Chevron Left
Back to Database Management Essentials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Database Management Essentials by University of Colorado System

4.6
stars
2,809 ratings
690 reviews

About the Course

Database Management Essentials provides the foundation you need for a career in database development, data warehousing, or business intelligence, as well as for the entire Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. In this course, you will create relational databases, write SQL statements to extract information to satisfy business reporting requests, create entity relationship diagrams (ERDs) to design databases, and analyze table designs for excessive redundancy. As you develop these skills, you will use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL to execute SQL statements and a database diagramming tool such as the ER Assistant or Visual Paradigm to create ERDs. We’ve designed this course to ensure a common foundation for specialization learners. Everyone taking the course can jump right in with writing SQL statements in Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL....

Top reviews

AS
Jun 28, 2020

Very good to every beginner out there trying to get into database management , tasks are really educational , only the normalization section needs more clarification. but as a total it is awesome

DD
Oct 20, 2016

Excellent introduction to DB Management, I learned everything that I wanted to learn from it. I highly recommend it and actually I am already enrolled to the next course of the specialization.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 672 Reviews for Database Management Essentials

By Alice L

Feb 20, 2017

Would like more thorough definition of terms, examples with explanation application of terms. Still a great course. Learned a lot.

By gowri p

May 10, 2016

The course is very well structured and provides good resources of practical data sets. I would recommend others to do this course.

By Ishwarya M

Jan 16, 2021

Good Course to start learning data warehousing. I liked that the course has so many hands-on assignment and practice exercises.

By Maria L M

Aug 27, 2017

Great instructor! Easy to understand. Thank you for making the lesson video & power point presentations available for download.

By Lucas S

Aug 26, 2019

Exceptional course!!

It provides a solid base for those who want to learn the essentials of databases, SQL and data modelling.

By Julian M M S

Feb 7, 2016

Great Course!! The videos are excellent and all the material given is easy to understand and practice It. Highly recommended.

By Dr_Sri_Ram_Chandra_Polisetty

May 14, 2020

Excellent Lectures by the Professor. Assignments are also interesting and enough strength. Really I liked the entire course.

By Elham B

Sep 2, 2017

Great course! Perfect for those who don't have the required background. Material and videos are prepared in a great quality.

By Mohamed H

Jan 10, 2016

Excellent Course and Very Knowledgeable but it requires some personal work outside the Course and it's only downside for me.

By Hiral S

Jul 5, 2017

Very well designed introductory course for Database Management. Assignments are well formulated to concertize the concepts.

By Ernesto K

Dec 15, 2015

Very nice class, well thought out and organized. The assignments are interesting and the practice assignments are relevant.

By Chinmay K R

Apr 13, 2020

Great tutorial on DBMS and also a great course to teach multiple software's like MySQL , ER Assistant and Visual Paradigm.

By Manoj K

Sep 10, 2018

A great course to understand DBMS and Data Warehousing concepts and appreciate their role in an application architecture.

By Mohamad O A H

Jan 31, 2017

this course is giving me a lot of useful info and i recommend it to others who is interesting to start learning DBMSs

By Ali B

Sep 28, 2020

i foud the course really helpfull and easy to follow looking forward to the next courses of this specialization

By Actos R

May 4, 2019

Muito prático e intuitivo. Permite um aprendizado profundo através da didática e da flexibilidade dos prazos.

By Vigneshwaran G

Aug 12, 2019

Prof. Michael Mannino is an excellent instructor and does an excellent job in teaching DBMS for beginners.

By Анастасія О С

Oct 27, 2020

I like this course! It has a lot of important infrofmation, a lot of interesting quizzes and assignments)

By Jastine D N

Mar 26, 2017

This course helped me a lot. It's a big help to me as a student to learn all of this in videos and words.

By Timo H

Jul 30, 2018

Great course, basics but with practical homework you really start understanding the different concepts!

By Lyalikov N A

Aug 9, 2021

Perfect course. Material as well as problems and assignments helped me a lot to gain knowledges I need

By Cardy M I

Sep 26, 2017

A good course if you want to learn more about database administration and data warehousing in general.

By Rooshaan B

Jan 10, 2016

very good teacher and very helpful and learning style and really appropriate course content. thumbs up

By Mauricio Q

Feb 7, 2016

Excellent course. Sets a complete introductory base for DB management with some theory and examples.

By ogica m

Dec 28, 2016

Good for business/system analysts as well. Excellent course to learn how to conceive ERD diagrams.