Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
9,649 ratings
2,188 reviews

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

RS
May 5, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

VS
Sep 22, 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 2,182 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Abu I A

Apr 27, 2020

The course is very useful for data science people. Lectures are well organised and easy to understand.

By Rafael C

Sep 4, 2018

Perfect for beginners or as a review for those who have not used basic math skills for quite some time.

By Sandeep T

Aug 21, 2020

Covered all the required topics. I wish they covered Linear Algebra(matrix). It would have been great.

By Kangmin L

Apr 17, 2018

The first three weeks are pretty easy high school math. The last week is very informative and helpful.

By Hüseyin D

Nov 22, 2020

Even if I found the "week4" very complicated, you did your job great! Thanks for all the information.

By Rahul R

Jun 22, 2020

one of a kind and so far the best course so far that I have come across in the field of data science.

By Somenath C

Jun 7, 2020

It is a very good course for data science students who need to understand the mathematics part of it.

By Joel R

Mar 10, 2017

great course! it was a nice refresher for me, though I still learned new things as well! thank you!

By Alex I

Mar 28, 2021

Was a great refresher course for all the math that I learned in the past but had already forgotten!

By Abhishek K

Mar 15, 2021

Great Course for Beginners in the field of data science as well as for Intermediate level students.

By Huda B

Jan 25, 2021

It's really amazing and interesting course. I really enjoy to learn this course with great teacher.

By Charles P

Nov 2, 2020

This course was great. The learning was structured in a way that the material was not overwhelming.

By Lance R C

Sep 27, 2020

I took this as a refresher Math course. I found the exercises and their explanations very helpful.

By Anjani p

Jun 13, 2020

I am very happy because of my completion of this course. Thanks to all the facilities of coursera.

By Anand K O

Jun 9, 2020

The overall Basic course is GRATE but in last few chapters in probability was tough to understand.

By SongNan

Mar 3, 2017

Very easy to understand and know how to succeed in the future on the learning path. Thanks a lot !

By Rafael D

Feb 1, 2021

Great introduction! Pay attention to the fourth-week module, the probability one, it gets tricky.

By Yifei G

Jan 2, 2021

The first few sections are very basic and easy but the last one about Bayes' Theorem is helpful!!

By MD F R

May 9, 2020

especially, the last test on probability in one of the proofs of higher standards of this course.

By Dr.S.Someshwar

Apr 29, 2020

Very easy course from Duke University. Thank you for introducing this "DATA SCIENCE MATH SKILLS".

By ARCHITA

Apr 1, 2020

It was really helpful in enhancing my data skills though it could have had been a bit more better

By Kia C

Dec 31, 2019

I like the course and the lessons in data analysis .The concepts and theories are great for math.

By Thomas J H

Aug 21, 2017

Helpful course -- highly recommended for people who need more background or who need a refresher.

By Samantha I S

Jun 28, 2021

Estuvo genial. Siento que aprendí en este curso lo que debía saber en tres años de preparatoria.

By Josimar F D A

Nov 3, 2020

It was an excellent course that allowed me to improve my interest in statistics and probability.