reviewing others.

By Thiago V M

Jan 12, 2016

This is a very well planned course. In a few weeks, the student learn a lot of things in a way that he/she consolidates the fundamental knowledge about databases.

Congratulations to the course designers and thanks for the opportunity to learn all the concepts treated here!

Thiago from Brasil. =)

By Thomas O

Jan 30, 2021

I'm a finance manager with limited previous experience of SELECT SQL statements and no understanding of relational databases. After taking this course I will run some of the financial reporting on SQL and also will develop "relational databases" for other, excel, reports.

By Paweł W

Sep 15, 2019

The course is about 4,5. It provides candidate with basic understanding of database environment from business perspective. It is more like an introduction presenting how to set up data structure with the use of ERDs and DB diagrams, including first steps into SQL.

By Akshay R

Feb 27, 2021

This course is worth it; hand-on when reading writing ERD; Database modeling techniques; Primary/ Foreign key relationship well understood; Joining tables and writing DML SQL statements; Normalization techniques including BCNF and FD. Happy with course overall.

By Robert L J

Mar 5, 2016

Professor Michael Mannino presents a very well prepared course that achieves optimal results in a limited time. Given my experience, it was a bit basic for me. Nevertheless, it filled in the gaps in my knowledge and gave me confidence to take it forward.

By Luis A B E

Jul 8, 2018

Excellent course. The contents were well structured, ordered and according to the learning needs. The way to explain the themes by Michael Mannino, is very clear where his experience is remarkable. I am proud to have taken and completed this course.

By Matthew P L

Jan 3, 2017

Instructor teach well and thoroughly. Gives a good foundation for understanding databases, structure, queries, issues and applications, without excessive strain. Useful for understanding effort required at work to make changes and improvements.

By Fernando M

Jul 8, 2016

The content was very well structured, the practices were very appropiate to the concepts that the course is teaching. And the professor is very clear explaining each of the modules, one of the best courses I that have participated . Thanks !

By Laia A

Aug 13, 2016

The course is very well structured and everything is well explained. You learn a lot, but for a person with poor previous knowledge about database systems it requires more time dedication than the the 4-6 hours it says.

By Kira H

Feb 17, 2016

A good introductory course. I would recommend allowing for extra time to get the database software up and functioning so that you aren't crammed for time trying to get it configured and do the assignment in week 2.

By Petrov A Y

Oct 19, 2017

I found this course really useful. All materials follows one another in a logical way, and there isn't any redundancy. I will try other courses in specialization. Thanks to instructor Dr. Maninho and his collegues.

By Muhammad F I S

Sep 15, 2016

This course will be very help for me in my masters track. Since I am doing master in this field so I want to study all the topic in more detail. Furthermore, the course is helpful for me in my career development.

By Jasjit S

May 30, 2016

i will be applying for a bussiness intelligence job within 1 month, and within the first few lessons im feeling very much confident that taking this course is a good step towards my database management career.

By Nelson F

Jan 30, 2020

The course is fantastic. It provides practical skills and the teaches explain very well. The way how the course is organized it's almost inevitable to not acquire the required knowledge in Database Management

By 刘贾

Jan 7, 2021

This is my first course, I learn many things from it.

I am very satisfied with the course settings, so that I can complete the course relatively easily, although sometimes it drives me crazy

By Christian R

Jan 5, 2016

Great course!

The course is well structured with clear objective for each lecture.

The assignments are interesting and the practice assignments are relevant.

Excelent material.

Thank you!

By Kiran B

Sep 22, 2017

It is a really good course with enough depth to get involved in real time work. More practice based on the course would lot beneficial for any individual taking this course.

By Akhil R

Jun 2, 2016

An excellent course to start with. Great for people who are just starting to learn database as well as for those who want to refresh their knowledge regarding the subject.

By Sandeepkumar P

Nov 24, 2015

Very good course. Clarified some basic concepts, got some hands on experience on using databases, ERD drawing tools. Need a bit more detailed explanation for the topics.

By Konstantinos K

Sep 26, 2020

Very good. The structure is pretty nice, it provides all the basic knowledge you would need about database management and both videos and slides are easy to understand.

By Alex Y

Apr 20, 2021

Great course!

I think some concepts needed more details or examples to be more clear.

But doing the exercises and searching in the internet was enough to understand.

By Francis M

May 12, 2020

This is a great course! THANK YOU VERY MUCH COURSERA AND UNIVERSITY OF COLORADO SYSTEM TEAM! Especially to the professor that taught here in this course. Thank you.

By RAJ G

Jan 1, 2018

Dr. Mannino is an excellent teacher. The numerous practice exercises were most useful in adding to the learning and to the understanding of the concepts. Thank you!

By Juhl M C

May 11, 2021

Since this is a prerequisite in our course, this class helped me a lot. I've learned things that I did not understand or encountered in my University. Thank you!