Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
8,077 ratings
1,825 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

VS

Sep 23, 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

AS

Jan 12, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

Filter by:

1351 - 1375 of 1,809 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Jaison A

Mar 21, 2017

Material was well presented. Exercises could have been more involved; likely would have enhanced the learning.

By J. A H

Sep 07, 2020

Really enjoyable course that taught me how much I still need to learn to truly understand probability theory.

By Aman G

Mar 20, 2019

The course is well structured and good for the newbies and the ones who are not from mathematics background.

By Aishwarya K

Jun 25, 2018

I wished there were better examples and a little more in depth videos for week 4 since week 4 was very tough

By Ayda D

Mar 14, 2017

Good course. I feel like Week 4 could have been explained slightly better but otherwise I really enjoyed it.

By Oli N

Aug 30, 2020

Great Course content, but many formatting mistakes which made some questions difficult to understand fully.

By Liqing P

Aug 25, 2017

Great course. For me the linear algebra part is too easy. But really learnt a lot about Probability Theory.

By Ramalingam

Jul 19, 2020

Some topics were slow; Final week on Bayesian theorem etc. should have been covered little more in detail.

By Charae B

May 30, 2020

The Bayes Theorem and Binomial Theorem portion could have better examples and more simplified explanation.

By Stanislav F

Jul 06, 2020

There are several mistakes in video lectures, there are pop-ups saying about those mistakes, but still...

By Poornima B

Jun 23, 2020

I really enjoyed the session on Data science math skills, refreshed all the math skills learnt long back.

By Patrick S

May 25, 2020

It is wonderful to go through the basics of data science math skills. Thank you for offering the course.

By KRISHNA T M

Nov 27, 2017

brushed up the basics of mathematics good course for beginners and want to revise the key skills of math.

By Satya N

Sep 25, 2017

Please make probability sessions more interactive so that it will be useful to understand basic concepts.

By Sanjiv R

Apr 21, 2017

at time the formulas are given without proof or intuitive explanations. overall a good basic level course

By Deleted A

Jul 23, 2020

Congratulations on making such a course. But remember that the largest room is the room for improvement.

By krishna k s

Jun 19, 2020

It was a great course but in last two modules is seems it is difficult so need to make it more expalable

By Michael B

Jun 16, 2018

A good refresher on some basic concepts. Great intro to bayes theorem. Didn't go as in depth as I hoped.

By Francis

Jul 01, 2017

Some of the assignments are not well covered by the material, I have to check with additional material.

By Bijaya B

Jun 18, 2020

Well Structured course , had fun learning. Thanks to Duke University and Coursera for the opportunity.

By Manav P

Mar 09, 2020

I was a good experience to learn the base of mathematical skills related to data science and analytics

By Karim M E

Jul 20, 2019

the course was great but the last week was so hard and the instructor didn't explain the subject well

By Eric G

Sep 18, 2017

Good refresher course. The course instruction would definitely benefit from some real world examples.

By Karthik M D

Jun 05, 2020

A well structured course. Content is simple and limited yet it sticks to necessary for data science

By 坤银 向

Aug 31, 2017

The last part is a little bit confusing, I think there should be more introduction about why is it.