Chevron Left
Back to Data Science Math Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science Math Skills by Duke University

4.5
stars
10,977 ratings

About the Course

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

RS

May 5, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.

Thank you for a great class!!

VS

Sep 22, 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

Filter by:

2226 - 2250 of 2,440 Reviews for Data Science Math Skills

By Jason C

Aug 3, 2020

The class starts off very well. When it moves to the full professor, the lesson quality falls, as the lectures lack the younger professor's examples and explanations which guided the learner into the quiz material.

By Siyabonga F C

Feb 3, 2021

Had trouble with week four, I think the instructor tried to summarize Bayes theorem, but it made it vague, had to watch other videos from other sources to fully understand the concept. Otherwise it was good.

By theo

Apr 24, 2020

The first three weeks are well explained, the last week is the most difficult and the professor does not provide examples. There are many mistakes in the quizzes and this seems to be done very haphazardly.

By Mei Y

Aug 27, 2017

Broad coverage of topics in a compact course. Useful for those looking for a refresher course. Could be improved by explaining where in data science the chosen topics would be relevant to provide context.

By Supasuk L

Aug 9, 2020

The part about baye's theprem is really hard to grasp, perhaps less equation and more diagram would be better for student to understand the concept. (for me I look at youtube for better understanding)

By vignaux

Nov 2, 2020

The course is well but the last part of the course is boring because the principal interest of the course is data analyst with explanation of smart theorem as Baye's and this is not very well explain

By Karen B

Mar 25, 2021

The first sections are very good. Nice review and learned some new concepts (or at least was a refresh). The probability section is a tad weak. Could use more explanation and more examples.

By Patricia C

Jan 26, 2021

Good basic review, but I would have liked more examples. (Examples did not have to be in video format, but perhaps in supplementary material.) Very much appreciated that this was offered.

By Margaret C

Nov 23, 2020

The course is really good until you get to the older professor. He doesn't explain the material as thoroughly and is lacking in enough examples to help you understand how to do the quizzes.

By Mariam I

Dec 27, 2020

The second half of the course about probability theory was not explained thoroughly. Professor Daniel Egger rushed through it and did not spend much time explaining appropriate examples.

By Marcus C

Nov 4, 2020

Covered the basics well, but I really struggled with the probability section and felt it could/should have been split into more sections with more examples to demonstrate the concepts.

By Luci S

Mar 25, 2022

The course in Week 1 and 2 are quite interesting but gets challenging to the rest of the following weeks. Unfortunately it doesn't support with simple explanation by the lecturers.

By Mohammed K A

Aug 29, 2022

Appreciate that content if free

but last part is worest part, i done first 3 week in almost 1 day and last part take along time due to ambiguous information and hard of examples

By Rashmi T

May 24, 2021

I started off great and was enjoying the content of the course till I reached week 4. The last week was horrible! Unclear instructions and very difficult tests that made no sense.

By Alisa K

Aug 24, 2020

Week 1-2 are great. Week 4 is not what I expected. The professor did not explain, just read the slide. I need to see extra video on youtube to be able to understand the topic.

By Akshay M

Aug 20, 2020

Doesn't include statistics!

The combinations part and the probability part is super confusing. Had to read the from various other sources. Not a very good course to opt for.

By Ashish T

May 17, 2020

The classes from week 1-3 were really good but the week 4 content was very confusing to learn. I had to look online to actually understand what was actually being taught.

By Charles H

Sep 7, 2021

This course started off good with enough examples to get through the test. Week 3 and especially week 4 was missing content that was either not mentioned or glazed over.

By Neha B

Feb 3, 2018

the course was really good. I just hope that we can get more practice questions in between the lectures so that we can understand the concept more precisely and deeply.

By daxe

Jan 9, 2023

The video were simple and easy to follow for the first lessons. Hower more video about probability will be very useful about bayes theorem, Binomial and Product rule

By B L

Oct 18, 2020

Good course, but week 4 lecture video quality not as good as the preceding 3 weeks.

In my opinion, probability course in week 4 needs further lectures and examples.

By Naveen K

May 25, 2020

The course would have been better if little more elaboration would have been done for the final week but nevertheless it was a wonderful course to have completed.

By Madara I

Apr 6, 2020

In lot of places formulas is not shown in tests. Last section about probability had really hard questions in tests, more examples in lessons would be better.

By Marie r

Oct 20, 2020

I had a hard time with the quizzes in the fourth week and could not find help in the given information. But i really enjoyed the focus on correct notation

By Thomas R

Dec 23, 2021

There should be more discussion in the video lectures to how these topics relate to real world data science scenarios to apply the mathematical concepts.