Chevron Left
Back to Data Science in Stratified Healthcare and Precision Medicine

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Science in Stratified Healthcare and Precision Medicine by The University of Edinburgh

4.6
stars
209 ratings
60 reviews

About the Course

An increasing volume of data is becoming available in biomedicine and healthcare, from genomic data, to electronic patient records and data collected by wearable devices. Recent advances in data science are transforming the life sciences, leading to precision medicine and stratified healthcare. In this course, you will learn about some of the different types of data and computational methods involved in stratified healthcare and precision medicine. You will have a hands-on experience of working with such data. And you will learn from leaders in the field about successful case studies. Topics include: (i) Sequence Processing, (ii) Image Analysis, (iii) Network Modelling, (iv) Probabilistic Modelling, (v) Machine Learning, (vi) Natural Language Processing, (vii) Process Modelling and (viii) Graph Data. Watch the course promo video here: http://edin.ac/2pn350P...

Top reviews

SW
Jun 7, 2018

Great course, really well designed and well produced and I feel like I've learned a lot! The coding was a bit of a shock to the system but it was nice and challenging. Thank you to the team!

NC
Nov 2, 2020

This is the first course I have ever done on course. I enjoyed the course thought out the weeks, Highly recommended if anyone is interested in stratified healthcare and precision medicine.

Filter by:

51 - 60 of 60 Reviews for Data Science in Stratified Healthcare and Precision Medicine

By Adithya S

Aug 16, 2020

Good course for covering the basics in this topic. Would have been better if the coding was explained more thoroughly, instead of simply given to you (as an "Intermediate" course, I did not feel very challenged). Nonetheless, a very interesting and useful course on the Precision Medicine side.

By Debayan D

May 29, 2019

If you are starting your career with your first job as a Data Professional in a Health-Care startup/company, I would recommend you to take this course and get to know "what there is to learn" for doing data science in Health-Care.

By Carlos V

Dec 13, 2018

It's a great course to get familiar with the key areas that concern Stratified Healthcare, Precision Medicine and biomedicine data management in general. I wish there were a specialised course on these matters!

By Spencer H

Feb 11, 2019

Great course to get a crash course in the basics of coding applied to this field, a great beginning step that will allow you to find what you would like to specialize in.

By David A

Apr 26, 2019

Overall a good introductory course to Data Science in Stratified Healthcare and Precisi

By Rimjhim A

Aug 17, 2018

A good insight on healthcare perspective of data sciences.

By Gaibura A

Jul 15, 2019

Peer-graded Assignment took so long

By Anna S

Feb 4, 2021

I enjoyed the course mostly in the beginning (week 2 and 3), less in the end. Coming from a DS background, I was expecting a deeper context on medical data. For instance, I would have preferred to have examples with actual medical data, rather than out-of-context examples (e.g. how to make a moussaka dish). I understand that this is so that everyone can follow but since the course is rated as "intermediate" rather than "beginner" I was expecting it to be totally referring to medical data. I also had an issue with the quizzes - in any browser I tried (IE, mozilla, Microsoft Edge) the radio-buttons were not aligned with the actual choices, there were a lot of empty lines in between. Thanks for the course.

By Christian B

Nov 29, 2020

overall course is way too shallow. coding examples are a joke.

By Dr D S

May 24, 2020

Free but no certificate