Chevron Left
Back to Visual Analytics with Tableau

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Analytics with Tableau by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
1,587 ratings
302 reviews

About the Course

In this third course of the specialization, we’ll drill deeper into the tools Tableau offers in the areas of charting, dates, table calculations and mapping. We’ll explore the best choices for charts, based on the type of data you are using. We’ll look at specific types of charts including scatter plots, Gantt charts, histograms, bullet charts and several others, and we’ll address charting guidelines. We’ll define discrete and continuous dates, and examine when to use each one to explain your data. You’ll learn how to create custom and quick table calculations and how to create parameters. We’ll also introduce mapping and explore how Tableau can use different types of geographic data, how to connect to multiple data sources and how to create custom maps....

Top reviews

AG
Aug 19, 2017

Through this course learner can efficiently learn about dual layer maps, dual axis, creating calculated fields and many more. Thanks for such a great platform to learn and for great instructors.

DL
Aug 8, 2021

This course, which I completed as part of UC Davis' Data Viz Specialization, was clearly presented and involved a lot of hands on assignments that helped to increase confidence and skills.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 301 Reviews for Visual Analytics with Tableau

By Vishnu N S

May 20, 2019

NIce ...

By Fransua R

Aug 8, 2020

Great!

By Gerard P

Sep 10, 2019

Great!

By Jaspreet K

Oct 23, 2017

Superb

By Sai C K

Sep 27, 2021

good

By Rahul D

May 8, 2020

Good

By Prabhu M

Oct 5, 2019

good

By Riyaz U

Feb 25, 2018

Nice

By Neha A

Feb 14, 2018

V

By Stephen H

Dec 27, 2016

Exercises were good, but the actual teaching of technique felt somewhat lacking. In a way, the instructors actually cover a lot of ground over a short period of time, but on the other hand, there are certain areas that I wish they would have covered more in depth in order to be equipped to complete the homework.

For example: the Week 2 HW on Shipment status did not specify the criteria for early/late/on-time, so I ended up making a parameter for the user to vary it; however, parameters are not covered in this course. Also, for the same homework, there wasn't enough explanation of how to get weeks to be listed starting with a particular day, which made it difficult to replicate exactly what the homework sample is supposed to look like.

By HM W

Mar 1, 2021

The videos were very short and the content in them was very repetitive (outline in the opening, then again after "let's get started...then "summary and what's next" at the end of the work session and then again in the close.

I would have liked to have more scenario work on the calculations, especially since the videos were so short. Having multiple things to calculate/look up would have been really helpful.

Some of the assignments asked for things that weren't covered.

All that aside, I found the instructor to be very easy to understand. I just wish there'd been more.

By Elizabeth M

Oct 13, 2020

Assignment for week 2 had to be done before watching week 3 videos, the latter which contained information that was needed to complete the assignment for week 2. Please consider revising week 2 assignment accordingly. Otherwise the course was great and useful to learn about data visuals in Tableau!

By Carlos M

Aug 12, 2021

I think it was really good course. It felt out of place among the first two courses for this specialization. I think Week 3 and 2 of this course should be flipped. But otherwise this covers some pretty basic Tableau stuff with Assignments really helping practice.

By Matt S

May 18, 2020

Good, but I just wished the videos were longer and went into more detail. As a result, it felt like this course could've been just 2-3 weeks based on the level of the content volume. That said a very dedicated person can finish this course in a week or two.

By Samarth A

May 13, 2020

I am satisfied with the quality of content i;ve learned here. More videos and learning content can be added to each week. This overall is a recommendable starting course for someone seeking to learn using tableau

By Nishant S

Oct 30, 2020

Assignments were just a mere replication of visuals. A good mix of self-created visualizations would be good for learners. There is too little information on the replication assignments as well.

By Sandyn S

May 17, 2017

Good course, correct level of detail but need to provide grading rubrics for peer graded submissions as part of the directions rather than finding out what is needed after submitting.

By Grace I

Nov 9, 2020

Much more interactive and useful than the previous two courses in this specialization. I learned how to engage new features of Tableau and practiced them in the assignments.

By Tat Y

Nov 2, 2020

I liked that academic content but wished it had references to technical content. But analytics is more than the mechanics of creating visualisations. Highly recommended.

By Chinmaya M

Oct 17, 2017

In the peer graded assignment, the pictures of visualisation shown is not good enough, we need to zoom it to 200%. Rest all are excellent in this course. Must do

By Drew O

Feb 6, 2017

This was the first course in the specialization where I learned something new. People with any experience with Tableau should probably start with this course.

By Luis G

Jan 2, 2018

I was not able to put together the formula and that it cause me a problem submitting the week assignment.

Very frustrating and do not see any help at all.

By Georgina P

Jun 19, 2020

THe course is well explained, you end up with four visualizations and it's a good first attempt to understand how to create great visualizations.

By Christophe H

Jan 2, 2017

Interesting to acquire basics of Tableau

Then a lot of fundamental features are missing like interaction, Level Of Details, and so on

By Anu

Sep 24, 2017

Hoping to see much advanced courses in coursera, basic course as this one is very easily available on youtube and tableau's site.