Chevron Left
Back to Essential Design Principles for Tableau

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Essential Design Principles for Tableau by University of California, Davis

4.5
1,115 ratings
170 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will analyze and apply essential design principles to your Tableau visualizations. This course assumes you understand the tools within Tableau and have some knowledge of the fundamental concepts of data visualization. You will define and examine the similarities and differences of exploratory and explanatory analysis as well as begin to ask the right questions about what’s needed in a visualization. You will assess how data and design work together, including how to choose the appropriate visual representation for your data, and the difference between effective and ineffective visuals. You will apply effective best practice design principles to your data visualizations and be able to illustrate examples of strategic use of contrast to highlight important elements. You will evaluate pre-attentive attributes and why they are important in visualizations. You will exam the importance of using the "right" amount of color and in the right place and be able to apply design principles to de-clutter your data visualization....

Top reviews

VL

Mar 11, 2018

The course uncovers the science of the design for data. It is certainly very helpful for my job where have to present a lot of data in different perspectives for senior management.

NN

May 20, 2019

The course is not only focusing on the Tableau project, but also discussing key notes that need applying to make visualization become more effective. That is great course! Thanks!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 170 Reviews for Essential Design Principles for Tableau

By Ananya N

May 30, 2017

Awesome course for a Tableau beginner!

By Elena S

Apr 19, 2017

I found this course extremely useful as it helped me better understand design principles which can be put into good use in other visualization tools as well.

By mugnaio

Nov 08, 2016

This course was very useful to me! I'm a data miner wannabe and this course covers visualizations in a simple but very effective way.

By Ahmed T

May 31, 2017

Amazing :)

By Van L

Mar 11, 2018

The course uncovers the science of the design for data. It is certainly very helpful for my job where have to present a lot of data in different perspectives for senior management.

By David A S J

Jul 08, 2017

Very good course, it gives to you very good concepts to improve your visualizations

By Pavan R

May 17, 2018

Learned Essential Design Principles for Tableau and User expectations and UX for data visualization in an effective way. Now i can create good visualizations keeping in mind of cognitive load & clutter along with workin

By Karina S

Sep 21, 2017

Excellent course, thank you!

By E. M

Jun 01, 2018

Wonderful course, very informative!

By Lucas K M

Oct 14, 2017

good introduction to visualisation and design principles

By JUAN C R C

Jul 01, 2017

Good Course & very valuable for the future

By Mengli Q

Dec 07, 2016

They not only tell you how to do the visualization design but also tell you why (the physiology, the principles). I would highly recommend this class.

By Thrilok N

Feb 11, 2018

Got to learn very non obvious aspects of visualizations.

By Jose A R N

Sep 21, 2017

My name is Jose Antonio. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career ( https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to get new knowledge about Data Visualization and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by the Teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Teachers.

Regards.

Jose Antonio.

By Spiridonov A

Apr 08, 2017

Useful topic, great course. But sometimes there are unnecessary repetitions of information.

By ADYA S

Mar 11, 2018

The course content is very good and the course creators have put in lots of efforts.

**Request**

Since number of enrolled students may vary, "peer review" type questions makes it difficult to get a grade. Even if you've submitted your assignments, if there is no one to review your work, you don't get a grade. This is disappointing and very discouraging.

I request the course creators to consider this and try to make the tests such that learners can complete the course on their own. I believe this would motivate students to complete the specialization.

By Leandro R B B

Apr 20, 2018

É um curso fantástico!

By Nicholas S

Nov 19, 2016

Great course -- guards against some subtle pitfalls in visualization preparation.

By Sy Y W

Dec 13, 2017

This is a Very Good Course design and Yes I DO learn great concept on designing a VIZ and analysis as well.

By Joshua K W

Oct 05, 2017

Great Experience!!

By Angela K

Sep 28, 2017

Great course! I learned things I could imminently apply to my job, I would say that a solid base understanding of Tableau is needed for this class.

By Solhyon B

Mar 23, 2018

I learned a lot from this class and am able to apply to my real projects. Thank you a lot!

By Maninder P S

May 27, 2018

Nice

By Irvin Y D M

Apr 29, 2018

Great

By Utibe S E

Nov 19, 2016

I found this course to be very informative and impacting. Too bad, I could only audit it and not purchase the Course to earn the certificate.