Chevron Left
Back to Visual Analytics with Tableau

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Analytics with Tableau by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
1,375 ratings
251 reviews

About the Course

In this third course of the specialization, we’ll drill deeper into the tools Tableau offers in the areas of charting, dates, table calculations and mapping. We’ll explore the best choices for charts, based on the type of data you are using. We’ll look at specific types of charts including scatter plots, Gantt charts, histograms, bullet charts and several others, and we’ll address charting guidelines. We’ll define discrete and continuous dates, and examine when to use each one to explain your data. You’ll learn how to create custom and quick table calculations and how to create parameters. We’ll also introduce mapping and explore how Tableau can use different types of geographic data, how to connect to multiple data sources and how to create custom maps....

Top reviews

AG

Aug 20, 2017

Through this course learner can efficiently learn about dual layer maps, dual axis, creating calculated fields and many more. Thanks for such a great platform to learn and for great instructors.

DP

May 24, 2020

OH I LOVE THESE COURSES. SUCH VALUABLE KNOWLEDGE, I AM INTRIGUED.\n\nI AM A BIT JEAOLUS ON TO WHY I DID NOT FUMBLE UPON THIS WEBSITE BEFORE AS AN INVESTMENT BANKING MD.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 247 Reviews for Visual Analytics with Tableau

By Matthew S

May 18, 2020

Good, but I just wished the videos were longer and went into more detail. As a result, it felt like this course could've been just 2-3 weeks based on the level of the content volume. That said a very dedicated person can finish this course in a week or two.

By Samarth A

May 13, 2020

I am satisfied with the quality of content i;ve learned here. More videos and learning content can be added to each week. This overall is a recommendable starting course for someone seeking to learn using tableau

By Sandyn S

May 18, 2017

Good course, correct level of detail but need to provide grading rubrics for peer graded submissions as part of the directions rather than finding out what is needed after submitting.

By Chinmaya M

Oct 17, 2017

In the peer graded assignment, the pictures of visualisation shown is not good enough, we need to zoom it to 200%. Rest all are excellent in this course. Must do

By Drew O

Feb 06, 2017

This was the first course in the specialization where I learned something new. People with any experience with Tableau should probably start with this course.

By LUIS G

Jan 03, 2018

I was not able to put together the formula and that it cause me a problem submitting the week assignment.

Very frustrating and do not see any help at all.

By Georgina P

Jun 20, 2020

THe course is well explained, you end up with four visualizations and it's a good first attempt to understand how to create great visualizations.

By Christophe H

Jan 02, 2017

Interesting to acquire basics of Tableau

Then a lot of fundamental features are missing like interaction, Level Of Details, and so on

By Anuradha A

Sep 24, 2017

Hoping to see much advanced courses in coursera, basic course as this one is very easily available on youtube and tableau's site.

By Kukka V P

Nov 10, 2018

Course is good but the data sets should be improved for assignments, and some little clarification in assignments will be good

By Naum S

Dec 11, 2017

I wish more time was spent on Calculated Field Functions, along with practice problems for the available functions in Tableau

By Marcello B

Mar 26, 2019

Well done. A right quantity of theory about visualization and of practical use of Tableau to apply what you learned.

By Dương H D

Jun 08, 2020

It is a good course but it need more examples, especially for uncommon charts like Gantt charts, bullet charts...

By sebastian s v

Aug 06, 2017

I think the explanation of the tools was good but you migth learn more of the videos that are on Tableau.com

By Jeremy C

Jul 10, 2017

Excellent introduction to visualizations; looking forward to more advanced visualization techniques

By NISHANT K

Feb 17, 2017

It would be great if mentors/instructors can promptly follow up with students' requests/problems.

By Victor S

Jul 11, 2019

It might be more appealing to have not one, but two or three examples in every video of Week 3.

By Yan X

Jun 28, 2020

Overall, I like the class. I just hope the assignment instruction can be a little more clear.

By Craig S

Oct 18, 2017

Good overview of plotting different charts in Tableua. Good info on Dual Layer Mapping!

By Fernando M D F

Mar 01, 2017

Excellent course. Everything concise but well explained. Nice activities and quizes.

By Paul H

Dec 11, 2017

It was a good course. Unfortunately the discussion forum was not used or mentored.

By Luis M M J

Jan 30, 2017

This course was more focused on tableau, The examples were basic but usefull.

By Francois O

Oct 22, 2020

Nice course! Easy to follow and practice. No need for programming skills.

By Praveen B R

Dec 18, 2018

Overall the course was good, But assignment in week-1 was not clear.

By David A S J

Jun 19, 2017

Good course, it help you to understand how to use Tableau in deep.